COE Bidding – October 2025

On 10/25/2025 at 1:29 PM, Ct3833 said:

If he takes a 10 years loan, that will certainly be the case even  after paying for 3 years. But I thought some  PHV said they are making good money ? Why is he unable to meet his end needs ? 

PHV is quite tough if its not a part time or retirement job. Grab let you earn after their 'cut', maybe average 20 an hour (some more some less so average out). At 20 an hour, first 3 hours pay for car, next 2 hour pay for fuel. You work 10 hour a day, maybe 100 dollar take home? No MC no leave.

Yes some can pia like mad and with incentives and high tier Grab driver account, get 5 or 6k. But sitting in car that kind of length, is health problem akan datang.

Edited by Ake109

On 10/25/2025 at 6:18 PM, Ake109 said:

PHV is quite tough if its not a part time or retirement job. Grab let you earn after their 'cut', maybe average 20 an hour (some more some less so average out). At 20 an hour, first 3 hours pay for car, next 2 hour pay for fuel. You work 10 hour a day, maybe 100 dollar take home? No MC no leave.

Yes some can pia like mad and with incentives and high tier Grab driver account, get 5 or 6k. But sitting in car that kind of length, is health problem akan datang.

Wow 20 an hour is very tough, but when i take grab, usually half an hour journey woild cost me >20?

i am not sure if taxi offers a better deal but at least taxi can share the car with another shift to lower the rental fees..

On 10/25/2025 at 11:18 PM, Ake109 said:

Here in DaNang Vietnam.. the drivers very pissed with Grab taking their cut (as much as 30% they claimed) so they organise own group to offer rides. They will use Grab pricing on the app as a starting point to negotiate with unsuspecting tourist.. certain area like Hoi An Ancient town not easy to get Grab as not accessible.. so these tout will hassle for business.

For me i get my regular contact for rides.. longer ride can be 25% cheaper.. BUT of cos there's risks.. Insurance unlikely to be cover.. pretty much like those JB cross border MPV i guess..

so normally i check Grab price before contacting those Ba Wang Cher..

On 10/26/2025 at 11:25 AM, ER-3682 said:

@Ody_2004 You often go Vietnam.?Got Investments there.?

Errr... jobless in Singapore as all job application come back with blah blah blah.. so took up a job in Vietnam..

I was comparing if i work as a Grab driver take home pay compare to my current package... so come here is better! whahahahahahha..

• Sad 1

On 10/26/2025 at 12:48 PM, Ody_2004 said:

Errr... jobless in Singapore as all job application come back with blah blah blah.. so took up a job in Vietnam..

I was comparing if i work as a Grab driver take home pay compare to my current package... so come here is better! whahahahahahha..

Wah.. Wetnam shiok... hope u can post some "nice" pics soon...

• Haha! 7

On 10/26/2025 at 12:48 PM, Ody_2004 said:

shiok, if single, no parent to take care, best life, can everyday go 'wash hair'

• Haha! 11

On 10/26/2025 at 5:35 PM, Cumzilla said:

shiok, if single, no parent to take care, best life, can everyday go 'wash hair'

but in reality not like that loh.. got family.. 3 kids... 2 jobless and 1 studying.. got mother need medical care.. so i everyday wash hair my self! 😁

• Haha! 11

On 10/26/2025 at 7:14 PM, Ody_2004 said:

but in reality not like that loh.. got family.. 3 kids... 2 jobless and 1 studying.. got mother need medical care.. so i everyday wash hair my self! 😁

Jim cham...上有老,下有小。

All the best there! 

On 10/26/2025 at 5:25 AM, ER-3682 said:

@Ody_2004 You often go Vietnam.?Got Investments there.?

Invest in business or mistress?

On 10/27/2025 at 5:36 AM, Ct3833 said:

Invest in business or mistress?

work lah.. not enough money to even feed family how to afford mistress wor..

OK back to COE discussion! whahahahahaha..

Edited by Ody_2004
  • Haha! 8

I went to see look at Toyota and Honda last weekend. Quite quiet in the showroom esp for Honda, esp they are selling full petrol and hybrid cars which seems to be quite outdated now, and the price so much ex than some EVs car price.

But surprisingly Toyota showroom still have more people than Honda, but there were only 2 SE on duty and no one can entertain customers who walk in and need to take queue number. Quite bad service. Lol.

On 10/27/2025 at 9:18 AM, 13177 said:

I went to see look at Toyota and Honda last weekend. Quite quiet in the showroom esp for Honda, esp they are selling full petrol and hybrid cars which seems to be quite outdated now, and the price so much ex than some EVs car price.

But surprisingly Toyota showroom still have more people than Honda, but there were only 2 SE on duty and no one can entertain customers who walk in and need to take queue number. Quite bad service. Lol.

all the salesman run to where the cars are selling. who will sit around, wait and fight for the limited customers.

On 10/24/2025 at 7:12 PM, 13177 said:

Why this guy don’t sell off the car? 

1. Die die wants to have a car to show off

2. Refuses to work for others

Take your pick

Tough market for the Japanese brands in SG with the LTA regulations.

liked my Kah Motors SE who showed me the Freed.

On 10/27/2025 at 9:22 AM, Mkl22 said:

all the salesman run to where the cars are selling. who will sit around, wait and fight for the limited customers.

Ya, if you go to those popular EV AD, many SE in the showroom waiting to entertain customers. No need to wait. Lol.

Edited by 13177

On 10/27/2025 at 10:00 AM, Lala81 said:

Tough market for the Japanese brands in SG with the LTA regulations.

liked my Kah Motors SE who showed me the Freed.

Even tough market for them and yet the service still so sucky. 😅

On 10/26/2025 at 1:55 AM, Ct3833 said:

Wow 20 an hour is very tough, but when i take grab, usually half an hour journey woild cost me >20?

i am not sure if taxi offers a better deal but at least taxi can share the car with another shift to lower the rental fees..

I guess you take during peak period type. And might factor in ERP which neither Grab or Driver take.

Let me give an example. Your trip fare says 25 bucks. Takes 35 min.

Grab takes 30% which is 7.50. That leaves driver with 17.50. He takes 5 mins to pick you. That leaves him 20 mins left from 1 hour to get another job, drive to that job. So 20 to 25 a hour is the 'sustainable' output. Sure during good times, can hit 30. But 20 to 25 is the average. Remember there will also be times where no jobs and have to wait 10 to 15 mins do nothing. Driver also need to eat lunch, top gas, pee, pang sai, clean the car of trash.

I worked in taxi company many years ago, did their biz plan and financials. Also had taxi licence to see market, actual test drive. Always had full time office job but tried both Uber and Grab to see market before (from curiosity after being involved in taxico some years). So I basically done the financials from taxico viewpoint, deal/argue with LTA/PTC officially, drove taxi, drove Uber/Grab, drove grabhitch, drive private car, take public transport. Done most of it except ba wang che and cross border taxi.

Future is all the big co salivate autonomous. Rent out a taxi/PHV maybe 100 dollars rent. But 70 of that 100 goes to Gahmen for taxes. If they sapu the driver portion of 100 (or 150 because now can do 2 drivers work), instead of earning 30 per car, they earn 180 which is 6 times more.

Edited by Ake109