Who's right?

SGCM928

What is your opinions?  

22 members have voted

1. 1. The owner is wrong to insist on corkage charges for bringing your own drink?

• Owner has the rights to impose corkage charges
    • Owner should not impose corkage charges
    • Owner should exercise flexibility in imposing corkage charges
  2. 2. Are the 1 star on google review appropriate?

• People are entitled to post what they think / feel
    • People should only post their real experience
    • This is a form of cyber bullying

On 4/14/2026 at 1:20 PM, Beregond said:

Its those influencer or social media worker, ( i dun know how to name them)

1 guy see another give bad review, every 1 join in for the  'likes' 

Which is why since ages ago, i f care about online review for my business. 

It depends on what line you are in. Whether you are established, whether your customers is operating biz or just normal retail customers. 

For restaurant or F&B place, it really matters a lot one leh.
If you looking for a place to eat nearby, then the review is 2.5 star. I can tell you, instantly 80-90% of people searching will not patronize even unless there's no choice.

On 4/14/2026 at 2:00 PM, Gnahp said:

had similar experience in a restaurant

service staff uncle told me his boss set a rule that everyone must order drinks (free flow)

die die wanted me to order a drink

I told him nicely there is really nothing in their drink list that I want

he high EQ and IQ

he pour a glass of water in a mug and place it in front of me

to make it look like I ordered a drink 👍

How much were you charged for that mug of h2o? 😁

On 4/14/2026 at 1:40 PM, Mkl22 said:

i have boycotted a coffee shop (selling roast duck opposite bugis plus) when i was asked not to place my water bottle on the table i was eating my duck rice. I refuse to ever go back again. i didnt even drink, as i knew about the policy and would drink after i stepped out. but to be asked to keep bottle out of sight is too much. 

So for this place, had they charged if the kids bring their own bottle, i wont go. no loss to me as i'm not the sort to die die must eat there. 

But i will give my feedback as i'm entitled  to my opinion and give fair warning to other about the practice.

For your case, really too much.
Nothing wrong with giving a poor review like I said.

But those people who just so boh liao to jump on the bandwagon as armchair/internet brigade. They will deserve the treatment they get in future.

Online review/rating is double edge sword, Can only say , if cannot take onlike bully, dun rely on online review as a important  source advertisement etc.

There are as many fake good reviews as much as fake bad reviews out there.

Its just how u make use of it.

If u do business esp service sector, u gonna have unhappy customer 1 way or another. most of the time unhappy customer will give bad reviews, while happy customer wont give good review. 

although i think both sides have their good reasons, i dun like how the country and society has gradually evolved into like this, where everything also about money

the "what's wrong with making more money" mindset

On 4/14/2026 at 3:05 PM, mersaylee said:

How much were you charged for that mug of h2o? 😁

free leh

I told uncle I really don't want to drink anything 😅

5th Gear

If restaurant clearly states no outside food or drinks, it is onus of diner to follow the rules. Else just order water from them and solve the issue, $2 for a bottle of mineral water in a restaurant is not exorbitant, why kick a big fuss. 

If the children are drinking from their personal water bottle, I may agree with them that the restaurant is too inflexible.  But that's not the case, they brought in a bottle of mineral water.  

Just like the case of the lady who was denied entry to a trade event for bringing baby.  Who is wrong ?

https://www.stomp.sg/trending-now/i-teared-woman-says-she-was-turned-away-mbs-trade-show-bringing-baby

Edited by Bezbee

On 4/14/2026 at 3:14 PM, Beregond said:

most of the time unhappy customer will give bad reviews, while happy customer wont give good review. 

same as Glassdoor.. most of the time, only the disgruntled staff will give reviews (and bad ones) when they leave the companies 

On 4/14/2026 at 3:16 PM, Scion said:

although i think both sides have their good reasons, i dun like how the country and society has gradually evolved into like this, where everything also about money

Both side is not wrong, But like 1 bro mention online rating is really important for F&B, then this  owner really make a stupid mistake??

For 2 buks or his principle, he offended his customer, 

U need to be really flexible esp on service sector. Give some goodies. feebies, some discount,  earn less abit, earn more happy customer, u win in the long run. 

On 4/14/2026 at 3:28 PM, Beregond said:

Both side is not wrong, But like 1 bro mention online rating is really important for F&B, then this  owner really make a stupid mistake??

For 2 buks or his principle, he offended his customer, 

U need to be really flexible esp on service sector. Give some goodies. feebies, some discount,  earn less abit, earn more happy customer, u win in the long run. 

unless you are a hawker that sell cheap and good food. can 100% afford to be kwai lan. people will still come. 😁

• Haha! 7

On 4/14/2026 at 3:16 PM, Scion said:

I thought it started when police wear shorts

On 4/14/2026 at 3:55 PM, Mkl22 said:

unless you are a hawker that sell cheap and good food. can 100% afford to be kwai lan. people will still come. 😁

Yup. Not only hawker. Some business have more customers then they can handle. So they can choose customer instead of customers choosing the service they want or which restaurant to eat at.

Some sushi restaurant or michelin restaurant have que that go for months.

I dun think they will be bother by online reviews. 

All in all 真的假不了 假的真不了。

End of the day still depend on u got real stuff or not. 

If y’all feel that the restaurant is justified in its actions and being cyber bullied - go patronise them and put in your genuine reviews to offset all the IB (Internet bullies, not brigade).

Actions speak louder than words.

On 4/14/2026 at 3:18 PM, Gnahp said:

free leh

I told uncle I really don't want to drink anything 😅

@Gnahp Did you drink it in the end?? 😁

On 4/14/2026 at 5:34 PM, Kona_rider said:

@Gnahp Did you drink it in the end?? 😁

got 😅

On 4/14/2026 at 4:28 PM, Beregond said:

Yup. Not only hawker. Some business have more customers then they can handle. So they can choose customer instead of customers choosing the service they want or which restaurant to eat at.

Some sushi restaurant or michelin restaurant have que that go for months.

I dun think they will be bother by online reviews. 

All in all 真的假不了 假的真不了。

End of the day still depend on u got real stuff or not. 

I can only say nowadays competition is many many times more fierce. Being involved in start up clinics 15-17 years and currently.
In whatever shape and form, operating a biz now is much harder in terms of the landscape.

Local, Foreign, online. Big boys can compete with the small boys for all aspects.  
In all ways, your margins are being squeezed. 

Technology has helped in the ease of stuff like cashflow/accounting/compliance etc. 

U honestly may not survive until enough people discover whether u are 真或假 [laugh] 
Especially in F&B. I've eaten at many places where the food is good, got value but closed anyway.
Good luck to all those who have skin in the game. 

On 4/14/2026 at 12:23 PM, Davidklt said:

To me, thats just poor customer service.

I tend not to patronise F&B establishments with such miserly attitude or policy.

If you go to those PRC restaurants or small eateries here, you can see they go out of their way to make your dining experience a happy one. Some even give you free ice cream or desserts, no questions asked. They have much better business foresight. Give and take a little, if the customers are happy dining at their place, they would come back again.

In this case, the owners caused bad goodwill over a couple of dollars and then also losing a returning customer forever. Just treat this as marketing dollars la. If a customer return, they make the $2 back many times over. Word of mouth referral or returning customers are much more effective than any forms of marketing.

Also, if you look at Korean F&B establishments here, like in Korea, they give free flow of plain water and small dishes.  

I think cannot compare lah.

There is very strong suspicion that the PRC establishments are not making any profits but are just money laundering fronts to siphon money out of China. So they can offer free this free that without caring about costs.

It's definitely not a fair playing field when compared to local homegrown F&B.

On 4/14/2026 at 6:28 PM, Benarsenal said:

I think cannot compare lah.

There is very strong suspicion that the PRC establishments are not making any profits but are just money laundering fronts to siphon money out of China. So they can offer free this free that without caring about costs.

It's definitely not a fair playing field when compared to local homegrown F&B.

china/chinese restaurant has different service SOP, I think some allowed outside drinks here.

Last week in Beijing most if not all the chinese restaurant let customers bring their own drinks, to the extend that customer can order 美团 to deliver the drink to the restaurant doorstep 😅 even when the drink shop only 2 floor below the restaurant 😂