RadX Moderator December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 solli hor...i onli sell tau huay so not beli "educated" like u. maybe i shall go and cut and paste other ppl's political comments to look more educated....... see lah...cos of tau huey seller likeu MCF stnadard drop...kns... pls go to mytauhuay.com.sg and never come here again [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 see lah...cos of tau huey seller likeu MCF stnadard drop...kns... pls go to mytauhuay.com.sg and never come here again ......donch liddat lar. i call my tau huay buddies and strike den u noe har. den ppl can do more cut and paste to make themselves look educated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 ......donch liddat lar. i call my tau huay buddies and strike den u noe har. den ppl can do more cut and paste to make themselves look educated. u dun sell tauhay, i go mrbean or jollibean....think u the only source meh?? go catch spider and put in your tauhuey [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 the poor 'head leaders' who intiated the strike kenna deported back while the rest benefited from the strike got their voices heard. LOL..irony? if no one wants to stand up, then forever the voice will be silent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 That was a very interesting article. Especially the conflict of interest shown between the NTUC and a director of the company - it brings a flaw in the system into very stark relief. And it also reiterates a point that has not be explored in the MSM - namely, was the strike "justified"? How right is it to punish people for taking fully justified actions? Does it harm us as individuals to support and perpetuate injustice (even if protesting against the injustice is illegal)? At what point do we have to say "enough"! The starting point of all of the drama was the unilateral changing of the contract, spreading the work of five days into six - taking away an off day and making shifts more unpredictable. Is it "right" or "fair" to do this? To me, also, the article is attempting to get us to step outside the framework of "is it legal" to "does it follow natural justice" (i.e - is ti "right") Remembering that legal and right and don't always overlap perfectly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 A few man from a communist state complaining and going on strike says a lot about the state of affairs in our small country. [:(] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 thanks for sharing the article.. now if only somebody highlighted the six months of ding-dong the workers went through in the MSM.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 A few man from a communist state complaining and going on strike says a lot about the state of affairs in our small country. [:(] You didn't know? That communist country make a documentary about Singapores political system. To show their party how to stay in power. Imagine that... People who invented tian ann men study Singapore as ten year series on maintaining power. Not justice or fairness. Feel so proud ah......... World first again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 thanks for sharing the article.. now if only somebody highlighted the six months of ding-dong the workers went through in the MSM.. That one no chance - it would disturb the narrative of the strike as being "wrong". Then where would the gubermint be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 When the Nazis came for the communists, I remained silent; I was not a communist. When they locked up the social democrats, I remained silent; I was not a social democrat. When they came for the trade unionists, I did not speak out; I was not a trade unionist. When they came for the Jews, I remained silent; I wasn't a Jew. When they came for me, there was no one left to speak out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 That one no chance - it would disturb the narrative of the strike as being "wrong". Then where would the gubermint be? try the ST Forum maybe? somebuddy already asked how could it fester like it was only known yesterday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 You didn't know? That communist country make a documentary about Singapores political system. To show their party how to stay in power. Imagine that... People who invented tian ann men study Singapore as ten year series on maintaining power. Not justice or fairness. Feel so proud ah......... World first again. We should be proud shouldnt we....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 (edited) a well written article indeed. i feel he did a better job than mainstream media and some of the high paying ministers in highlighting the importance and contribution of FW in this country. there will be round 2 as tan chuan jin and cedric foo will need to fight back to counter his claims. Edited December 3, 2012 by Kiario Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 a well written article indeed. i feel he did a better job than mainstream media and some of the high paying ministers in highlighting the importance and contribution of FW in this country. there will be round 2 as tan chuan jin and cedric foo will need to fight back to counter his claims. I think if they "fight back" it will only be by sueing. Other than that, I predict they will ignore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 I think if they "fight back" it will only be by sueing. Other than that, I predict they will ignore. but writer also very clever by quoting others in his attack on them in this article. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 a well written article indeed. i feel he did a better job than mainstream media and some of the high paying ministers in highlighting the importance and contribution of FW in this country. there will be round 2 as tan chuan jin and cedric foo will need to fight back to counter his claims. There is a failed potential minister ( aljunie grc) in board of director. Whose role in this is interesting. A CEO who imo almost guaranteed potential minister again come 2016. The party will close ranks to avoid own goal... And the party controls the press. The story will be our glorious leaders defeated an attempt by foreigners to attack our labour harmony. That will be all thank you. Hold the MSM by their balls.... And the rest will follow as usual. The Chinese post of the driver also good read ... Gives insight on their reasons for striking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 The article probably meant that the strike could have been prevented if prior actions had been taken when the issues were highlighted. It is normal human reactions when pushed against a wall to go to the extreme... The article did highlight that strike is not acceptable... but what brougt the strike to happen was something building up for the last few months... Clearly once again, this shows the complete lack of communication from the top down... One thing for sure, am sure the Locals and MY drivers are equally unhappy in the "increment" in pay and "increment" in working hours... but moving forward... they are glad this happened as it will force SMRT to rethink before enforcing any changes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 If this one industrial action goes unpunished and leads to strikes all over Singapore, as some fearmongers are predicting in a doomsday type of scenario, doesn't that say a lot about the labour relations and how workers are treated in Singapore? Does that mean that we treat our workers badly and only the law is keeping everyone in check? I like how Vincent has references to most of his statements about the various parties identified in his little essay. If anyone wants to question his statements or threaten defamation suits i'm sure he'll have a big stack of evidence to back up his claims. I honestly have not seen any current members of the ruling party express themselves this intelligently, although perhaps Shanmugam can come close. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...