merc280v6 6th Gear December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 No I am not. No confidence to buy.Good. You'd better not, or live to regret it with frequent hospitalisation ... oops! I mean, workshop stays ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 really a lot of pple here with aunty-logic: mine is good, thus all is good.Buahahahaha AUNTY-LOGIC ... good one bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 I think this, from an owner, while not quite related problems, still points to owner confidence in the car.There will always be people who change car when warranty ends. arbo people like me go where to find those 3-4 year old 1 owner car fully AD serviced to buy?Any comments on the 1.6 Tdi touran second hand? Same DSG right?My colleague drives it. Happy like f. 16-17km/l.No I am not. No confidence to buy.then u come here and fear monger? shows what kind of a character person you are. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 really a lot of pple here with aunty-logic: mine is good, thus all is good.It's no aunty logic. I have at least 4 other people around me who own VWs with the same DSG - 1 Passat, 1 Scirocco, 2 Touran. Some of these people have owned the car past the warranty period and clocked more than 60k on their car without a single issue with DSG. The more common issue is engine oil consumption. If you think this is aunty logic, then you must also have uncle logic reading a few bad reports without any proper background info (maybe the owner drove it like he stole it?) and thinking all must be bad. I've owned lemon BMW, Volvo straight out of the dealers lot before, but I am still driving my BMW because one, two cases are not representative of all the cars sold. VW sells 7DSG by the thousands, if it was really bad it would have been a massive protest from owners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 But the truth cannot be denied. There was a massive protest by owners from boleh land. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 (edited) But the truth cannot be denied. There was a massive protest by owners from boleh land. Not only that, a class action suit against VW in the USA, for their numerous DSG-related failures. Edited December 20, 2016 by merc280v6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 Not only that, a class action suit against VW in the USA, for their numerous DSG-related failures. ðð¼ Similar litigations against VW were held in China too, for the pandemic-like DSG issues - not sure what they term it to be in Chinese - but certainly ruled against them by the PRC courts ðð¼ Iirc, vw then gam wan recall after prc consumers kpkb.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 (edited) Iirc, vw then gam wan recall after prc consumers kpkb..Yes, I think VW was mandated by the PRC garmen to conduct a massive recall ... although I doubt if VW even had any solution to the DSG problem. Edited December 20, 2016 by merc280v6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Yes, I think VW was mandated by the PRC garmen to conduct a massive recall ... although I doubt if VW even had any solution to the DSG problem.At least their authorities still did smthg. Did ours do the same? Dsg issues hard to resolve unless like engineer better materials or increase size or thickness of components to make it last as long as torq conv gb.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xanavi 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 There will always be people who change car when warranty ends. arbo people like me go where to find those 3-4 year old 1 owner car fully AD serviced to buy? My colleague drives it. Happy like f. 16-17km/l. then u come here and fear monger? shows what kind of a character person you are. Maintenance wise? Does your colleague has any comments?Regular maintenaince not the issue. But last thing I can afford is car break down on my at freaking ulu place. Actually I also talking nonsense, since your colleague is happy, the car should be fine. Now is bargain with 2nd car dealers. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 There will always be people who change car when warranty ends. arbo people like me go where to find those 3-4 year old 1 owner car fully AD serviced to buy? My colleague drives it. Happy like f. 16-17km/l. then u come here and fear monger? shows what kind of a character person you are. 2 replies in this thread = fearmongering? Okay. You like it and its doing good for you means others cannot use their own environment to make comments when experience is not so good? Okay. If you stay in a landed property at Telok Kurau that is X size and worth Y million, does it mean that other landed property in Bukit Timah cannot be X -n size and worth Y - n million? Different locale, different environment, cannot? YOUR reply will show your good character. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Maintenance wise? Does your colleague has any comments? Regular maintenaince not the issue. But last thing I can afford is car break down on my at freaking ulu place. Actually I also talking nonsense, since your colleague is happy, the car should be fine. Now is bargain with 2nd car dealers. Haha Nope, in fact diesel vehicles less maintenance than petrol. I am personally driving a diesel BMW, and maintenance has been very easy -- just oil change and oil filter change. No spark plug, ignition coils, etc. to worry about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fels 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 It really depends on your definition of hassle, peril and precariousness. My friend was over the moon when he first got his DSG7 Jetta. He said he doesn't drive into Malaysia so having to replace his mechatronics 2 times in 5 years after being stranded on the road and near his place is OK. VW gave him a bettle as courtesy car anyway. But I feel that it is an issue to me as I drive into Malaysia frequently and need a car that's reliable enough to not break down in some God forsaken location. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Imagine you, wife and children all stranded on a dark NS Highway, in the middle of the night. Scary sia! Your VW cannot restart and dashboard alarm(s) blinking with transmission fault! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 (edited) 2 replies in this thread = fearmongering? Okay. You like it and its doing good for you means others cannot use their own environment to make comments when experience is not so good? Okay. If you stay in a landed property at Telok Kurau that is X size and worth Y million, does it mean that other landed property in Bukit Timah cannot be X -n size and worth Y - n million? Different locale, different environment, cannot? YOUR reply will show your good character. What kind of analogy is this? You are taking properties from two completely different districts, build, make, tenure, etc. for comparison. We are taking about the same transmission here, i.e. your neighbours house and your house. Better furnishings, better renovation, better view/facing might fetch a better price, but how much can it differ, unless you burnt your house down? There's definitely people who trash their cars, and that is a precursor to ANY transmission failure. I have a friend who drives his BMW 520i like he stole it, and within 2 years his transmission has overheated and leaked fluids causing low fluids and a stalled vehicle on several occasions. I'm also sure there has been numerous cases of people with failed BMW transmission (Google "BMW Drive Train error"). So based on these reports, is the BMW sourced ZF8 unreliable? What I am peeved about is that NON owners come here and spew a bunch of their nonsense and theories based on "hear say" and what they read on the Internet. It does not correctly represent the people who have owned, maintained, and cared for their VW 7DSG vehicles and have not had major issues with them -- it is NOT good for the general reputation of what I personally feel is a very well engineered vehicle. But as a plus, I am able to buy these vehicles at similar depreciation to a much poorer: handling, power, shifting, interior, NVH, safety (but deemed "more reliable") Japanese equivalent. If VW hadn't had the 7DSG issue in 2012 (see below), their cars would not be priced like what they are today. I'm not the only person here who owns 7DSG equipped vehicles reporting no issues, and also not the only person with friends who drive the 7DSG and had no issues. You can be assured that I drive my wife's car and my mum's car reasonably hard and my friend driving the Passat and Scirocco also drives it reasonably hard, and neither have had a major transmission problem requiring a MU replacement, or a stall in the middle of the road, or anything of that sort. Some clowns have come in here and said that it will fail in 20k, some 40k, some 60k. What a load of bulls**t and where did these numbers come from? I am also aware that a few of my good reports are not representative of all the owners, but if non-owners come here to spout rubbish, they should stop. If you have personally experienced a problem, you are welcome to share. Recalls, failures and improvements Those who claim that there has not been a recall, or has not been rectification or improvements to the 7DSG are also a bunch of uninformed clowns. Have you even driven the old 7DSG and a new 7DSG vehicle? They shift and engage the clutch very differently. You can totally FEEL it. The computer has been reprogrammed in newer 7DSG vehicle to have a more gradual clutch engagement. There was a recall in 2012(?) due to an incompatible synthetic fluid in the transmission causes a short circuit which puts teh DSG out of gear (the Gear 0 problem.) This has already been resolved with a mineral fluid, and if MU has been damaged -- an MU replacement. In 2014 or 2015, the DSG clutch pack friction surfaces have also been improved to reduce the "juddering" problem. In fact, the clutch pack has had several revisions along the way. What other cars are using 7DSG (DQ200)? No surprise... from brother family, Audi's FWD A1. If DQ200 was such a shitty transmission, why would it be in an Audi, VW's mid-tier brand? Edited December 21, 2016 by Detach8 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Imagine you, wife and children all stranded on a dark NS Highway, in the middle of the night. Scary sia! Your VW cannot restart and dashboard alarm(s) blinking with transmission fault! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 That happened to me on a Mazda 2. Go figure. CONTEXT. This was because of the synthetic fluid problem which has been resolved with a mineral fluid. Bro, don't waste your breath with those whose minds are stuck in the past. I agree with what you said. Just googled and majority of the problems reported for dsg pre-date recall period (circa 2013). Even those recent ones that were reported were for cars manufactured before the recall. Since the recall time, millions of new dsg equipped cars went on the road. If problems were not resolved like what those stuck-mind dsg doomsayers said, then we would have seen more outcry...but that's not the case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dookieb Neutral Newbie December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 That's the problem in Singapore. Everything's so expensive. Buying a car is akin to purchasing a residential property, people are trying to make informed decisions or justify their purchases. Unfortunately VW did eff up their QC on the DQ200 gearbox and the dieselgate scandal further tarnished their reputation; reputation counts a lot in Singapore. Its up to readers to make informed decisions, filter the forums and not take everything people say in the forums wholesale. That said, for the record I have had my Octavia for 7 years now, clocking in about 140Ks. she's still purring like a kitten and I hope to keep it that way for another 10 years. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...