First timer, just got keys to hdb apt

Kurty

yes, i agree to that due to our high levy..

yesterday night, we randomly go and window shop furnitures/wardrobe and realize that nowadays, the model kit and chart, are exactly what we saw in johor..

basically, they are getting from johor, half the price..

based on my requirement, i was quoted around 8k+ but inside this, lots of hidden cost.

permits, tiles.. come on, i know this..

under HDB, there's only 2-3 main distributors.. plus the tiles are the lowest grade and homogenous.. this is something that i felt, local contractors are trying to rip off consumers.

for the base and toilet kerb, they need not to get the same tiles, after all. No hacking or tear down.

basically, they just build over the existing..

only the edge are tiles while the top is cement..

ya loh.. mine is 14 floor..

what to do, everything in..

plus sanity wares also just average or low grade..

the good part is that my neighbor shared with me that the valuation of the flat is at 510k, something pleasing to hear

I am wondering, if you were to place your new toilet tiles over existing one from HDB, does it void the warranty?

nope, it does not.

under HDB ruling, for the first 5 years, no removal of existing tiles.

furthermore, i'm not removing them.

some homes, lay another layer of tiles over them, something like hotel toilet.

as for me, everything remain since we paid for, use it for 5 years then change.

as of now, its only building of shower kerbs which is not mentioned in any HDB ruling.

Not easy to fully renovate and have full furnitures.... Wallet very pain. My wallet pain 1 year now still haven recover yet.

Now planning for next stage in life liao with daughter arriving in January

more pain coming. Wallet like got big invisible hole; cannot seem to heal. [smallcry]

Where did you get the infor most home gates were removed?

You can't remove if the gate is closed. HDB has also clarified this.

No, I do not have the info to substantiate my point because news reports do not provide details on the mode of operation used in such crimes. I relied on my own observations (my block alone has 2 homes broken into during that period) and that of my friends' staying in the estate. So, no official statement to back up my post.

Please ignore/junk my post as you deem fit.

http://www.spf.gov.sg/mic/2011/110408_hbt_newunits.htm

No, I do not have the info to substantiate my point because news reports do not provide details on the mode of operation used in such crimes. I relied on my own observations (my block alone has 2 homes broken into during that period) and that of my friends' staying in the estate. So, no official statement to back up my post.

Most of the cases are through removing the padlock or breaking the main lock - rather than removing the gate.

Ok guys..

Im new to this, virgin..

I just got my house keys last Friday.. its a premium flat at punggol MRT area..

Was nice until the contractor came in and gave me the pricing..

$15k for simple works..

Basically, I want to tear down a HDB wall and re-erect a new one at further away.

(this, already cost me $1.5k-2k). the re-erect portion can be bricks or just partition.. as we got no plans for it.

Then I intend to raise the flooring of kitchen for cabinet, washing machine, 2 x toilets..

Carpentry is really a major cost contributor..

My kitchen is 3.48m long and only have space for floor type..

I didnt intend to engage any ID, I wish to be my own main con..

I also exploring the possibility of getting carpentry works in Malaysia.

Hence is there any tips for me..

One very important tip. Kitchen.

As your family grows, your fridge will also grow. You will see fridges range from 600mm to 900mm base.

So if possible don't design so that your fridge fits in a hole swee swee one. Cos you will not be able to get a bigger fridge next time. Place it so that there is room to expand.

Get as many power sockets around at your kitchen top as possible. Imagine you have all sorts or appliance on it in future when baby comes.

As your family grows, your fridge will also grow. You will see fridges range from 600mm to 900mm base.

So if possible don't design so that your fridge fits in a hole swee swee one. Cos you will not be able to get a bigger fridge next time. Place it so that there is room to expand.

Get as many power sockets around at your kitchen top as possible. Imagine you have all sorts or appliance on it in future when baby comes.

yeah, as mine is a premium.. so most of the things are plug and play type.

my existing base for fridge is already at 940mm, so allow the maximum fridge in the market..

power socket also inclusive.. all done up..by hdb

The article you posted is mainly combination padlocks which is easy to open. This is common for flats under renovation

"The culprit would usually target units that were secured by combination padlocks,"

Concur, if possible, just buy the bigger fridge to begin with. You may think you don't need much space since only couple living together. But, even then you will soon realise it's not big enough even before your babies arrive. Lol....

Also, buy one with enough depth so that you can put those birthday cakes in oversized boxes.

Edited by Kangadrool

nope, it does not.

under HDB ruling, for the first 5 years, no removal of existing tiles.

furthermore, i'm not removing them.

some homes, lay another layer of tiles over them, something like hotel toilet.

as for me, everything remain since we paid for, use it for 5 years then change.

as of now, its only building of shower kerbs which is not mentioned in any HDB ruling.

Didnt know that, you mean even tiles in the toilet also cannot remove?

yup, thanks to our HDB ruling.

anyway i did all the necessary checks with them before i proceed.

high chances that their definition of wet works will be spelled out in greater details, as of now, it's still grey.

a big possibilities that for future wet works starting from 2014, may required permit.

as of now, it just gossip and speculation.

yup, thanks to our HDB ruling.

anyway i did all the necessary checks with them before i proceed.

high chances that their definition of wet works will be spelled out in greater details, as of now, it's still grey.

a big possibilities that for future wet works starting from 2014, may required permit.

as of now, it just gossip and speculation.

Toilet tiles also cannot remove like a bit wht le? Cause sometimes the toilet tiles hdb provide no good.

well, they scare if improper handling or unskilled workers redoing the tiles, might affects the home underneath..

i know.. their tiles.. cannot make it..

alot of their things, cannot make it too

Where did you get the infor most home gates were removed?

You can't remove if the gate is closed. HDB has also clarified this.

It is possible. The gates are linked to the door frame using 3 bolts on each side. The thief just need a big hammer and some strength to wack the bolt and it will drop out. Once all the bolts are out, the gate can be carried to one side easily.

Anyway the gates are flushed against the frame when closed so no idea how anybody is going to lift it away in the closed position.

The gate hinges still appear outside the frame, becos the gate is open outwards. It is this hinge that the thief can hack out, then remove the whole gate out!

my existing base for fridge is already at 940mm, so allow the maximum fridge in the market..

No need to built base for fridge lah. A fridge has its own tall legs to stand on, no need not have another base for it.

Then when you upgrade to a bigger fridge later, there will be no worries at all.