First timer, just got keys to hdb apt

Kurty

bro lala, you really seem very savvy in this..

may i ask, for HDB regulation - wet work portion.

what is the defination of wet work?

are they referring to the cement work, shower kerbs?

yes.. including tiling, waterproofing.. all under "wet work"..

Edited by Rainbowbiatch

bro lala, you really seem very savvy in this..

may i ask, for HDB regulation - wet work portion.

what is the defination of wet work?

are they referring to the cement work, shower kerbs?

I'm not lah. But i'm renovating my BTO currently also.

Wetworks is more to tell contractor what u want to do

- so hacking, retiling, waterproof, putting shower kerbs + cement base are all "wetworks"

HDB regulation i believe only ask regarding wall hacking and any changes to beam structures plus any significant changes to floor especially kitchen or toilet etc. So your wall changes that one need to submit permit to HDB. other stuff they don't really care.

But all this done for me by my ID.

Ok guys..

I’m new to this, virgin..

I just got my house keys last Friday.. it’s a premium flat at punggol MRT area..

Was nice until the contractor came in and gave me the pricing..

$15k for simple works..

Basically, I want to tear down a HDB wall and re-erect a new one at further away.

(this, already cost me $1.5k-2k). the re-erect portion can be bricks or just partition.. as we got no plans for it.

Then I intend to raise the flooring of kitchen for cabinet, washing machine, 2 x toilets..

Carpentry is really a major cost contributor..

My kitchen is 3.48m long and only have space for floor type..

I didn’t intend to engage any ID, I wish to be my own main con..

I also exploring the possibility of getting carpentry works in Malaysia.

Hence is there any tips for me..

Really suggest you go with Contractor unless you know how to do everything overall yourself. The most expensive purchase is the cheapest that doesn't work. In trying to save some money you may end up spending alot more.

Contractors usually have economies of scale which you do not have. Just the tearing down and erection of a new wall and raising of flooring are already major works.

Especially if things are done in the toilets and kitchen, the water proofing needs to be looked into. Not done properly you have tiles popping and stuff. Also, HDB floors have "warranty" for the kitchen and toilet areas if you leave it as is. If you modify you open yourself up to more issues.

Get an experienced contractor who will look after your interest and earn a reasonable amount. Don't be penny wise and pound foolish.

Coming in here to ask for tips probably shows you not very sure....

yeah, i agreed that i'm not very sound on this, no doubt my objective is to save money but somethings cannot be avoided.

due to the structure and reason, i really have to hack the wall.

plus shower kerbs, cement based.

these, will be done by Singapore companies.. as i'm a law abiding citizen [grin]

getting married and having a home, is really no joke...

Edited by Kurty

yeah, i agreed that i'm not very sound on this, no doubt my objective is to save money but somethings cannot be avoided.

these, will be done by Singapore companies.. as i'm a law abiding citizen [grin]

you can check with the contractor, raising floor base on the existing tile (no hacking of floor tile) and the shower kerbs should be quite ok, not much wet work there.

as with anything, you need black and white to avoid any disputes.

for ID and reno, the drawings is very very important. You cannot be there during the full duration, so worst case would be after the thing is done/erected and it is not what you wanted, then it becomes your words against his. Even if you 'win' the arguement, the contractor buay song.. something somewhere else will be compromised for sure.

Having a good ID guy might be good due to his experience and he might have better ways to achieve certain things and foresee problems before it happens. And most importantly, if there are drawings and anything is to go wrong, you have someone to blame. I rather let the ID guy be the project manager but do communicate properly what exactly you want for your house. There is zero tolerance for any error as it will be such a nightmare (heard so many horror stories).

But of cos... you must be well versed in drawings reading to protect yourself.

I have my house keys last year july. Furniture and some renovation set me back easily 30-40k and cant see much stuff...

bro u roll pineapple liao buey?

yeah, the price is exorbitant..

actually the cost is low, just that through exchange of hands, it become expensive..

nope, did not roll pineapple.. got scolding from my guru..

basically, he tell me not to be too superstitious

so what i did was simple:

3 loud knocks on door.

slowly open as those 'things' may dash out

usually open in daylight.

then air the house with main door open, i didn't step in yet..

5mins of smoking break..

first thing is to open all windows.

then i just sprinkle some holy water..

important dates for me is the day of starting 'work'

then day to move in or house my altar.

Er, since when is there a rule that if want to tear down wall, reno will be quite ex? IMO, hacking is the most unskilled part of it, it is destruction leh, not construction. You have seen them do it? Just get a sledgehammer + brute force. The guy assigned to do it probably no need as skilled as the ones doing the actual reno.

Since the quote from contractors. Usually if you tell them that you want to hack down any wall or take out any existing floor titles etc, they will charge you more, maybe for the labour fee?! So add on to the whole reno fees and overall amount paid might be higher?!

Bro, suggest those structural works, get a local contractor to do for you. Well, you can get a contactor from Msia, but make sure he knows HDB rules well. But it's still a risk because anything goes wrong, it's gonna be a hassle to find him back.

Save money however, on the fittings and furnitures. These you can buy from Msia/taobao if you want.

If your earlier 15k is for the structural work from a local contractor, I think that reasonable la for a peace of mind.

*ahem* My old resale 2-room flat not even full reno I already paid more than 10k....

Either you got carrot or you have done many things?

yeah, the price is exorbitant..

actually the cost is low, just that through exchange of hands, it become expensive..

nope, did not roll pineapple.. got scolding from my guru..

basically, he tell me not to be too superstitious

so what i did was simple:

3 loud knocks on door.

slowly open as those 'things' may dash out

usually open in daylight.

then air the house with main door open, i didn't step in yet..

5mins of smoking break..

first thing is to open all windows.

then i just sprinkle some holy water..

important dates for me is the day of starting 'work'

then day to move in or house my altar.

For me is i open metal door n knock loudly on wooden door dan roll in pineapple and huat huat with wifey. dan we take rice n salt and throw around the house and set charcoal in middle of house....

taught by some old auntie and we just follow lor haahaa..

For me is i open metal door n knock loudly on wooden door dan roll in pineapple and huat huat with wifey. dan we take rice n salt and throw around the house and set charcoal in middle of house....

taught by some old auntie and we just follow lor haahaa..

haha, so cute.. charcoal for what??

eat steamboat? [grin]

well, the feeling is important as adviced by my guru..

the moment that you go into the house, what do you feel.

happy, excited, moody etc??

for us, was ok. happy and excited

after in law and neighbors visited, they like the unit as its windy and no obstruction..

of course, my hacking and re erecting of walls are mainly for feng shui reason.

haha, so cute.. charcoal for what??

eat steamboat? [grin]

well, the feeling is important as adviced by my guru..

the moment that you go into the house, what do you feel.

happy, excited, moody etc??

for us, was ok. happy and excited

after in law and neighbors visited, they like the unit as its windy and no obstruction..

of course, my hacking and re erecting of walls are mainly for feng shui reason.

Charcoal cause my lao bu say is for wang ma. so the bigger the fire the better. My unit when i visited was very bright n windy.... Go inside very happy n gan cheong feeling to finally have a house lor haahaa

Bro, suggest those structural works, get a local contractor to do for you. Well, you can get a contactor from Msia, but make sure he knows HDB rules well. But it's still a risk because anything goes wrong, it's gonna be a hassle to find him back.

Save money however, on the fittings and furnitures. These you can buy from Msia/taobao if you want.

If your earlier 15k is for the structural work from a local contractor, I think that reasonable la for a peace of mind.

yeah, you are right. thanks for your kind advice.

i already send to a few contractors while on the other hand, thanks to contacts, i manage to find direct supplier who did the hacking and cement flooring

Charcoal cause my lao bu say is for wang ma. so the bigger the fire the better. My unit when i visited was very bright n windy.... Go inside very happy n gan cheong feeling to finally have a house lor haahaa

thats good to hear, feel happy for you too.

after hearing the quoted pricing, you still smiling away?

for me, whole heart sunken...

plus i finally know IKEA price is not cheap! don't know whose fault is that.. my master bed room only allow wardrobe till 180cm.. while all ikea is at least 200cm..

well, i got cheaper source..

i already send to a few contractors while on the other hand, thanks to contacts, i manage to find direct supplier who did the hacking and cement flooring

Great, good luck.

Once all done, take photos and show us your new lovely home... [thumbsup]

thats good to hear, feel happy for you too.

after hearing the quoted pricing, you still smiling away?

for me, whole heart sunken...

plus i finally know IKEA price is not cheap! don't know whose fault is that.. my master bed room only allow wardrobe till 180cm.. while all ikea is at least 200cm..

well, i got cheaper source..

Ikea is not very cheap. When i hear all the furniture prices and reno my heart sunk.

But me n wifey do furniture hunting all over Sungei gedut and even went jb to purchase some of our furnitures.

Great, good luck.

Once all done, take photos and show us your new lovely home... [thumbsup]

haha, thanks.. hopefully lah..

days back, i was still 'boasting' that my objective is to keep everything (furniture) below SGD10k

and here i am.. ranting away.. [sweatdrop]

self slapped [grin]

Ikea is not very cheap. When i hear all the furniture prices and reno my heart sunk.

But me n wifey do furniture hunting all over Sungei gedut and even went jb to purchase some of our furnitures.

yeah, you should. jb really got good quality to offer if you know how.

so have you finish your house reno?

if not, we can do together. with economic of scale, we can both save.

i'm going jb this friday to hunt for carpentry work.