More COE Next Year (2014) .....

Maxus-MIFA9

Thats why the high downpayment requirement. Out of 10 deregistrating their car next year, maybe only 5 can fork out 50% down payment. The other 5, without the $$$$, they cannot replace their ride even though their wants or needs is high ( no $ no talk).

My opinion is that it will soften but not crash. Gov will also take opportunity to claw back some coe so that coe will not be too low. Good enough for their coffers but yet Not too high.

I second this opinion. They should further tighten the loan requirements imo to reduce demand. it sounds bad but this is to prevent people from over committing and driving the prices sky high.

if history repeats itself, the coe will be between 15-25k +/-.

Cause the coe still remain quite high. [:p]

But it DID go down, maybe not as much as you would like but it did nonetheless. I guess that is a good sign (that it didn't drop so much). Imagine if due to new rules suddenly the COE quota not even fully subscribed and COE drop to $1! Then you know majority of cars owners in the past were "over-extending" themselves!

What I find kinda weird is the actual number of bids actually went up (more unique bidders) than before the new rules but yet the COE still dropped. What does this mean? More ppl bidding smaller amounts? But since we all blame the dealers who "control" the bidding then why isn't the COE same as before? Clearly there is no shortage of buyers.

We cyclists are less than 1% of commuters. No money for the government for the cost of administrating. Plus the amount of space we take is very minor compared to cars.

COE is not based on the amount of space you occupy. Otherwise how come the categories is based on engine cc (for cars) and there is only single category for commercial vehicles (which is those small van as well as larger trucks)?

COE is to control car population and as there is a finite space available in Singapore for roads, even though it does take up 12% of the total landspace.

they shld do a COE for FTs, sure make $$$. any FT come in must outbid each other for the right to be here LOL

Support! Hahahaha

We cyclists are less than 1% of commuters. No money for the government for the cost of administrating. Plus the amount of space we take is very minor compared to cars.

Cycling around neighbourhood and park absolutely no prob but in peak hpur or in bus lane, thats a problem esp in cbd.

Though cyclist dun take much space but bus need more space and when there is a cyclist in left lane, bus need to use another lane which cause two lane to merge to one causing more jam. Hope you understand. I was only thinking if cyclist prevented from entering cbd area or in bus lane during peak hour.

now they lose their vehicle. they also owe the bank a big sum after auctioning off the vehicle. and no car too.

isnt that lagi jialat.

guess the CM is to prevent more of such people committing to things they cannot really afford. buying car based on OT pay is just not being financial prudent.

Cycling around neighbourhood and park absolutely no prob but in peak hpur or in bus lane, thats a problem esp in cbd.

Though cyclist dun take much space but bus need more space and when there is a cyclist in left lane, bus need to use another lane which cause two lane to merge to one causing more jam. Hope you understand. I was only thinking if cyclist prevented from entering cbd area or in bus lane during peak hour.

I cycle everyday to work in the cbd. Majority of the time I am passing cars/buses stationary as they are all stuck in a jam. So I don't think preventing cyclists in the cbd is the answer to preventing jams as the cars are doing good enough job causing them by themselves.

You should look at what London/New York/ most European Cities/Melbourne/Sydney are doing in their cbd's, and that is putting in bike lanes to help move people from A to B as cycling is more efficient for commuting and space.

I cycle everyday to work in the cbd. Majority of the time I am passing cars/buses stationary as they are all stuck in a jam. So I don't think preventing cyclists in the cbd is the answer to preventing jams as the cars are doing good enough job causing them by themselves.

You should look at what London/New York/ most European Cities/Melbourne/Sydney are doing in their cbd's, and that is putting in bike lanes to help move people from A to B as cycling is more efficient for commuting and space.

In fact i have been to major aussie cities and some cities in europe like paris or amsterdam, i notice one thing in their cbd which our cbd dun have which is a wide lane and of course some of these cities are cyclist friendly and have their own lane for cyclist. Unlike in sg

That is a good idea. 3 Lanes road, 1 for bus, 1 for bike, 1 for cars. Many will give up driving in CBD.

1 whole car-width lane for bikes is way too much. It only needs to be 4 ft wide at the max.

There is always a debate of whether up or down. But I see, it sustain at high level. With so many rich ppl , new well-off citizens and rich foreigners for the next 10 - 20 years, you think it will drop? I doubt so. Unless something similar to the 2008 crises hit. The COE historical trend have change, since we find more rich ppl here. Some of our MCFers, can even pay full in cash to buy a conti car. [cool]

As I said many times.... data from Income tax strata and loan quantums from IRAS and MAS says we are not very well off... 7k/mth puts in in the top 10% of 20-50yo working band. loan quantums averaging at 90k...

Latest income trace... locals income going down consecutively for 6years.... for all 10 major job categories... How not too? when the gahrment import FT by the truck loads...

And yet... COE increases... Are we not over-extending ourselves... answers pretty clear to me....

1 whole car-width lane for bikes is way too much. It only needs to be 4 ft wide at the max.

Do u know how gov here work? If u want a bike lane, be prepared to pay.. no free lunch hor.. how about a coe for cyclist sound to u if they build cyclist lane at cbd?... [:p]

Read in today ST.

Mr Lui said that they will release more COE next year. [:)]

Couldn't find any report in CNA. If thats the case, good news indeed. [smash]

Will COE drop then?

will lah...

drop $1 also consider drop mah...

jokes aside...

many 2nd hand car traders also said the same thing a couple of years back...

As I said many times.... data from Income tax strata and loan quantums from IRAS and MAS says we are not very well off... 7k/mth puts in in the top 10% of 20-50yo working band. loan quantums averaging at 90k...

Latest income trace... locals income going down consecutively for 6years.... for all 10 major job categories... How not too? when the gahrment import FT by the truck loads...

And yet... COE increases... Are we not over-extending ourselves... answers pretty clear to me....

Based on your points, I guessed the FTs could have been taking up more COEs than us. -_-

Do u know how gov here work? If u want a bike lane, be prepared to pay.. no free lunch hor.. how about a coe for cyclist sound to u if they build cyclist lane at cbd?... [:p]

I think if really want a bike lane, will go beyond COE and will have to pay road tax (recurring charge to build and maintain road network) and maybe ERP (if too many bikes until "traffic jam").