Oblong 3rd Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 This project needs preparation and dedication. Discuss with your gf/ wifey, set some broad expectations, source and decide, determine the sequence of work. Off hand, i would think layout, aircon, electricity/ lighting, flooring/wet works, cabinet, painting, furniture. Renovation can be one big money pit, set a budget and stick to it. You can also check www.renotalk.com forum for some ideas or discussed with some like minded posters. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 This project needs preparation and dedication. Discuss with your gf/ wifey, set some broad expectations, source and decide, determine the sequence of work. Off hand, i would think layout, aircon, electricity/ lighting, flooring/wet works, cabinet, painting, furniture. Renovation can be one big money pit, set a budget and stick to it. You can also check www.renotalk.com forum for some ideas or discussed with some like minded posters. you mean something like this? Phase 1, Find contractors to quote for hacking wall, false wall and overall. Phase 2, After obtaining the quotes, item selections and use it as a reference. Phase 3, With reference, go johor and find contractors. (hacking done by Singapore, while others, Malaysia if there’s cost saving) Carpentry (wardrobe & kitchen), furniture, altar, sink with cabinet, toilet screen, racks Phase 4, After determine the final contractor, proceed with purchase of electrical appliances to be in Singapore. Phase 5, Identify purchase. paint ceiling fans system 1 air con washing machine TV Table top TV rack Refrigerator Bed Sofa Kitchen sink and hob Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 As a side note - any particular reason why only a system 1 aircon? Give some thought to a system 3 or 4 inverter style Why? a) Big inverter compressor is no more expensive to run than smaller system 1 b) system 1 can only be used in 1 room (duh!) so if have unexpected guests, want to host a CNY meal or mahjong session or want to use second room as office later are outta luck - whereby if prepare first then can still do this c) there is not a massive price difference between system 1 and a system 3 / 4 -(I.e system 1 might be $1200, can get system 3 for $2200 etc) so you get economies of scale by doing first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 (edited) thank you, bro. i pass this info to my gf, my ci na not good.. haha yes, all this need permit. let me share with you the cost.. permit $200+ clearing of debris $300 so the rest is the contractor and material. You forgot, still need to engage a Professional Engineer to certify. Without his signature (aka approval), you can't even knock the wall Edited October 29, 2013 by Bystander50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 You forgot, still need to engage a Professional Engineer to certify. Without his signature (aka approval), you can't even knock the wall. there have been stories of unapproved / unlicensed contractors knocking down load bearing walls - which lands the homeowner into a whole barrel of trouble! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Yep - a few ID have told me that false ceiling not a good idea - just collect dust and reduce head clearance. Neighbour do and also regret later. I say - the more inbuilt the better - then at least wifey not bugging you to rearrange furniture every 6 months! False ceiling or connice is to hide the unsightly trunkings for cables that you are running all over the ceiling if you are planning to do downlight. Unless you want to do undertable method by asking the contractor to hack a "drain" along the walls/ceilings to conceal the cables. In this way, it's still cheaper and faster to do a false ceiling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 As a side note - any particular reason why only a system 1 aircon? Give some thought to a system 3 or 4 inverter style Why? a) Big inverter compressor is no more expensive to run than smaller system 1 b) system 1 can only be used in 1 room (duh!) so if have unexpected guests, want to host a CNY meal or mahjong session or want to use second room as office later are outta luck - whereby if prepare first then can still do this c) there is not a massive price difference between system 1 and a system 3 / 4 -(I.e system 1 might be $1200, can get system 3 for $2200 etc) so you get economies of scale by doing first oh, cause we intend to lease out the common rooms.. plus future plans to elsewhere Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 oh, cause we intend to lease out the common rooms.. plus future plans to elsewhere Oh...so GRRRRR buy hdb then dun stay as a house???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Oh...so GRRRRR buy hdb then dun stay as a house???? He got many houses, and many cars too! Some in SG, some in JB, maybe Batam also have... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 Oh...so GRRRRR buy hdb then dun stay as a house???? No lah.. hdb = golden goose.. We still staying, as for the common room, no need to spend unnecessary. If one day, accidentally got kid, then no choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 He got many houses, and many cars too! Some in SG, some in JB, maybe Batam also have... Bro, you over rated me.. I'm Just a average joe.. simplicity Is beauty.. I comes from a humble and poor background, what I had today, is all the hardwork and some luck. I self funded my education since young, I have learnt if I want something,I have to work towards that goal. Explain Why I'm always frugal and save up for rainy days or possible . Now is the time for the rainy day fund to good use 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 well, i work as a purchaser mah.. so everything to be is cost saving and cost justifiable.. i cannot accept the exorbitant cost... i been losing sleep since i got the keys.. i know HDB regulations, hacking and wet work, is only done via registered companies in singapore. may i know what do they mean by wet work? I intend to do this, hacking by Singapore company. then raising for floor tiles, carpentry, furniture all by malaysia. doable? Good luck to you if you think such pricing is exorbitant.... Short of DIY, I can't think of alternative.... But then again, you don't have HDB lesen to do hacking, and so again, also screwed.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Ok guys.. I’m new to this, virgin.. I just got my house keys last Friday.. it’s a premium flat at punggol MRT area.. Was nice until the contractor came in and gave me the pricing.. $15k for simple works.. Basically, I want to tear down a HDB wall and re-erect a new one at further away. (this, already cost me $1.5k-2k). the re-erect portion can be bricks or just partition.. as we got no plans for it. Then I intend to raise the flooring of kitchen for cabinet, washing machine, 2 x toilets.. Carpentry is really a major cost contributor.. My kitchen is 3.48m long and only have space for floor type.. I didn’t intend to engage any ID, I wish to be my own main con.. I also exploring the possibility of getting carpentry works in Malaysia. Hence is there any tips for me.. 3rm 4rm, 5rm? 15K actually not that expensive leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 3rm 4rm, 5rm? 15K actually not that expensive leh. 4 room. See his post # 90 for the floor plan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Congrats and welcome to Punggol. You may want to consider install hinge bolts or weld the hinges of grille gates to prevent lifting. About 20 over homes were broken into in 2011. Most of these homes' gate were removed to gain entry. Not to scare you leh....really. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Congrats and welcome to Punggol. You may want to consider install hinge bolts or weld the hinges of grille gates to prevent lifting. About 20 over homes were broken into in 2011. Most of these homes' gate were removed to gain entry. Not to scare you leh....really. Are you talking about JB pond gold residents estate ? So scary leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Congrats and welcome to Punggol. You may want to consider install hinge bolts or weld the hinges of grille gates to prevent lifting. About 20 over homes were broken into in 2011. Most of these homes' gate were removed to gain entry. Not to scare you leh....really. The design of the gates already prevent liftings. The 2 "welders" approached my unit previously and I challenged them to lift my gate when it is fully closed. Told them if they managed to lift it open as claimed, I'll get them to weld all 9 bolts. They refused to and left. So long as the latches at the top and bottom are secured, the gate is secured till you cut the lock. If you examine the hinges on the main movable gate, there is a semi-circle sphere shaped object. This will be latched onto the main gate when you close it, making it impossible to remove the entire gate structure even when the hinges are removed. Don't be taken in. When I asked them for more details, they are very elusive. Tell them no $ can pay be cheque, they don't want. Go read around the forums, it's just throwing away good money to have the hinges re-welded and void HDB's warranty. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Are you talking about JB pond gold residents estate ? So scary leh.This heavy lifting method is fashionable everywhere Better be safe than sorry :p ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...