chicken rice..

Turbonetics

i wonder has anyone of you being mislead of the price of chicken rice when you order from hawker or coffeeshop?

example i had an incident once long ago.

i saw the signboard that the chicken rice was $3.00 so i placed an order for a plate of chicken rice.

the order taker asked me is it for one person(yi ge ren chi shi ma?) in mandarin?

ofcourse i answered yes because iam ordering it for myself only.

then when she served me the chicken rice,it cost me $4.00 and i asked why isn't it $3.00?

and she said because for (yi ge ren chi) the chicken is seperate from rice thus higher price and she added that more chicken is added compare to the $3.00.so from then onwards,i learnt my lesson.

i thought i had learn from my previous experience.

then it happened again yesterday at sims drive hawker.

the signboard state a chicken rice cost $2.50.

so i decided to have roast chicken rice for my lunch.

so i placed order to a lady who seem to be a vietnamese.

me:"shao ji fan yi pan" roast chicken rice 1 plate.

lady:"ok ni zhuo xia lai,deng xia wo na gei ni" ok you take a seat,later i send it to you.

when she sent me the rice(chicken and rice seperate),she told me it is $3.50.

i asked her why so expensive,she said the chicken is $3.00 and the rice is $0.50.

i can't be bother to argue further and just swallow her words for it.

i was thinking i can have a plate of chicken rice at orchard foodcourt for the same amount,or worst some neighbourhood aircon foodcourt for only $3.00.

so what do you guys think of such ways to do business?

for me,its definitely no return.

Edited by Turbonetics

just say 1 plate of chicken rice. if they give u the extra then don't pay and walk off or pay first at the counter $3 bucks.

I wonder, is it Pricing Practices that you are biatching about, or, is it the Price of Chicken Rice you are unhappy about?

In any case, I think that hawkers need to eat as much as you do. For $2.50 honestly, to me this price is fast coming to past. Even a plate at $3.50 to me, I'll give to the a chicken if there is one pecking around my feet.

I think don't eat out if you think $3-$4 is too ex.

i wonder has anyone of you being mislead of the price of chicken rice when you order from hawker or coffeeshop?

example i had an incident once long ago.

i saw the signboard that the chicken rice was $3.00 so i placed an order for a plate of chicken rice.

the order taker asked me is it for one person(yi ge ren chi shi ma?) in mandarin?

ofcourse i answered yes because iam ordering it for myself only.

then when she served me the chicken rice,it cost me $4.00 and i asked why isn't it $3.00?

and she said because for (yi ge ren chi) the chicken is seperate from rice thus higher price and she added that more chicken is added compare to the $3.00.so from then onwards,i learnt my lesson.

i thought i had learn from my previous experience.

then it happened again yesterday at sims drive hawker.

the signboard state a chicken rice cost $2.50.

so i decided to have roast chicken rice for my lunch.

so i placed order to a lady who seem to be a vietnamese.

me:"shao ji fan yi pan" roast chicken rice 1 plate.

lady:"ok ni zhuo xia lai,deng xia wo na gei ni" ok you take a seat,later i send it to you.

when she sent me the rice(chicken and rice seperate),she told me it is $3.50.

i asked her why so expensive,she said the chicken is $3.00 and the rice is $0.50.

i can't be bother to argue further and just swallow her words for it.

i was thinking i can have a plate of chicken rice at orchard foodcourt for the same amount,or worst some neighbourhood aircon foodcourt for only $3.00.

so what do you guys think of such ways to do business?

for me,its definitely no return.

me kenna 2x from the same stall...at the popular chick rice stall at bishan jinshanling...

so no 3rd x from them liao...

but hawker stalls so far so good.....

Me also kenna at Chinatown and Balestier hawker, I order 1 plate, u kown what they told me? We don't sell 1 plate one

and the tone they use like u want eat don't want f***k off type.

that one i think lose 10 customers a day also nvm one la

i always queue at least 20mins for it...think about it..cold cold chicken meat...quite wierd

i just kana a rm4.60 for just the chicken rice when i at MY last week...kaoz..most ex plain rice i ever eaten <_<

Edited by Freestylers09

I will not let them have a chance to play around with the language.

I will tell them straight, "I want the $2.50 plate of chicken rice". That way, they can't create another version and charge me a higher price, because I have told them I want the "$2.50" one.

i kena tis kind of dirty trick at united square food court. i ordered wanton noodle. he asked me "noodle and wanton?", i said yes. knn later want to charge me for this wanton noodle + another bowl of wanton. i rejected haha

chicken rice one is pretty common. some places, if u dun specify, they give u the separate serving one, which is normally $1 more. i will always reject.

that one i think lose 10 customers a day also nvm one la

i always queue at least 20mins for it...think about it..cold cold chicken meat...quite wierd

i just kana a rm4.60 for just the chicken rice when i at MY last week...kaoz..most ex plain rice i ever eaten <_<

i thought chicken rice meat is suppose to be cold?

Once i went to a chicken rice stall at lucky plaza, order chicken rice for 1 person which is $3.50 then my gf came. I order another bowl of rice and that bowl of rice cost me $2.50. I ask the boss why? Her reply is now 02 person eat is $6. WTF!!!!!

haha. nice one. [sweatdrop] go lucky plaza should eat the ayam bakar.

I have no such experience. But being a glutton I always add extra meat/egg/vege/rice until exceed way pass the $3 but they dun overcharge me. They seem happy when they offer to add more stuff and I say ok. Some stalls they dun ask and just give you what you want. For me I think it's ok if ppl just want to earn abit more but if they try to pull a fast one like what you had experienced, no more patronizing.

The worst is I paid $3 once for a thinly sliced chicken meat rice. I wished he and his stall all the best after eating such low quality chicken rice.

is it inflation? the paper today talk about tea and kopi price stable. but went to eat zup chai peng, add tau pok, fish cake and curry $4.

still got some stalls i frequent that is very reasonable. the stalls that chop me, i'll never go back