Avante1.6 c/w powerful engine

Quantum

Mod your civic to eat his avante lor.

civic need to mod mah? no need lah, anytime eat avante like small dish lah :D:D

Hey guys, I am not expert in these data. I test drive the avante but didn't find the power leh. Yes the engine is quite quiet but pick up so so lah.

thats why ppl here often say go for test drive, go for test drive. Because all these talks are paper values only. Chinese saying 纸上谈兵.

Anyway the focus of our talk here have been on the powerplant i.e. the engine. But how about the transmission? A poor transmission simply result in poor efficiency in transferring the power produced in the engine to the wheels. Thats why some automakers are quite frank in providing dynocharts by measuring at wheels. Some might be measuring at crank which leaves out the transmission in the equation. I am not too sure about how the Kia transmission fare as compared to the Honda's 5 speed auto tranny. But 4 auto compared to 5 auto, i prefer a 5 auto.

hi...

i said many times before.

the "power" of a bread and butter car engine is not directly felt when u tap the throttle during move on, that's merely throttle response which vios and yaris are tuned for (cos they'r urban cars)

my odyssey and mazda3 very retarded when moving off. however, especially for my odyssey, if u drive the so-called "powerful feeling" altis or vios at highspeed with my odyssey, u'll realize that my odyssey will continue pushing and climbing while the vios will run out of breathe.

basically my point is this: don't judge the power simply when moving off.

when i took my colleague's forte EX for a ride, i can feel that between 80-120km/hr, it has ample "push"

Edited by Friendstar

thats why ppl here often say go for test drive, go for test drive. Because all these talks are paper values only. Chinese saying 纸上谈兵.

Anyway the focus of our talk here have been on the powerplant i.e. the engine. But how about the transmission? A poor transmission simply result in poor efficiency in transferring the power produced in the engine to the wheels. Thats why some automakers are quite frank in providing dynocharts by measuring at wheels. Some might be measuring at crank which leaves out the transmission in the equation. I am not too sure about how the Kia transmission fare as compared to the Honda's 5 speed auto tranny. But 4 auto compared to 5 auto, i prefer a 5 auto.

But 4 auto compared to 5 auto, i prefer a 5 auto.

But 39k compared to 72k, i prefer 39k.

But 4 auto compared to 5 auto, i prefer a 5 auto.

But 39k compared to 72k, i prefer 39k.

[thumbsup]

indeed, i prefer wallet heavy heavy than wallet light light.

Hi Guys,

Not to underestimate the quality of Korean Engines, because i find that nowadays korean car industry particularly Hyundai/KIA puts in alot of effort in bringing out their quality and reliability...

For one fact if anyone here can verify this, i saw last 2 days Korean KBS news, Hyundai Engines uses a lot of German components..(BOSCH) on their critical Engines area and they paid dearly for it..

I do noticed that japs car components now...are really into cutting cost ...since they have already attaina very good branding world wide...whereas..Korean are trying very hard to improve their quality by using lots of good components..we can se with our eyes onthe korean cars performances/reliability and design appeal nowadays compared to last 10yrs..

cheers

Hi Guys,

Not to underestimate the quality of Korean Engines, because i find that nowadays korean car industry particularly Hyundai/KIA puts in alot of effort in bringing out their quality and reliability...

For one fact if anyone here can verify this, i saw last 2 days Korean KBS news, Hyundai Engines uses a lot of German components..(BOSCH) on their critical Engines area and they paid dearly for it..

I do noticed that japs car components now...are really into cutting cost ...since they have already attaina very good branding world wide...whereas..Korean are trying very hard to improve their quality by using lots of good components..we can se with our eyes onthe korean cars performances/reliability and design appeal nowadays compared to last 10yrs..

cheers

Toyota was like that before in the 80 and 90s.

That was the era when every Toyota car was "over-engineered" (Toyota corona, Starlet, AE etc)

they were trying to create a name for themselves worldwide.

That period, if u bought a Toyota, good for you. U got urself a value for money and over-engineered car.

Right now, the brand name is there. They look for increasing profits. Offer u thai-made cars, claimed to pass on savings to customers etc when they'r selling at the same price.

However, the budget sniffers will know that this period is hyundai's turn.

They'r doing the exact same things as what Toyota did in the past.

They build great cars, listen to customers' complaints about fuel consumption and reliability and created avantes at affordable prices.

I personally do feel that avante, at $41k is a steal for its build.

Koreans and Jap are quite a like in their mindset, tat's why samsung and sony can compete headon.

But the same will not happen for China made cars.... cos its the mindset of the people. they'r too focused on cutting corners than the customers.

Sometime having 121 bhp doesn't mean pick up is good. I think is due to CVT or CVVT. Engine is quiet is becos hyundai has done a very good sound proof for avante.

Same for kia forte having 124 bhp but pick up also so so only.

good sound proof... yes.

but engine quiet is not because of sound proof. stand outside an avante when the engine starts.... it will beat an altise hands down

good sound proof... yes.

but engine quiet is not because of sound proof. stand outside an avante when the engine starts.... it will beat an altise hands down

Er.. If I'm a driver of a car... y do i have to care whether its noisy outside.. as long its quiet inside.. that matters right..??

Probably quite there on the timing. The Vios 2003/04 I have tested it 9.3 secs and I think City 2003/04 should be similar. But latest City is 120bhp, so the 0-100km/h timing may fall below 9 secs.

In fact, the city has the deepest boot I have seen in that class size. You can put luggage vertical instead of flat on the boot.

high BHP doesnt improve 0-100km/hr. the torque is....in fact, some car change their air intake / exhaust to improve their BHP but their 0-100km/hr performance drop.

Er.. If I'm a driver of a car... y do i have to care whether its noisy outside.. as long its quiet inside.. that matters right..??

I can tell you that some folks actually prefer their cars to be as noisy/loud as possible on the outside.i.e. Turbo-charged car with big exhaust :D . The louder the more pride and grim on the driver's face.

Regards,

high BHP doesnt improve 0-100km/hr. the torque is....in fact, some car change their air intake / exhaust to improve their BHP but their 0-100km/hr performance drop.

I bet their BHP also drops. Only sound increase.

no need Civic to cream it, use City can already cream it clean clean........ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

you're right. both civic & city are quite the same, their low-mid end cars <_<

Well...someone would come in here and say Hyundai overstated the power.

How can it possibly beat the Civic?

who really cares about a civic 1.6A when they can buy Avante 1.6A and

save a cool $30k. the diff betw a civic & avante is slim, but the price

gap is so wide.