Lala81 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Honestly, most carpenters and tilers of any worth is likely working in singapore daily and commuting back every evening. All the experienced carpenters and tilers are from JB one lor. Of course there are PRC and some experienced banglas also but 80-90% are malaysian. So why not look for them in SG?? Go JB look for what lol. But your wetworks are simple lah. Just get a good carpenter can liao. Go renotalk and look for carpenter lor. Pretty simple reasoning for JB craftsman right. Earn SGD rather than earn RM that is 2.57x less... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Either you got carrot or you have done many things? Some major things, many little things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patrickyan Clutched October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 haha, thanks.. hopefully lah.. days back, i was still 'boasting' that my objective is to keep everything (furniture) below SGD10k and here i am.. ranting away.. self slapped yeah, you should. jb really got good quality to offer if you know how. so have you finish your house reno? if not, we can do together. with economic of scale, we can both save. i'm going jb this friday to hunt for carpentry work. mine done up last year le haahaa..... i bought my kdk fans from malaysia. the savings compared to what if i buy in sg i save up 40% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 mine done up last year le haahaa..... i bought my kdk fans from malaysia. the savings compared to what if i buy in sg i save up 40% i see, so i'm left alone in this vicious cycle. ok lah, after hearing you guys, i roughly know what to expect and going about. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Some major things, many little things. Lol, major things enough to charge high high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Since the quote from contractors. Usually if you tell them that you want to hack down any wall or take out any existing floor titles etc, they will charge you more, maybe for the labour fee?! So add on to the whole reno fees and overall amount paid might be higher?! I can tell you that contractors will just find items to put up parts of their profit and will especially put into those items they think you won't take out from their quote. I have seen quotes for hacking of 1 wall, the same wall, and it is not a very big wall, vary by more than 2k, what do you think? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kho 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 here's some of my research for contractor list.. Meanwhile, wet work i think refers to tiling works.. Contractors List.docx 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gingerdip 1st Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 my experience trying to go cheap. 1st house back in 2006, went for a ID, but everything very specific and simple carpentry in kitchen with BLUM 3 toilets redo, new bowls and sink, tiles, shower accessories no hacking. Carpentry to create fake wall hiding a room door. This fake wall later covered in wall paper, paid seperately at Good rich. carpentry on master wardrobe. also false ceiling All furniture sourced by me. Bed - shopped at ID store and notice his supplier/manufactuer number and company, so I called direct and good a discount with delivery. He was based in sungei kadut. U may want to drive around there to check out, many small / med / big furniture manufacturer. Sofa/table/lights I buy retail, and 1st hand. overall, very happy with the quality and the finishes. reno cost 12345, furniture / accesories add another few k, less than 5k 2nd home 2008, not much reno to begin with as house was new, abeit old. redo wardrobe, extend and enlarge. fix fase ceiling border only, not the whole ceiling. all furniture new. Bought display set at OM bed, same manufacturer as last one. Think its called www.cityfurniture.com.sg note they manufacture some of the beds you see at Taka mattress showroom, so you can go down to see and tell them what you want. I custom a design with storage under my bed. only $700+king size 2 toilets carpentry, basic under vanity change. This is when I regret choosing a contractor, not a ID to do this round. This lousy contractor is only good for carpentry, he tried to co ordinate the rest, painting / toilets / water proofing. All other jobs besides carpentry was lousy. Painting sux and I had to complain he redo them over 4 to 5 x, patchy and he did not smoothen out kinks before painting. Water works was terrible, 2nd main toilet, water proofing is find but gradient of shower flr if flat so water does not drain out properly. I redo this with another contractor, still sae case. I can only blame myself. Should have used an ID. few yrs later since moved in, so never fixed these stuff.. i kinda regret cos face these issues everyday, and dun wan to go thru the mah fun of redo reno. Sux. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Lol, major things enough to charge high high. I think fair and reasonable lah, I also fussy want this want that. I have no complaints on the reno cost, everything was done properly and on time, all extra items I wanted to do halfway were accounted for properly. In the end I happy with the outcome can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gingerdip 1st Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 here's some of my research for contractor list.. Meanwhile, wet work i think refers to tiling works.. which one for tiling works? to redo water proofing and tilling of toilet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 here's some of my research for contractor list.. Meanwhile, wet work i think refers to tiling works.. why can't i view your attachment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 I think fair and reasonable lah, I also fussy want this want that. I have no complaints on the reno cost, everything was done properly and on time, all extra items I wanted to do halfway were accounted for properly. In the end I happy with the outcome can liao. Lol, agreed. Other than the price paid, most importantly must happy on the reno done and everything is being done properly. Sometimes money also not everything. If pay liao and problem everywhere also no use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hmmm........ first time getting a flat. congra.... Old folks tales: "before doing the first hacking, mix some rice and salt inside plastic bag, go into the house and throw them into every 4 corners of the rooms, toilets, storeroom and kitchen. leave the house by closing the main door and go for breakfast. come back later about half an hour, use 'Sey Liew' leaves with water and sprinkle at all rooms to clance the house".... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 (edited) why can't i view your attachment? cos it was a latest MS office version, you are still using the old version i also cannot open Edited October 29, 2013 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 hmmm........ first time getting a flat. congra.... Old folks tales: "before doing the first hacking, mix some rice and salt inside plastic bag, go into the house and throw them into every 4 corners of the rooms, toilets, storeroom and kitchen. leave the house by closing the main door and go for breakfast. come back later about half an hour, use 'Sey Liew' leaves with water and sprinkle at all rooms to clance the house".... thanks thanks, too bad.. i didn't do the above.. strictly follow what my guru says... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 When we buy we hire contractor only - not much to do, just some tiles, install lights, install sink and that's all. We do aircon from separate contractor Buy all furniture from as is corner at Ikea, so all very cheap. No hacking at all BIGGEST THING - if doing hacking it MUST be done by a licensed contractor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jumpmanz 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hmmm........ first time getting a flat. congra.... Old folks tales: "before doing the first hacking, mix some rice and salt inside plastic bag, go into the house and throw them into every 4 corners of the rooms, toilets, storeroom and kitchen. leave the house by closing the main door and go for breakfast. come back later about half an hour, use 'Sey Liew' leaves with water and sprinkle at all rooms to clance the house".... whats the meaning for this? only know the one for pineapple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 cos it was a latest MS office version, you are still using the old version i also cannot open no wonder lah.. at workplace.. what to do, local chinese company... i dont know if it's an occupation diseases.. i'm so into cost, everything must make sure that lowest quote, best quality, longer payment terms, freebies.. but on the other hand, it also a shame.. i could not find the oem yet.. still talking and getting quotes from trading house.. its the oem that i wanna find.. now then i realized, why my friends some time wanna beat me up.. When we buy we hire contractor only - not much to do, just some tiles, install lights, install sink and that's all. We do aircon from separate contractor Buy all furniture from as is corner at Ikea, so all very cheap. No hacking at all BIGGEST THING - if doing hacking it MUST be done by a licensed contractor. yeah, initially wanted ikea but their dimension just don't fit into our space.. plus things are not cheap, we only getting a few items from there.. that one will be probably phase 2 or 3.. as of now, it's still phase 1 for me. my floor plan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...