Dunno Neutral Newbie May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 bro mai chup siao this kwailan gia. He probably never had to worry about money before. For all we know he could be a secondary school kid try to crush us with his self-inflated intellect. Next time whoever sell things to him charge him more that what was advertised. Then give him some stupid reason. Make sure he gets the point the TS is trying to make. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 i wonder has anyone of you being mislead of the price of chicken rice when you order from hawker or coffeeshop? example i had an incident once long ago. i saw the signboard that the chicken rice was $3.00 so i placed an order for a plate of chicken rice. the order taker asked me is it for one person(yi ge ren chi shi ma?) in mandarin? ofcourse i answered yes because iam ordering it for myself only. then when she served me the chicken rice,it cost me $4.00 and i asked why isn't it $3.00? and she said because for (yi ge ren chi) the chicken is seperate from rice thus higher price and she added that more chicken is added compare to the $3.00.so from then onwards,i learnt my lesson. i thought i had learn from my previous experience. then it happened again yesterday at sims drive hawker. the signboard state a chicken rice cost $2.50. so i decided to have roast chicken rice for my lunch. so i placed order to a lady who seem to be a vietnamese. me:"shao ji fan yi pan" roast chicken rice 1 plate. lady:"ok ni zhuo xia lai,deng xia wo na gei ni" ok you take a seat,later i send it to you. when she sent me the rice(chicken and rice seperate),she told me it is $3.50. i asked her why so expensive,she said the chicken is $3.00 and the rice is $0.50. i can't be bother to argue further and just swallow her words for it. i was thinking i can have a plate of chicken rice at orchard foodcourt for the same amount,or worst some neighbourhood aircon foodcourt for only $3.00. so what do you guys think of such ways to do business? for me,its definitely no return. As long as your $ did not leave your wallet, U can say U don't want. The price does not tally with the signboard. Tell them U pay according to the signboard, if not U call the authorities. Last time I install headset in the car. I trust that fella and pay on the spot. Then got aeroplane sound, I ask him to troubleshoot. He reply, its like that wan. I am like WTF ? From then I dun pay immediately after installations for whatever stuff ie car stuff, home applicances. I check thoroughly, not happy ask installer to fix it. They sure do it promptly and sui sui as long as $$ is not in their pocket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 I did notice this happening, but then again, my friends are complaining, i hardly eat out. When I do eat chicken rice for lunch, it's normally $6, Jurong Industrial area. Roasted Chicken thigh, chicken breast, liver and one small bowl of rice - $6. Gather roasted is more expensive. Next time just ask for $2.50 plate and that's it, if you never say, they will ASSUME you want more. dengz.... but its quite true that they will assume u to eat more when u do not order the one you want. I always say, chicken rice 1 plate, $3.00 one. As for my wife, she like to pay upfront so the stall holder will not over charge. Guess that now in this society, we must be tactful on wording when ordering. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 there is an indian prata stall in the kayu vicinity with similar operating tactics. you will go and order the prata and they will ask you ... chicken or mutton curry ? most of us will assume that he is asking what kind of gravy we want along with the prata , but when the food is delivered , he will bring along a similar sized teenty weeny plate of curry with little chunks of meat inside and you will asked to pay for it . not cheap ... considering that his famous banana prata goes for 6 bucks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 dengz.... but its quite true that they will assume u to eat more when u do not order the one you want. I always say, chicken rice 1 plate, $3.00 one. As for my wife, she like to pay upfront so the stall holder will not over charge. Guess that now in this society, we must be tactful on wording when ordering. lol I'm like your wife, order and pay, but you may havethen "lessen" what you paid for. My $6 chicken rice, always seems lesser in the meat department if my friend is not standing there watching them chop the pieces. Nbz~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 there was once i went to CV for late-lunch a few years back with 2 others ard 3:30pm. one guy had fish soup, so me and another fella decided to have a simple lunch of chicken rice also. so i went to the stall and order chicken rice for 2. after a few minutes, the stall owner started to bring out the dishes ... 2 bigger plates of rice, 1 big bowl of soup with chicken feet filled to the brim of the bowl, a big plate with char siew, roast pork, beancurd, roast chicken, white chicken and the lor-egg. when i saw such a big serving, I thot to myself ....wtf .... hopefully $10 shud be able to cover it ?? so i gave the stall owner $10 ......guess what ?? he gave me back a change of $6 !! i dun believe. most likely wrong order given to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 i dun believe. most likely wrong order given to you well, then it must have been a real lucky day for me !! we were seated just 2 tables from the stall and the boss served the meal himself and gave me the change himself too....but alas, that was a long time ago liow... btw, when you are regular at some stalls, they will usually give you discounts even when you dun ask for it ...just like my regular sugar-cane juice stall ..... standard $1 for sugarcane + lemon juice !! all these years ..... even when other neighboring stalls are selling $1.40 even !! anyway, so far i have not encountered such tactics mentioned by the TS .... maybe its becoz i always go to the shop and just place an order and expect to pay for the larger serving, but in most case, I always get the standard serving size .... maybe the stall see me no up ...think i can't afford to pay ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 I have the habit of ordering "chicken rice $2.50" from stalls I am not familiar with. no misunderstanding the worse is my foreign colleague. order 2 prata kosong. the bring him 2 kosong + 1 bowl of curry chicken , asking for $4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 well, then it must have been a real lucky day for me !! we were seated just 2 tables from the stall and the boss served the meal himself and gave me the change himself too....but alas, that was a long time ago liow... btw, when you are regular at some stalls, they will usually give you discounts even when you dun ask for it ...just like my regular sugar-cane juice stall ..... standard $1 for sugarcane + lemon juice !! all these years ..... even when other neighboring stalls are selling $1.40 even !! anyway, so far i have not encountered such tactics mentioned by the TS .... maybe its becoz i always go to the shop and just place an order and expect to pay for the larger serving, but in most case, I always get the standard serving size .... maybe the stall see me no up ...think i can't afford to pay ??? That's true about some regular stalls... Besides bigger portions, the aunties would even "jia liao" for free :) But back to the TS issue, I also state clearly what I want when ordering - S$3 means S$3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 i never encounter such thing before leh u look like carrot is it.? LOL . . . . that's a good one Sorry bro but next time just tell them you want the $2.50 chicken rice or $3.00 chicken rice, this way they cannot choot pattern. I have never encounter this kind of situation before You are rich lah, that's why kena chop chop . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio79 Clutched July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 Never kena such prob for chicken rice.. But did kena such stunt before when eating bak kut teh. Food I never order appear on my table. Got them to remove it. Some of them come out with stunts like that to make you pay more for ur meal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 for chicken rice, i always order drumstick + rice, standard usually $3.50 or at most $4. if extremely lucky $3 can get leow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assobis Neutral Newbie August 30, 2009 Share August 30, 2009 amk central got $1.50 chicken rice iirc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elvin Neutral Newbie September 1, 2009 Share September 1, 2009 I love the chicken rice at the basement of golden mile with steamboat one. Damn nice :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear September 1, 2009 Share September 1, 2009 golden mile steamboat, chicken rice and satays: steamboat overpriced. chicken rice - chicken is dry and they cut the chicken into ugly pieces...think they r feeding dogs? satays - not the best i have eaten. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 1, 2009 Share September 1, 2009 Mackenzie Road Halal Chicken Rice A long time favorite for many chinese muslims, i have eaten at this place since a kid. its a great place to go as they have other nice dishes as well, except parking at prinsep street is fail. its called rex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear September 1, 2009 Share September 1, 2009 Clementi central Chicken rice @ $1.80, outside the new shopping centre facing the road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WakaWaka Neutral Newbie September 1, 2009 Share September 1, 2009 If you order by "plate", it usually means the cheaper one, $2.50 or $3... comes with chicken on the plate of rice. If you order by "1 person eat" or "2 person eat"... it means you want to separate the meat and the rice. For some, you can order by "Set A" or "Set B"... comes with veggie or bean sprout etc... I think this should be the common understanding between the seller and the buyer... Of cos, the easiest way is still to state the price... Talking about chicken rice reminds me the one I just had over the weekend... Serangoon Garden Cardon Coffee shop... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...