How problematic is VW's 7 speed DSG?

Kar_lover

This is not true.

My MU failed when the car was in motion.

The centre console prompted me to shift my gears to "P" and there was a speed cut gradually after that.

After parking my car, I was unable to drive any further.

I called the tow truck thereafter.

Thanks for supporting my point that 99% of MU failure happen when the car has been parked. Not many actually stalled on the road. Especially now after the recall. I always say that those who buy vw rides now must be prepared for failure to happen once in a while, else better not touch it.

Buy VW car if not full cash, must make sure:

1) You have 50% cash deposit (half full cash)

2) You meet TDSR

3) You have a sales job that allows you leave office as and when you like but preferably have at least 21 days of annual leave

Is that even crucial?

It's all about the bass drive.

It's like having a horse with mood swings if you were a cowboy in the wild west back then.

Is it necessary for such doom and gloom hysteria?

So other cars never has any issue or infinitely less problems?

Thanks for supporting my point that 99% of MU failure happen when the car has been parked. Not many actually stalled on the road. Especially now after the recall. I always say that those who buy vw rides now must be prepared for failure to happen once in a while, else better not touch it.

Based on what rational? You got this premonition from doing a rain dance?

Did you find out why your mu failed?

Related to the reason given in worldwide recall?

I see no basis of finding out the reason for mechatronic unit failure.

It will fail and is going to fail.

It is just a matter of time.

Whether it is DSG synthetic oil or mineral oil.

I see no basis of finding out the reason for mechatronic unit failure.

It will fail and is going to fail.

It is just a matter of time.

Whether it is DSG synthetic oil or mineral oil.

So nonchalant . Did you feel put off by your car the first day you got it?

Knn.

After I mati, if anyone burns me a VW, I sure come back and have a good chat with him/ her.

Even if it's the GTI with bullet proof 6dsg wet clutch?

Dun need to discuss so much. No Volkswagen for me.

Volkswagen is ok lah, just avoid those models equipped with the problematic 7DSG unit.

Even if it's the GTI with bullet proof 6dsg wet clutch?

Yup. Can't deal with and won't entertain moods swings in girls and cars.

So nonchalant . Did you feel put off by your car the first day you got it?

Nope. Why should I?

I bought it with full knowledge of the DSG issues including from someone who has a working relationship with VW HQ in Germany.

I am fortunate that my VW has not given me as that many problems as what other VW owners had complained about in this forum or VAGSG forum.

Is the DSG gearbox really a big issue?

No lah, not big problem. Just 31 pages in this thread.

Nope. Why should I?

I bought it with full knowledge of the DSG issues including from someone who has a working relationship with VW HQ in Germany.

I am fortunate that my VW has not given me as that many problems as what other VW owners had complained about in this forum or VAGSG forum.

Meaning it has given you problems already...

No lah, not big problem. Just 31 pages in this thread.

Meaning it has given you problems already...

I was considering a CC R-line. But the DSG problematic history kind of holding me back haha

As long as not dry dct, risk shud b reduced substantially. This may not be unique to dq200.

However, how seller provides after sales, service recovery to buyer can make a difference.

Similar to hyundai in sg, the Vol is now sold with 6at.

I was considering a CC R-line. But the DSG problematic history kind of holding me back haha

CC R line is 2.0T wet clutch.

Comes quite well equipe with aircon ventilated seats.

Try getting invite for closed door invite sales. Going for 178K when COE was at 70 K.

But normally sold out for those units within one hr.

Volkswagen is ok lah, just avoid those models equipped with the problematic 7DSG unit.

yeah.. but somehow those on Jetta GLi seems to fail. Not sure if its because its from Africa / Mexico

But after changing MU, LG - Lifes Good

they probably waiting for someone/something, or alternator dead, or no petrol...

(tried rotating but same result, guess is a phone pic thing)

post-1698-0-56025100-1440509081_thumb.jpg

Edited by Eyke