Keithchue 5th Gear May 18, 2016 Share May 18, 2016 What an ironic ad. 40 years on, VW as a brand is still "Very Worrying" with its unresolved DSG issues and emissions scandal. they predicted this 40 years ago ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 18, 2016 Share May 18, 2016 What an ironic ad. 40 years on, VW as a brand is still "Very Worrying" with its unresolved DSG issues and emissions scandal. thats like going back in time. Champion motor used to be audi dealer as well... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 29, 2016 Share July 29, 2016 something to share concerning gearbox. refer to 20min to 31min - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PijcvLypVJc&list=PLmPw0FFtVoRCcTzqACjJO8uSfxatNndee If you can understand chinese. else, summary as follow (hope i get reasonably correct; refer to video if doubt) - 1. automated manual gb very problematic. failure is gear control module n significant cost to replace / repair. 2. modern gb also problematic becos of TCU not housed in cabin but beside gb or submerged in ATF. when gb operating temp too hot, TCU spoil n gb malfunction. for clutch, in auto mode, TCU tend to shift to 2nd gear almost immediately during slow traffic, by this time in half-clutch position like we do for manual gb, causing metal-metal rubbing n overheat. for cvt, steel belt also rub pulley n overheat causing slip like clutch slip, so it is like losing power when driving during such situation. 3. to prolong modern gb life: a. install conventional ATF cooler. though cannot accurately control ATF temp like mfgr built-in ATF temperature control module, but as long as can preserve lifespan of gb, objective achieved. b. gb with S mode (manual, tiptronic or similar modes): switch to this (manual mode) n move it to 1st gear during crawling traffic. then change back to D when traffic not slow anymore. this way, clutch be fully engaged n last longer. my own conclusion from above - despite issues with modern gb like dsg, 8/9 spd, cvt (maybe cvt not that modern), can adopt above method n feedback after 50k km if such gb no further issue like jerk, judder, MU n clutch pack. or maybe some bro / sis oredi done it can feedback. thanks @kopites for the lead to this series; very enlightening. oh ya, if u guys / gals happened to watch from beginning, it also talked about ac system, engine issues. i like this program - they explain in a way i believe the layman could understand. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 29, 2016 Share July 29, 2016 From what the Expert said,DSG gearbox most easy 'kaput' is slow driving,1 to 2 gear,esp those who go M'sia stuck in Causeway for a few hours... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 29, 2016 Share July 29, 2016 something to share concerning gearbox. refer to 20min to 31min - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PijcvLypVJc&list=PLmPw0FFtVoRCcTzqACjJO8uSfxatNndee If you can understand chinese. else, summary as follow (hope i get reasonably correct; refer to video if doubt) - 1. automated manual gb very problematic. failure is gear control module n significant cost to replace / repair. 2. modern gb also problematic becos of TCU not housed in cabin but beside gb or submerged in ATF. when gb operating temp too hot, TCU spoil n gb malfunction. for clutch, in auto mode, TCU tend to shift to 2nd gear almost immediately during slow traffic, by this time in half-clutch position like we do for manual gb, causing metal-metal rubbing n overheat. for cvt, steel belt also rub pulley n overheat causing slip like clutch slip, so it is like losing power when driving during such situation. 3. to prolong modern gb life: a. install conventional ATF cooler. though cannot accurately control ATF temp like mfgr built-in ATF temperature control module, but as long as can preserve lifespan of gb, objective achieved. b. gb with S mode (manual, tiptronic or similar modes): switch to this (manual mode) n move it to 1st gear during crawling traffic. then change back to D when traffic not slow anymore. this way, clutch be fully engaged n last longer. my own conclusion from above - despite issues with modern gb like dsg, 8/9 spd, cvt (maybe cvt not that modern), can adopt above method n feedback after 50k km if such gb no further issue like jerk, judder, MU n clutch pack. or maybe some bro / sis oredi done it can feedback. thanks @kopites for the lead to this series; very enlightening. oh ya, if u guys / gals happened to watch from beginning, it also talked about ac system, engine issues. i like this program - they explain in a way i believe the layman could understand. Thanks for spreading this tube around. Yes this is one of the very informative program. Follow the link you should be able to find; AD vs PI, oem spare parts vs original,pain protection, oaide workshop vs AD workshop, why Altis call "god car-shen zhe" in Taiwan etc etc. hahaha quite relevant to spore context I reckon. To bad can't translate for non Chinese speaking members. BTW, that female quite cute. My type. Hahaah this would definitely attract the notorious tiko here to click on the tube. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 29, 2016 Share July 29, 2016 From what the Expert said,DSG gearbox most easy 'kaput' is slow driving,1 to 2 gear,esp those who go M'sia stuck in Causeway for a few hours...That's y I requested ppl car w such gb to try shifting to manual n switch to gear 1 during slow traffic to see if it really helps in extending clutch pack replacement. Andy oso mentioned automated manuals r problematic too, like those installed in french cars. Thanks for spreading this tube around. Yes this is one of the very informative program. Follow the link you should be able to find; AD vs PI, oem spare parts vs original,pain protection, oaide workshop vs AD workshop, why Altis call "god car-shen zhe" in Taiwan etc etc. hahaha quite relevant to spore context I reckon. To bad can't translate for non Chinese speaking members. BTW, that female quite cute. My type. Hahaah this would definitely attract the notorious tiko here to click on the tube. Tks for more leads bro. Oh, too engrossed in listening to explanation to notice the host ha.. Good info must spread so wont anyhow believe what ws mech says. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 something to share concerning gearbox. refer to 20min to 31min - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PijcvLypVJc&list=PLmPw0FFtVoRCcTzqACjJO8uSfxatNndee If you can understand chinese. else, summary as follow (hope i get reasonably correct; refer to video if doubt) - 1. automated manual gb very problematic. failure is gear control module n significant cost to replace / repair. 2. modern gb also problematic becos of TCU not housed in cabin but beside gb or submerged in ATF. when gb operating temp too hot, TCU spoil n gb malfunction. for clutch, in auto mode, TCU tend to shift to 2nd gear almost immediately during slow traffic, by this time in half-clutch position like we do for manual gb, causing metal-metal rubbing n overheat. for cvt, steel belt also rub pulley n overheat causing slip like clutch slip, so it is like losing power when driving during such situation. 3. to prolong modern gb life: a. install conventional ATF cooler. though cannot accurately control ATF temp like mfgr built-in ATF temperature control module, but as long as can preserve lifespan of gb, objective achieved. b. gb with S mode (manual, tiptronic or similar modes): switch to this (manual mode) n move it to 1st gear during crawling traffic. then change back to D when traffic not slow anymore. this way, clutch be fully engaged n last longer. my own conclusion from above - despite issues with modern gb like dsg, 8/9 spd, cvt (maybe cvt not that modern), can adopt above method n feedback after 50k km if such gb no further issue like jerk, judder, MU n clutch pack. or maybe some bro / sis oredi done it can feedback. thanks @kopites for the lead to this series; very enlightening. oh ya, if u guys / gals happened to watch from beginning, it also talked about ac system, engine issues. i like this program - they explain in a way i believe the layman could understand. oh oh http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99875&page=5 Unfortunately, this morning when I was setting all the destinations in the GPS, after a while in the car with the engine off, the meters decided to blink and have a ticking sound. I tried to start up the engine but had some difficulty. When I shutdown and tried to start up again, had trouble and the steering locked. Finally I managed to start up again but could not drive off. After that shutdown and tried again. This time can't even start up no matter what. Suspected to be battery low. Called the SE, he advised call service van. Came one hour later and tested battery, was showing good voltage. Nevertheless tried to jump start, no go. Guy said confirmed not battery issue, suspect software issue. Another hour later, the tow truck came and tow back to workshop. Got a loaner Tiguan 2.0. No idea when they can fix it. Really sucks. Second day only car die. I'm getting nightmares of my previous GTI 16 years ago, which was in and out of workshop 19 times in 1 year. Hopefully after fixing it will be fine. When I decided to go back to VW again, I was mentally prepared. I really dislike my love hat relationship with VW. I love the car when it works, but hate it when it breaks down for no apparent reason. But my standard set is 3 strikes and its out. Meaning, if within one year have to go back workshop for problems other than servicing, I am destined not to have a VW. It will be back to Japanese cars forever. Super Sian. Super pissed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 oh oh http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99875&page=5 Unfortunately, this morning when I was setting all the destinations in the GPS, after a while in the car with the engine off, the meters decided to blink and have a ticking sound. I tried to start up the engine but had some difficulty. When I shutdown and tried to start up again, had trouble and the steering locked. Finally I managed to start up again but could not drive off. After that shutdown and tried again. This time can't even start up no matter what. Suspected to be battery low. Called the SE, he advised call service van. Came one hour later and tested battery, was showing good voltage. Nevertheless tried to jump start, no go. Guy said confirmed not battery issue, suspect software issue. Another hour later, the tow truck came and tow back to workshop. Got a loaner Tiguan 2.0. No idea when they can fix it. Really sucks. Second day only car die. I'm getting nightmares of my previous GTI 16 years ago, which was in and out of workshop 19 times in 1 year. Hopefully after fixing it will be fine. When I decided to go back to VW again, I was mentally prepared. I really dislike my love hat relationship with VW. I love the car when it works, but hate it when it breaks down for no apparent reason. But my standard set is 3 strikes and its out. Meaning, if within one year have to go back workshop for problems other than servicing, I am destined not to have a VW. It will be back to Japanese cars forever. Super Sian. Super pissed. What model is this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MercutioV 1st Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 That's y I requested ppl car w such gb to try shifting to manual n switch to gear 1 during slow traffic to see if it really helps in extending clutch pack replacement. Andy oso mentioned automated manuals r problematic too, like those installed in french cars. Tks for more leads bro. Oh, too engrossed in listening to explanation to notice the host ha.. Good info must spread so wont anyhow believe what ws mech says. Thanks! Will be getting my vw later this year and intend to follow yours advice. One question: when you go with manual mode and keep in gear 1, how strong is the engine braking? Can manage in causeway jam? Or is it jerky? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 oh oh http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99875&page=5 Unfortunately, this morning when I was setting all the destinations in the GPS, after a while in the car with the engine off, the meters decided to blink and have a ticking sound. I tried to start up the engine but had some difficulty. When I shutdown and tried to start up again, had trouble and the steering locked. Finally I managed to start up again but could not drive off. After that shutdown and tried again. This time can't even start up no matter what. Suspected to be battery low. Called the SE, he advised call service van. Came one hour later and tested battery, was showing good voltage. Nevertheless tried to jump start, no go. Guy said confirmed not battery issue, suspect software issue. Another hour later, the tow truck came and tow back to workshop. Got a loaner Tiguan 2.0. No idea when they can fix it. Really sucks. Second day only car die. I'm getting nightmares of my previous GTI 16 years ago, which was in and out of workshop 19 times in 1 year. Hopefully after fixing it will be fine. When I decided to go back to VW again, I was mentally prepared. I really dislike my love hat relationship with VW. I love the car when it works, but hate it when it breaks down for no apparent reason. But my standard set is 3 strikes and its out. Meaning, if within one year have to go back workshop for problems other than servicing, I am destined not to have a VW. It will be back to Japanese cars forever. Super Sian. Super pissed. Move to camp BMW? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 Thanks! Will be getting my vw later this year and intend to follow yours advice. One question: when you go with manual mode and keep in gear 1, how strong is the engine braking? Can manage in causeway jam? Or is it jerky? based on my feel, not much diff from manual trans 1st gear. do note i can't guarantee anything; it's just based on my understanding of the video i posted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MercutioV 1st Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 based on my feel, not much diff from manual trans 1st gear. do note i can't guarantee anything; it's just based on my understanding of the video i posted.I've heard the same advice elsewhere from colleagues in Germany. Everyone advises to switch DSG to manual mode in heavy stop-and-go, so that the gb stays in gear 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 oh oh http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99875&page=5 Unfortunately, this morning when I was setting all the destinations in the GPS, after a while in the car with the engine off, the meters decided to blink and have a ticking sound. I tried to start up the engine but had some difficulty. When I shutdown and tried to start up again, had trouble and the steering locked. Finally I managed to start up again but could not drive off. After that shutdown and tried again. This time can't even start up no matter what. Suspected to be battery low. Called the SE, he advised call service van. Came one hour later and tested battery, was showing good voltage. Nevertheless tried to jump start, no go. Guy said confirmed not battery issue, suspect software issue. Another hour later, the tow truck came and tow back to workshop. Got a loaner Tiguan 2.0. No idea when they can fix it. Really sucks. Second day only car die. I'm getting nightmares of my previous GTI 16 years ago, which was in and out of workshop 19 times in 1 year. Hopefully after fixing it will be fine. When I decided to go back to VW again, I was mentally prepared. I really dislike my love hat relationship with VW. I love the car when it works, but hate it when it breaks down for no apparent reason. But my standard set is 3 strikes and its out. Meaning, if within one year have to go back workshop for problems other than servicing, I am destined not to have a VW. It will be back to Japanese cars forever. Super Sian. Super pissed. bro, what was the link about, didnt seem to talk about ur issues. so u meant ur hu or gps caused car electronic to hang or smthg lidat? keep posted. to be fair, 16 yrs ago issue may not b relevant now since twas so long ago. but 19x is quite scary. id have disposed of the ride during the warranty period if loss isnt too much. anyway, when u said 2nd day, means now u drivin new car rite? agree its love hate, or more hate than love ultimately if this keeps gg on. u have been to the conti side oredi, so can move back to jap liao. no regrets. but as long as even 50-50 good n lemon car owners, still will have ppl buyin them. its always instant gratification n benefits that matters, problem solving later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 SEOUL: South Korea on Tuesday suspended sales of most Volkswagen AG models in a fresh blow to the German automaker as it struggles to overcome the global repercussions of its emissions-test cheating sandal and rebuild its tattered image. The government revoked certification for 80 model variants of VW, Audi and Bentley vehicles, and fined Volkswagen 17.8 billion won (US$16.06 million) for allegedly forging documents on emissions or noise-level tests. - 1 Aug 16. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 What model is this? It is new car.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 3, 2016 Share August 3, 2016 It is new car.? 2 day old Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear August 3, 2016 Share August 3, 2016 2 day old Which model? 2 days old car.. unbelievable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear August 3, 2016 Share August 3, 2016 software crash? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...