Wedding dinner at expensive hotels

Vextan

Have actually heard of couple that plan big expensive wedding to please their parents. .. only to end up tens of thousands in debt later.

Sometime it's the patents fault.

i  hold my wedding dinner to please my parents but hor... my parents paid for it  :grin: 

i took some ang pow $ for my honeymoon :a-happy:   

Book wherever the couple can afford but most important the food must be good. [thumbsup]

the best food I ever had was at a CC in chong pang in the 90s, friends dad invited the whole village to his wedding it seems.

sharkfin,

whole fins..not the bee hoon type.

abalone

fist size ones... not slices

pig leg.

one whole leg per table.

the service and location not hotel... but the food no hotel can fight.

He can still get 800 a table easily if he is willing to do lunch at a restaurant.

If you keep the invitee list to close relatives/friends only, I don't see how you will lose much money. FYI, my entire wedding lunch cost just SGD 4900. Even if no angbao received, I won't sweat or die leh.

Why must paiseh?

Guests are free to give however much they like. I certainly had no qualms over a 700 dollar table.

My experience and friends', friends and colleagues wont lose money. Its relatives that drag you down sometimes

I guess depends on individual la. My own relatives give alot even for my small little wedding. More than enough to cover wedding dinner at hotel. Friends gave according to market rate...

no, mine was $328 in a chinese restaurant at Bukit Merah Safra in 1996.

shot gun married, whole world was counting down on my bachelor night 31/12/95

30 tables of guests eat and drink until peng san and the host (me) was carried home (piggy back) by my father.  :a-confused:

i wish i could have given you a praise* for your father piggy back you home

because it sounds ridiculous  but at the same time warm at heart

hahahahaha

sounds similar to my story

at first get married, they claim they chin chye. anything. we happy can already. they not many friends to invite blah blah blah etc. so we happily go book a small french restaurant for close friends and family. about 150 pax.

along the way, as the date get closer. both side parents chut pattern. ask for more and more table. then complain that the old folks don't like ang moh food.

end up we gave up fighting. had to do the wedding dinner twice.

it was a nightmare.

Same lesson for me. When my MIL said "chin chye", she truly meant anything but that :D

Similar to "what do you want to eat?" "anything can"  [laugh]

Their anything also have T&C one. Must listen to what is excluded first.

Report says that wedding table prices never go down, only go up! Wedding table like housing price eh! Only up no down.

Time for some cooling measures to ensure prudence in spending in young people.

OK I am kidding.

Kids nowadays really spent like no need to pay!

Maybe kids nowadays earning power is high, that's why can spent like no need to pay?

depends on culture and also the individual.

my staff - a malaysian, dunno what chinese dialect group - says for his culture, usually the parents will foot the bill.

for me, i prefer to have it on my own terms ... spend within my means ... 13+1 tables(full house) for lunch in a restaurant under HDB block. $688 per table.

guests come back to me  and tell me the food is very good ! and also tell me no point doing in expensive hotels as its usually out of the way and the food/service is also so-so only.

surprisingly, my ang pows collected just enough to cover the whole meal ... (but my wife kept hers).