First timer, just got keys to hdb apt

Kurty

Yeah, all areas

Yeah but temporarily wallet don't allow this as necessity.

I'm not taking loan or whatsoever. Then Dec, solemnization..

All these, need money

dun worry about aircon, you stay so high up no need aircon [nod]

the number of time i turn on my aircon, less than 100 time in past 15 years, some time never turn on for few months. the last service i want the technician to wash the compressor after 2.5 years, he say what is there to wash? [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Jman888

dun worry about aircon, you stay so high up no need aircon [nod]

But make love time need aircon leh... :ph34r:

Would like to consult,

For wardrobe sliding door, which is better? Wood type or aluminum?

heard that wood type tend to 'curve' after use.

Would like to consult,

For wardrobe sliding door, which is better? Wood type or aluminum?

heard that wood type tend to 'curve' after use.

Aluminum? That makes a lot of noise isn't it?

Wood is more like proper material for furniture. Aluminum, cast iron, and iron related should belong to outdoor furniture.

Even HDB now gives you wooden toilet door and not aluminium door. :D

Saying is easy. When you have baby, you sure need to switch on aircon. Fan no use de 'cos it's too humid in Singapore. Your baby will be having sleep problem and this will disturb you too. Trust me, gone through this. Lucky we installed aircons in all rooms!

Don't forget about global warming. Temperature keeps going up. Unless we see a reversal of temperature, i.e. cold in equator and hot at arctic, aircon is a BASIC necessity.

Not true la. Both of my kids sweat easily. They can sweat while sitting down watching TV with the fan on. But then I never let them have aircon on for sleeping at night. They are still able to sleep throughout the night without much problems.

I also sweat easily but I grew up without aircon in my room also.

At the start they didn't sleep very well. But as they got used to it, then no problem already. Cannot pamper them too much.

Edited by Nzy

15k is a very reasonable budget for a premium new flat to get all those necessary reno done. However, my advice is, if really not needed, dont tear down any wall. You might regret later when your family plan changes or when you want to sell.

Just keep to your original budget n you shd be fine. I have friends spending over budget by as much as 20k after they started adding a few "nice" additional works. Stay disciplined and you will enjoy your new home with lesser stress than your friends' nicer house.

After spending long time and undergo difficult route..

Some findings that I got, first, carpentry cost is really significant..

I even went to the extend of going factory but only find that some of them, are quoting in sgd.

The best deal I got So far;

customize kitchen carpentry 11.5ft long

Wardrobe, 6'

Master toilet cabinet

Cement work x 4.

altar, 4'

all custom made, rm8.5k

Air-con is half the price compare to Singapore but of course, warranty is invalid.

guys, just a question, just collected my shoebox unit and i want to do some reno to make it nice but cheap2. maybe need to tear down the wall of bedroom and change the wall to retractable door. may i know how much will it cost? basically no need change in kitchen, bedroom or toilet. need good lighting and big custom TV wardrobe.

Make nice for what?

Gonna rent out right?

You know that you need confirm structural issues and permits first before knocking down walls right?

Aluminum? That makes a lot of noise isn't it?

Wood is more like proper material for furniture. Aluminum, cast iron, and iron related should belong to outdoor furniture.

Even HDB now gives you wooden toilet door and not aluminium door. :D

i went for normal doors. Even though it takes up more space.

Not true la. Both of my kids sweat easily. They can sweat while sitting down watching TV with the fan on. But then I never let them have aircon on for sleeping at night. They are still able to sleep throughout the night without much problems.

At the start they didn't sleep very well. But as they got used to it, then no problem already. Cannot pamper them too much.

Varies person to person. i can notice the difference between sleeping in AC and not in my child.

And she did go without aircon for almost 8-9mths before i finally installed a window casement AC for my in-laws house after the haze earlier this year.

She sleeps much better. less grumpy in the day.

It depends on circumstances. I remembered when staying at kampung, we didn't even have fans and we survived. Then, we moved to HDB flat, fan was a necessity. Even my parents who were against fans (according to them will get rheumatism) also need fan after moving to HDB flat.

As years go by and moved into own flat after marriage, was thinking hard whether to install aircon or anot. Decided to go ahead since package already included and taking it out won't save much. And, it was the best decision. The wind/airflow in my estate seems to be too erratic.

Was also on the same thinking that we shouldn't spoil our child for my first. So, we and the kid endured for more than half a year on fans. It doesn't help. Consulted doctor and was suggested to on the aircon instead on hot days. Problem solved.

I think aircon is the best invention in this century.

Only those staying next to McRitchie and big water catchment areas can consider don't install aircon.

Edited by Kangadrool

sleeping with fan in the past is not a problem.

nowadays, when the haze comes, u will suffer if u do not have aircon [sweatdrop]

sleeping with fan in the past is not a problem.

nowadays, when the haze comes, u will suffer if u do not have aircon [sweatdrop]

With the haze just turn on the aircon lo. But now no haze just fan is enough already.