Enye Hypersonic August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 umm..., can you provide me the answer to: If i drive to KL using NSHW and maintain ave speed of 100-120Km/h non stop, will that driving pattern cause major heat build up?.. If i drive to KL using NSHW and maintain ave speed of 120-140Km/h non stop, will that driving pattern cause major heat build up?.. If i drive to KL using NSHW and maintain ave speed of 130-160Km/h non stop, will that driving pattern cause major heat build up?.. You should be asking if drive to kl stuck in jam for 1 hour will cause major heat buildup? 2 hours? 3 hours? and so on.... 😂 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 No no and no. The only time heat is generated is when clutch is engaged (during gear change) - mostly in low gear when you let car crawl in first gear without engaging the throttle. This is when clutch plates are rubbing against each other Ohhh.. so it can survive nshw at any high speed but when I reach kl , I have to pray no serious jam and best solution is park at hotel, take taxi to move around since kl jam is no joke,... Conclusion is this dry 7dsg is not suitable for big city with heavy jam driver but good for ciiy like Perth... Hehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 No lah, I read your earlier post which I thought said millions sold in EU don't have DSG issue so I thought I ask about it. Anyway I'm not a fan of a dual clutch gb in my car unless it a proper performance car of course. Small percentage out of many millions still equal lots of DSG out there. In China there are tonnes of around. Is there any more news recently that cars with dsg are going into false neutral causing accidents. Well, the false neutral (due to MU failure) is what got everyone riled-up, isnt it? Has the recall mineral oil fix (plus certain enhancements in later dsg) overcome the issue? Nay-sayers will always be negative and think time is at a standstill (and all the engineers are mindless idiots who will take millenium to fix any issues) You won't make it pass the causeway jam lah to get to kl in the first place (kiddin) Ohhh.. so it can survive nshw at any high speed but when I reach kl , I have to pray no serious jam and best solution is park at hotel, take taxi to move around since kl jam is no joke,...Conclusion is this dry 7dsg is not suitable for big city with heavy jam driver but good for ciiy like Perth... Hehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 Ohhh.. so it can survive nshw at any high speed but when I reach kl , I have to pray no serious jam and best solution is park at hotel, take taxi to move around since kl jam is no joke,... Conclusion is this dry 7dsg is not suitable for big city with heavy jam driver but good for ciiy like Perth... Hehe... Or you can don't do stupid things and drive your dct/dsg like your tc gesrbox (ie let the car crawl in low gears). And I bet the gearbox can take a lot of heat. Don't forget the problem is due to corrosion of MU. The heat is just incidental ie turned the oil caustic causing corrosion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tyco_kia 4th Gear August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 I think those protest in M'sia were before the recall. Of course VW should be handed some brickbats for not handling the issue well by treating buyers outside Europe (where most of the dsg MU failure occured) with no urgency. I think the 118 cost a fair bit more than Golf. Which cars give you the same tech used in a premium class car but at a bb car price? VW sells tonnes of Golf in Europe essentially a bread-butter car. If the dsg is such a major problem, would consumers still buy these Golf in the millions. Look at it this way. Dont talk about premium class car. VW in Singapore is mainly competing with bb Jap/Kor cars with the Golf/Jetta/Polo. Put aside the FUD about reliability, in terms of performance/efficiency/driveability these VW group cars out-classed and out-gunned most of the Jap/Kor bb cars. I am not affliated to VW and I would not advice anyone buying their cars without due considerations of the pros and cons. If you have phobia about reliability (since you heard many horror stories whether true or unfounded) then don't buy. Not worth risking having a mental breakdown everyday worrying whether your car is going to breakdown. But if you are willing to take a calculated risk about reliability in exchange for performance/efficiency/fun, then why not? Personally I think these cars with 1.4 tfsi + dsg is just much more fun and better drive than any of the bb Jap/Kor cars. Then again, if you are indifferent and just need four wheels to get you from point A to B, then maybe look elsewhere. WOW!! I am amazed by your knowledge! Honestly bro, no pun intended, either you are very well read into cars or you work in a workshop that does vw servicing or somewhat related to that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 WOW!! I am amazed by your knowledge! Honestly bro, no pun intended, either you are very well read into cars or you work in a workshop that does vw servicing or somewhat related to that. Only did some read up for information to see what's with all the paranoia wrt to the dsg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 Or you can don't do stupid things and drive your dct/dsg like your tc gesrbox (ie let the car crawl in low gears). And I bet the gearbox can take a lot of heat. Don't forget the problem is due to corrosion of MU. The heat is just incidental ie turned the oil caustic causing corrosion. I don't get it, so is that a problematic gb or just misinformation on my end from reading too much bad publicity? Seriously, if one can drive a proton saga anyway they like without having to worry about failure, I don't understand why one should drive with certain pattern a German technology.. .hehehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 I don't get it, so is that a problematic gb or just misinformation on my end from reading too much bad publicity? Seriously, if one can drive a proton saga anyway they like without having to worry about failure, I don't understand why one should drive with certain pattern a German technology.. .hehehe... Those who bought VW or Audi cars with 7speed DSG flocking in to defend their purchase - otherwise mentally defeated and depressed mah. The others who never get VW/Audi all flock in to laugh at them and try to create show. A bit b**tard, but this is how forum works. No right, no wrong - but very good entertainment lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 I don't get it, so is that a problematic gb or just misinformation on my end from reading too much bad publicity? Seriously, if one can drive a proton saga anyway they like without having to worry about failure, I don't understand why one should drive with certain pattern a German technology.. .hehehe... Nobody is stopping you from driving it anyway you want. It is just the nature of the technology. Just the same prudence that you should not ride the clutch on a manual transmission. It is Murphys law after all. whether you are lucky enough that the breakdown criss crosses your timeline. Some people who take care and service their car diligently and still the car breaks down. But another never service the car for a few years but the car never have any problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 (edited) Those who bought VW or Audi cars with 7speed DSG flocking in to defend their purchase - otherwise mentally defeated and depressed mah. The others who never get VW/Audi all flock in to laugh at them and try to create show. A bit b**tard, but this is how forum works. No right, no wrong - but very good entertainment lor. In the latter, don't you think it is juvenile of those who slag someone else' car based on paranoia? Would you be disgusted with the same paranoia when someone slag you for being stupid for buying your new honda because honda comes with killer airbags? Edited August 5, 2015 by zerobim08 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 So what's the conclusion on the dry clutch DSG? Use mineral oil + don't let it roll forward without applying throttle and it will be ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 So what's the conclusion on the dry clutch DSG? Use mineral oil + don't let it roll forward without applying throttle and it will be ok? Must be so Cham...... Buy another car la. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 Would you be disgusted with the same paranoia when someone slag you for being stupid for buying your new honda because honda comes with killer airbags? not if it's true. 7dsg broke down and according to some owners is still breaking down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 5, 2015 Share August 5, 2015 not if it's true. 7dsg broke down and according to some owners is still breaking down. In my opinion, it is a design flaw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 6, 2015 Share August 6, 2015 Saw a SKT plate Jetta broke down on the right lane along Bt Timah Rd last nite. Owner suddenly decided to enjoy nite scenery again?..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 6, 2015 Share August 6, 2015 Saw a SKT plate Jetta broke down on the right lane along Bt Timah Rd last nite. Owner suddenly decided to enjoy nite scenery again?..... We should not I stereo type vw breaks down. Maybe driver forget payou....hahahha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 6, 2015 Share August 6, 2015 Saw a SKT plate Jetta broke down on the right lane along Bt Timah Rd last nite. Owner suddenly decided to enjoy nite scenery again?..... must be battery flat lah, can don't be paranoid or not 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 6, 2015 Share August 6, 2015 must be battery flat lah, can don't be paranoid or not Okok....solli solli. Of course. Maybe Vw driver neber remember to payou, batt flat, tyre flat, right lane got sinkhole, decide to pang sai on roadside.....My bad. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...