More COE Next Year (2014) .....

Maxus-MIFA9

I have no complaints about SG roads traffic conditions after I have been travelling to other SEA cities every week.. in fact I wanna give them a thump up!

No jams.. mmm in this region, maybe new Zealand no jam?

U see. I always travel during off-peak n dun add at all to the congestion on our roads.

Now why sud I pay so much for my COE cos I am not contributing to our traffic jams? [confused]

COE is not doing what it sud b doing by helping to control traffic jams. [furious]

So even those who dun add to the jams now have to pay $70K-$80K for their COEs which dun make sense. Then as in the ERP too. Only those who contribute to the jams sud b made to pay more n not those who drive during only off-park times n dun contribute to the problem.

There is something very wrong with our car control methods n system. [furious]

Edited by Pisces69

could be due to widening of roads such as PIE, CTE, etc

School holidays n exams wil also affect the amt of cars on the roads. Even trains n buses r affected.

Last night I came back from JB abt 9pm n the traffic at both ends of the cway was light n smooth.

So seems last night there was a football match on TV n so if gharmen wan to reduce the jams, just have more free football matches shown at peak times on TV n we wil instantly see a drop in traffic n no more jams. [thumbsup]

It's true, we need more suckers like this to donate more money to Govt, so GST will remain at 7%.

YES. So now I wil stop complaining n keep asking gharmen to reduce the price of COEs.

I just leave it n let those suckers continue to pay high like $100K COEs till the gharmen calculate ty hv make enough from the COEs n decide to manipulate n reduce the price.

Just like now when elections r coming the price of many things wil come down.

We sud actually thank those suckers who dun mind paying high prices for their COEs.

In order to estimate how many people renewed their COE/ deregistered their car, we have to look at two reports: We have to look at how many 9-10 years car remained, not registered 10 years ago,

a) Vehicle Population/ Cars/ By Age Distribution (yearly)

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/MVP01-3-1_Cars_by_age.pdf

b) Vehicle Population/ By Age Distribution/ Vehicle Statistics (monthly)

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/M01-03M-Age.pdf

31 March 2014 (9 - < 10) 34,290 => avg 2867 cars per month for next 12 months

28 Feb 2014 (9 - < 10) 29,716 => avg 2476 cars per month for next 12 months

31 Jan 2012 (9 - < 10) 27,446 => avg 2287 cars per month for next 12 months

31 Dec 2013(9 -< 10) 23,029 => avg 1919 cars per month for next 12 months

Therefore the total number excepted to be deregistered should be around 23,0000 for year 2014,

Note: the number above is for CAR in Singapore, include CAT A, B and E.

Good info, based on the statistics, if there a way to tell how many Cat A and Cat B COE will be recycled into the system in the next few years? Edited by Voodooman

LOL

All roads are jam-free also if you drive at 3am.

Have you seen the crowd at the platforms even as early as 630am in woodlands etc?

Then do like me. Only drive after 10.30-11am.in the morning or avoid driving from 4.30-9.30pm.

But not fair cos I dun contribute to the jams but I still have to get a $70K COE to drive only during off-peak times.

Gharmen sud just make those who contribute to the jams to pay the full cost n dun penalise those who dun contribute to any jams.

Even if I drive during peak-hours I usually on the opposite side of the roads n I have smooth flowing traffic but I look at the other side of the roads n Eway n see all jammed n slow like not moving even. But still I have to fight with them n bid for the same type of COE. [furious][bigcry]

I notice some slip roads especially those with climbing ramp going into expressways start with 2 lanes and then narrow down to one. This is where the bottle neck is which chokes up the traffic behind particularly when traffic is busy. This is man-made bottle neck could have been avoided if the slip roads are designed properly.

Our gharmen has sent our schlors to high end university just so they can learn the art of creating jams to slow down traffic so that is their excuse to raise ERP n reduce the number of COEs.

If all the roads smooth flowing ALL the time, where got pple believe we have too many cars n then everybody start shouting for reduction in ERP , R Tax n COE prices.

Then how is the gharmen going to convince the pple we have too many cars when everyday n all times got no jams. [blush]

According to http://app.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2014/20140411_Annex_A_Monthly_COE_Quota_May_to_Jul_14.pdf

3445 CAT A vehicles were deregistered from the period of Jan to Mar 2014.

Looking back at the COE data in Jan to Mar 2004

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/COE_Result_2000_2004.pdf

A total of 11400+ CAT A COEs were released during that period.

There's a difference of 7k+

So many people renewed their COE?

2014 was just after elections , right?

But funny thing is based on 50% parf on the very last day, rightfully, I should get back 5.4+. (omv 10.8+)

However, the site indicates I would get back 5.9+. Was Cat E's ARF back then in early 06 at 130% or something which may explain why?

My main worry is whether is there a clause whereby if the car was originally bought with CAT E, should owner decide to PQP, it would have to be CAT E too.

U prefer PQP- Cat E ah? Wud b much higher.

U pay PQP - Cat A much cheaper. [laugh]

I also looking at renew my Optra early 2006 COE for 10 years in early 2016. Afterall my scrap value only abt $8K so its quite worth to lose this if the COE is much lower by then.

I might even b able to keep my Optra till 30 years if only the PQP for COE prices r low enough.

2nd renewal of PQP even better cos this time I dun lose any scrap value anymore. [thumbsup]

Agree .... not many cars make it to 10 years. When I traded in my Y2005 Civic in Y2008, the car was scrapped.

Many Y2004/2005 cars that were "traded in" were scrapped during Y2008/Y2009. No one buys 2nd hand car during that period as new cars were so cheap then. Sell low buy low .... which I prefer it to "Sell high Buy higher".

Cars in SG dun last cos most r maintained by half-past six n incompentent n lousy mechanics. Thats why our cars only 4-5 years alrdy got so many problems n pple prefer to sell off or scrap.

If the cars were well maintained n looked after, lasting 20-30 years even is possible. Except China cars hor.

Errr... Bro, a she lar...

Oh ya I forgot. The one who like to sit Sedan chair carried by six muscular handsome men ah. [laugh]

Thats why she not bothered by trains crowded cos she has her own special form of transport. 6 man power n with ultra soft suspension to smoothen out all the bumps along the way. Hahahaha.

Arrival%2Bof%2Bthe%2BQueen%2Bof%2BSheba%

steam....

I tot was more Cleopratra b not Queen of Sheba? [grin]

Edited by Pisces69

U prefer PQP- Cat E ah? Wud b much higher.

U pay PQP - Cat A much cheaper. [laugh]

no lah, i was worried that I would be forced to pqp under CAT E since the 1st COE was a CAT E.

Maybe LTY n RL were called into the big office n given something to chew on.

Now look. U r the TPT minister. I dun care a fark how u do it but u hv to do it.

Elections r coming n I want prices of as many things as possible incl COE, Housing, Etc, Etc to drop a lot.

If we lose more % of votes, I wil hold u personally responsible. U got it. :angry:

If u think u cant do it cos I pay u million dollar salary to solve these problems n not to just take afternoon naps in yr spacious n comfortable office hor. [sly]

Wah, you bugged their conversations in office!!!

U see. I always travel during off-peak n dun add at all to the congestion on our roads.

Now why sud I pay so much for my COE cos I am not contributing to our traffic jams? [confused]

COE is not doing what it sud b doing by helping to control traffic jams. [furious]

So even those who dun add to the jams now have to pay $70K-$80K for their COEs which dun make sense. Then as in the ERP too. Only those who contribute to the jams sud b made to pay more n not those who drive during only off-park times n dun contribute to the problem.

There is something very wrong with our car control methods n system. [furious]

Thats why there's this proposal to do away with COE but increase ERP rates ie charge the drivers based on how much they use the roads where/when they roads are contested, not when they buy the car, or not when/where they don't contribute to congestions. Edited by Super7

Pass by a scrapyard yesterday in the North and saw 3 sunnys scraped. Isn't it obvious what needs to be done. My friend manage to get $600 for his SDK plate Sunny in 2011. Try calling the scrap dealers for quotes. My BMW E60 now 9.5yrs old, mileage only 110K and in tip top condition, but what to do? Will have to scrap/export it when the COE runs out. Export to Malaysia? Don't think it's possible, the only time I heard from friend's friend, not sure how is it possible, manage to export a 10yrs old "Honda Integra Tyre R" which I guess is a "wanted" product there.

post-12200-0-42934300-1398448066_thumb.jpg

post-12200-0-54642400-1398448188_thumb.jpg

my Sunny SFJ69XX in good condition is coming to 10yrs by 31-05-2014 any good adv from forumer please...

opt. 1) is it worth to export to KL? my Singaporean friend could drive a Malaysian reg.car on Singapore roads for 28 days by paying entry fee per day SAT/SUN free when he got himself a condo in KL and LTA can accept this?

opt. 2) is it worth to convert for 5yrs red plate- weedend cars? how to go about it?

opt. 3) which are the scrape yard could fetch better price in case it has to be scraped?

opt. 4) with the Passenger VAN coe dropped 33% yesterday 24-04-2014, any recommendation on these around $25k budget?

Edited by Amazon777

For those whose cars due for scrap these few months is better off getting another 8 to 9 yrs old car to tie over if one needs a car for work and unable to move to public transport.

Edited by Amazon777

i feel that better city planning and encourage company to have stagnate working hours could help to reduce the jam in city or highway too. there are many ways to do it without involving $$$ if the govt really want to help reducing road congestion.

all govt offices start work at 10am and end at 730pm...something like this could make a different.

i feel that better city planning and encourage company to have stagnate working hours could help to reduce the jam in city or highway too. there are many ways to do it without involving $$$ if the govt really want to help reducing road congestion.

all govt offices start work at 10am and end at 730pm...something like this could make a different.

The garmen is helping already, by having diff pricings in the ERP rates :D

Their primary solution to road congestion: increase in ERP ! Hurts our pockets where it matters most even though we already paid road tax, etc...

no lah, i was worried that I would be forced to pqp under CAT E since the 1st COE was a CAT E.

Im sure if u go to LTA n ty can oblige u n calculate the PQP for Cat E. Hahaha.

U pay more ty sure say....... can can. [nod]

U mean yr small car (1 lit car) ty register under cat E?

Usually Cat E is used for big >2 lit cars from Cat B.

Wah, you bugged their conversations in office!!!

I was the cleaner there. I went in n started to wipe table n clean dust n waste basket. Ty never notice me even. [sly]

I slowly do n listen to what ty toking :ph34r: . Hee Hee.

Thats why there's this proposal to do away with COE but increase ERP rates ie charge the drivers based on how much they use the roads where/when they roads are contested, not when they buy the car, or not when/where they don't contribute to congestions.

[nod][thumbsup][nod][thumbsup]

I sarpok.

U actually think u make any suggestion where gharmen wil collect less $$$ u think ty wil listen?

Ah now if u can make a suggestion where ty can collect more revenue, u wil get a visit from their rep ask u go down for interview (drink tea session) n maybe next election u wil be running in a GRC.