Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 whats the meaning for this? only know the one for pineapple Any unoccupied buildings for a period of times will invite 'un-invited' guess. They will occupy empty space. The things I mentioned is to feed them with rice & salt first and later inform them that you are going to stay this house and thereby after feeding them, sprinkle the water with 'sey lew' leaves aka 'ang huay heok' starting from rooms and then to the main gate. Thereafter, ask your contractor to start work. For throwing of pineapple, the word in hokkien is 'onglai or wanglai', luck come but if you don't chase 'them' away, how to expect 'wanglai'... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hmmm........ first time getting a flat. congra.... Old folks tales: "before doing the first hacking, mix some rice and salt inside plastic bag, go into the house and throw them into every 4 corners of the rooms, toilets, storeroom and kitchen. leave the house by closing the main door and go for breakfast. come back later about half an hour, use 'Sey Liew' leaves with water and sprinkle at all rooms to clance the house".... If dont hack wall then no need to do the above things? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 (edited) If dont hack wall then no need to do the above things? still need. This is for starting of renovation work and no need to sweep away. Hacking off a piece of the wall during cetrain timing is for to start reno or 'heng kang' hopping that reno carry on smoothly. Like DBSS house where most of the things had been done, still sprinkle mix rice & salt and later 'sey lew' leave water to clance the house. The only different is later you have to sweep the floor off the rice & salt before shifting in your barang garang. Edited October 29, 2013 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 still need. This is for starting of renovation work and no need to sweep away. Hacking off a piece of the wall during cetrain timing is for to start reno or 'heng kang' hopping that reno carry on smoothly. Like DBSS house where most of the things had been done, still sprinkle mix rice & salt and later 'sey lew' leave water to clance the house. The only different is later you have to sweep the floor off the rice & salt before shifting in your barang garang. yup, my timing is on next monday, from 9-11am. however, alot of people are getting leave as a replacement due to deepavali.. end up, yesterday i go daiso to buy a hammer.. gonna hit my own wall, then gf give me ang bao. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Remember also - every room has to be "tested" and "christened" But keep track of which day is which room - so that later can embarrass kidlet by telling them which room they were "started" in As an aside - our second was started on holiday.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 yup, my timing is on next monday, from 9-11am. however, alot of people are getting leave as a replacement due to deepavali.. end up, yesterday i go daiso to buy a hammer.. gonna hit my own wall, then gf give me ang bao. haha Remember, choose a piece of the wall that you intend to renovate. Like some don't like the pillars at the entrance to be square and would like to renovate it by 'rounded' it. Then you hack a piece of the angle out for 'yi sze yi sze'.... Hack wrong wall or place and later patch back won't work ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 yup, my timing is on next monday, from 9-11am. however, alot of people are getting leave as a replacement due to deepavali.. end up, yesterday i go daiso to buy a hammer.. gonna hit my own wall, then gf give me ang bao. haha Ang bao = "red packet" right? I hope she give you the right kind of "red packet" and not something you dun wanna think about... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 (edited) Ang bao = "red packet" right? I hope she give you the right kind of "red packet" and not something you dun wanna think about... Ohhhhh........... that one is 'packet in red' ... Edited October 29, 2013 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Sometimes just need to pay for an ID as the PM for the reno lar, hard to save on that unless u got the time to spare and experience to know what to watch for. Just try to minimise carpentry that are permanent (eg. wardrobes, tv consoles) and go for off the shelf stuff. Usually are cheaper and can replace in a few years when u get bored of them or wanna redo the layout. For the rest of the small electricals, see what your petrol pts, credit card points etc can redeem. Can at least use for a year or 2 before needing to purchase better replacements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Ang bao = "red packet" right? I hope she give you the right kind of "red packet" and not something you dun wanna think about... Wah ! You damn smart, can phrase it down to ST, what most men taboo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Sometimes just need to pay for an ID as the PM for the reno lar, hard to save on that unless u got the time to spare and experience to know what to watch for. Just try to minimise carpentry that are permanent (eg. wardrobes, tv consoles) and go for off the shelf stuff. Usually are cheaper and can replace in a few years when u get bored of them or wanna redo the layout. For the rest of the small electricals, see what your petrol pts, credit card points etc can redeem. Can at least use for a year or 2 before needing to purchase better replacements. fully agree on minimuse the permanent carpentry, cannot change when you started to hate the design Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 fully agree on minimuse the permanent carpentry, cannot change when you started to hate the design Amazingly, this was advise by the ID 8yrs ago. And she called false ceiling and cornices as "pasting money on the wall/ceiling" and not to waste money on them. Quite a character. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Amazingly, this was advise by the ID 8yrs ago. And she called false ceiling and cornices as "pasting money on the wall/ceiling" and not to waste money on them. Quite a character. some ID advocate simplicity even long time ago, plain 4 corners are the best, hate false ceiling that is home to all insects. Rather work on good concept or theme which can be changeable every 2-3 years, re-arrange furniture (or new furniture) and a new coat of paint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Amazingly, this was advise by the ID 8yrs ago. And she called false ceiling and cornices as "pasting money on the wall/ceiling" and not to waste money on them. Quite a character. Yep - a few ID have told me that false ceiling not a good idea - just collect dust and reduce head clearance. Neighbour do and also regret later. I say - the more inbuilt the better - then at least wifey not bugging you to rearrange furniture every 6 months! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kho 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 why can't i view your attachment? It's a word file. Can't view ma? Gingerdip, not sure for water proofing but basically kitchen cabinet, shower kerb etc with tiles 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 you guys are amazing.. can define red packet aka ang bao to something else.. she knows lah, been with me so long, still don't know. anyway i called up HDB pertaining to my requirement.. only hacking wall required singapore registered contractors... the rest, i can outsource.. told you guys liao, its occupational disease. i was employed to save money, monitor budget, minimize spending etc.. so i still prefer to be my main con in certain aspects, it's challenging yet satisfaction.. of course, it's easier said to be done.. self slap again It's a word file. Can't view ma? Gingerdip, not sure for water proofing but basically kitchen cabinet, shower kerb etc with tiles yeah, because of your newer version of words, mind downgrade to 2003 version? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kho 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 you guys are amazing.. can define red packet aka ang bao to something else.. she knows lah, been with me so long, still don't know. anyway i called up HDB pertaining to my requirement.. only hacking wall required singapore registered contractors... the rest, i can outsource.. told you guys liao, its occupational disease. i was employed to save money, monitor budget, minimize spending etc.. so i still prefer to be my main con in certain aspects, it's challenging yet satisfaction.. of course, it's easier said to be done.. self slap again yeah, because of your newer version of words, mind downgrade to 2003 version? sure! here you go! Contractors List.doc 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 sure! here you go! thanks, you have been helpful ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...