Fireball0088 5th Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 i thought it has to be defused by the specialized bomb team of the police? regardless of public or private places? Jun 21, 2011 Who should defuse war relic? By Tham Yuen-C http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_682168.html A RELIC believed to be a bomb dug up by construction workers at a furniture warehouse in Sungei Kadut has set off a mad scramble to find a private bomb disposal company. This was after the manager of the site was told by the police yesterday that the authorities would not help to get rid of the war relic since it was found on private property. paging for MO. he is our forum expert ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 If the owner can't find a suitable company to defuse it, can the police charge the owner for possession of a dangerous weapon of mass destruction? Seriously, the Police can't expect the person to keep it if he can't find a suitable bomb defuser. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Haizzz......if its chests of gold bars since WWII, tink e owner of e furniture co can stake claim??? Me feel tat e bomb whether war relic or dinosaur-aged on all types of pty shd b diffused by e bomb disposal squad. All lands afterall, "belong" to e state and this bomb am sure was nt directed at e furniture factory during e war....or e owner can "transfer" it to public area outside his factory.....wonder wat charge will he then b slapped with? [:p] Ridiculous red tape I agree....I'm sure they will very quick to be there to secure the chest of gold and have it taken away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Lucky the bomb didn't explode while the landlord was looking to someone to dispose it. I find it rather silly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Park88 1st Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 a bomb is a national threat, dont know its content for all you know it may contain germ warfare what kind of police do we have Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 definitely not the first time to find such war relic in singapore? why this incident is so special that police do not want any involvment? on the other hand, i think all bomb disposal is handed by 36SCE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 For a while there...thought you talking about defusing Soya.....he is as old as a relic.....if not older kns.....how cum u so much energy? thot u depressed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 36SCE unless there is a change in policy.. it should be handled by the above... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 (edited) Why is the SPF involved only? Thought it is the purview of the SAF SCE Bomb Disposal Unit to detonate or disarm these munitions? In any case, why is there a difference between a public land or private land when it comes to dangerous materials/objects? Do they mean to say the dangerous stuff will react differently if it is in a public or private land? Public safety, including those of workers', should always come first. Edited June 21, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 what is SG police good for? really WTF cannot say liddat. they good at koon-ing at MSCP ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lkp848 Clutched June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Next time when others find bombs on their sites they would just throw away into the sea... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 36SCE unless there is a change in policy.. it should be handled by the above... I would think so too. They are the people trained and paid to do this. Don't think the SPF has their own EOD squad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 I would think so too. They are the people trained and paid to do this. Don't think the SPF has their own EOD squad. Ya we always point at their "shuttlecock" badge above the no. 4 breast pocket & make fun of them. The EOD specialist have actually one of the most dangerous jobs in SAF. Duds or unexploded munitions are handled by them so most give them plenty of respect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Author Share June 21, 2011 definitely not the first time to find such war relic in singapore? why this incident is so special that police do not want any involvment? on the other hand, i think all bomb disposal is handed by 36SCE. yah lor... i always thought these types of discoveries always settled either by police, civil defense or army... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Ya we always point at their "shuttlecock" badge above the no. 4 breast pocket & make fun of them. The EOD specialist have actually one of the most dangerous jobs in SAF. Duds or unexploded munitions are handled by them so most give them plenty of respect. We call them badminton specialist. Usually regulars during my time. While most of us are trained in basic demolition, we only limit ourself to clearing unexploded ordnance in military area e.g mortar shells or blinds etc. They go in when the real stuffs happens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 kns.....how cum u so much energy? thot u depressed? you helping to cure my depression mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Ya we always point at their "shuttlecock" badge above the no. 4 breast pocket & make fun of them. The EOD specialist have actually one of the most dangerous jobs in SAF. Duds or unexploded munitions are handled by them so most give them plenty of respect. Ehh... I thought more than a few years ago when I went back for ICT already have this company call Explomo disposing all the duds for the SAF? This function already outsourced liao right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Ehh... I thought more than a few years ago when I went back for ICT already have this company call Explomo disposing all the duds for the SAF? This function already outsourced liao right? I dunno but quite feasible given that the task is rather dangerous and time consuming. I bet most of the guys at Explomo was ex-SAF EOD It is called paying more for the same Xhit. But at least Mindef don't have to go around explaining to parents why their son is in multiple chunks and incomplete. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...