Lala81 Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 noted but no choice, due to fengshui reason and furthermore, it shall also be the back base for my altar oh ok. got incense? i dunno how flammable these partition boards are. But i would rather have something less flammable around an altar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 It is possible. The gates are linked to the door frame using 3 bolts on each side. The thief just need a big hammer and some strength to wack the bolt and it will drop out. Once all the bolts are out, the gate can be carried to one side easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 31, 2013 Author Share October 31, 2013 oh ok. got incense? i dunno how flammable these partition boards are. But i would rather have something less flammable around an altar yeah but nowadays, for partition board, you can choose between gypsum & plaster. Gypsum is commonly use for Office while plaster, the build is better. Both are quite resistant to fire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 The gate hinges still appear outside the frame, becos the gate is open outwards. It is this hinge that the thief can hack out, then remove the whole gate out! seriously. if u need to do this. u might as well go some private estate and climb some walls the same height as the SOC low wall lor. Thief also lazy right ... I only see lot of Police warning housebreaking signs at private estates. Never seen one in HDB estate. Lol. yeah but nowadays, for partition board, you can choose between gypsum & plaster. Gypsum is commonly use for Office while plaster, the build is better. Both are quite resistant to fire. Looks like u are all ready to start your reno soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 31, 2013 Author Share October 31, 2013 (edited) Looks like u are all ready to start your reno soon. haha, yeah. in order not to cost overun and short changing in materials and expectations, i will list all my requirements and reflected in the contractor's quotation, as a part of the agreement. Least, when dispute, i got black and white. now, is to find the right person that i'm comfortable with just went to new home and took measurements. So they got no excuse in don't know how to quote.. plus i also intend to solar film my windows.. DIY our home.doc Edited October 31, 2013 by Kurty 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 haha, yeah. in order not to cost overun and short changing in materials and expectations, i will list all my requirements and reflected in the contractor's quotation, as a part of the agreement. Least, when dispute, i got black and white. now, is to find the right person that i'm comfortable with just went to new home and took measurements. So they got no excuse in don't know how to quote.. plus i also intend to solar film my windows.. DIY sibei pro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 plus i also intend to solar film my windows.. DIY Your house the windows got some funny facing? why want to solar film? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 31, 2013 Author Share October 31, 2013 sibei pro! no lah.. breaking down and identifying cost is important.. part of my everyday job but the challenge, not many are willing as it undercut their profits as it involved in going in depth in their costing.. hence when i mass sent my RFQ out, only a few actually reverted. I guess they probably know i did my homework already Your house the windows got some funny facing? why want to solar film? well, sun.. quite warm.. despite i don't have anything to block me.. solar film prevent heat.. maybe i go reflective and blind those surrounding joking only, it definitely helps in keeping the household chill. I can't take heat.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 (edited) seriously. if u need to do this. u might as well go some private estate and climb some walls the same height as the SOC low wall lor. Thief also lazy right ... I am not a thief myself so I can't comment on your point.... I think theives have many types, and their target also (may be) different. Not all will go for private property, and vice versa. It is good as homeowners to be aware of such tactics, be it we living in HDB or private, in low crime or high crime areas. I only see lot of Police warning housebreaking signs at private estates. Never seen one in HDB estate. Where got don't have? In HDB estate, the anit-crime posters are all pasted in the RC or Town Council's notice board (which is locked). Usually these notice boards are beside the lifts and the block's main lobby. If the Police put a poster at the near the lift door or distribute it door-to-door, then maybe it means recently there's been a increase of crime in the area, and the Police wants to grab the residents attention to it. Edited October 31, 2013 by TVT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 That is what I am thinking too. but how does HDB knows if you overlay or replaced the tiles? Overlaying is OK. HDB won't be bother about it. Replacing is NOT OK because there is some waterproof done below the original tiles. HDB will know you had replaced them when your neighbour below complained water leaking from the toilet above (your toilet). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Overlaying is OK. HDB won't be bother about it. Replacing is NOT OK because there is some waterproof done below the original tiles. HDB will know you had replaced them when your neighbour below complained water leaking from the toilet above (your toilet). Then if you overlay and due to HDB contractor poor workmanship and leak still how!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 My HDB metal gate looks like this. How to remove it to break into the house? There are 6 hinges (using bolt and nuts) protuding out from your gate. Can you see them? 3 on each side. There's one at the same level and beside your door bell button. These hinges operates as a mechanism to allow the gate to swing open or close. To remove the whole gate just wack the nut out, pull out the bolt inside and the gate is disconnected to the door frame. Thereafter you can remove the entire gate out! And after the gate is removed, it is left only the wooden door with a lock! That wooden door, is even more easily to bang open. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 no lah.. breaking down and identifying cost is important.. part of my everyday job but the challenge, not many are willing as it undercut their profits as it involved in going in depth in their costing.. hence when i mass sent my RFQ out, only a few actually reverted. I guess they probably know i did my homework already well, sun.. quite warm.. despite i don't have anything to block me.. solar film prevent heat.. maybe i go reflective and blind those surrounding joking only, it definitely helps in keeping the household chill. I can't take heat.. it also makes the light coming into the house dimmer. So got trade offs. Anyway the air trapped in the house can circulate. It's usually walls that retain heat more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Then if you overlay and due to HDB contractor poor workmanship and leak still how!! When you overlay, you are not removing the tiles. You are just putting another one on-top of the existing one. So if it leaks, it is the original tiles which is poor workmanship that cause the leak, and so not your fault. As long as you DO NOT remove/replace the original tiles, you be alright. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 There are 6 hinges (using bolt and nuts) protuding out from your gate. Can you see them? 3 on each side. There's one at the same level and beside your door bell button. These hinges operates as a mechanism to allow the gate to swing open or close. To remove the whole gate just wack the nut out, pull out the bolt inside and the gate is disconnected to the door frame. Thereafter you can remove the entire gate out! And after the gate is removed, it is left only the wooden door with a lock! That wooden door, is even more easily to bang open. Wouldnt all the knocking cause the neighbors to see? Might as well get a portable gas cutter or angle grinder to just cut away the lock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 31, 2013 Author Share October 31, 2013 it also makes the light coming into the house dimmer. So got trade offs. Anyway the air trapped in the house can circulate. It's usually walls that retain heat more. yeah, so intend to buy those transparent solar film.. walls, no choice.. based on my neighbor, our units are not affected by evening sun 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 There are 6 hinges (using bolt and nuts) protuding out from your gate. Can you see them? 3 on each side. There's one at the same level and beside your door bell button. These hinges operates as a mechanism to allow the gate to swing open or close. To remove the whole gate just wack the nut out, pull out the bolt inside and the gate is disconnected to the door frame. Thereafter you can remove the entire gate out! And after the gate is removed, it is left only the wooden door with a lock! That wooden door, is even more easily to bang open. Ok. then what do u use to protect your house? You got steel frame for your door? Double bolt inside? It's like saying people got wall. i got ladder. wah i win. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 And after the gate is removed, it is left only the wooden door with a lock! That wooden door, is even more easily to bang open. fire rated door so easy to bang open meh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...