Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 Congrats, it must be a damn good feeling collecting those keys... yeah.. in a way.. until i see my accounts depleting.. slowly.. permit need money meh? u engage PE? you need permit to hack walls Post here for what. go google renotalk replies lah... Aircon just buy yourself lor. the seller will install piping and trunking. Go read up on what type of piping and insulation they should use. Seriously your wetworks are minimal. Correct term will be shower kerbs for your toilets and cement base with tiling for your washer. Not raise floor. aircon for mitshibushi system 1, with installation is at $1.2k, thanks for correction. Bottom cabinet just use SS. Cheapest lor. Don't need to quote until so exact dimensions. Show your floorplan to the sub-contractor. they will measure themselves. Get them to quote you cost for a) Hacking of existing wall b) Rebuilding wall by hollow brick/parititon c) Make good floor tiles from above thank you bro, already writing down ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 i did the same thing. be my own main con and procurement agent. full renovation by malaysian contractor everything in including carpentry about 15k. add furniture and fittings etc. everything in less than 20k for 5rm flat. u the man. Lol mine is about triple that. But i no time to supervise myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Wah TS, Congrats on getting your first flat! Have fun with the reno Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 aircon for mitshibushi system 1, with installation is at $1.2k, thanks for correction. Aircon piping and insulation is important. Insulation ask for 1/2" instead of 3/8" inch. Copper pipes at least 23SWG or bigger. Some pple will shortchange u on this. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 yeah.. in a way.. until i see my accounts depleting.. slowly.. you need permit to hack walls aircon for mitshibushi system 1, with installation is at $1.2k, thanks for correction. thank you bro, already writing down need permit to hack walls, yes.. but to pay for permit from hdb.... i don't think it's needed.. unless engage PE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Your cabinets. Need to specify if internal vinyl laminate is provided. Or else they just give u white. I think white is fine for kitchen. But for wardrobe, i think it will yellow after a few years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Usually if you want to tear down wall, reno fees will be quite expensive, no choice if you want to do this. Reno pricing really depends what you want to do and also how big your flat is la. I know the reno fee for 2 room flat for whole house cost less than 10K. *ahem* My old resale 2-room flat not even full reno I already paid more than 10k.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 i did the same thing. be my own main con and procurement agent. full renovation by malaysian contractor everything in including carpentry about 15k. add furniture and fittings etc. everything in less than 20k for 5rm flat. Picture shown nice house renovation, next time (with charges) can I ask you to design my house for me ? How is your junior ? Last time why you still asked lobang from me, you have super good lobangs in JB in the above list. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 u the man. Lol mine is about triple that. But i no time to supervise myself. haha. Went a few contractors quote abt 50k. Then was talking to my dad friend during wedding dinner he say he settle for me at cost price abt 25k. Then everything finish he refused to accept money say wedding present so we bought a watch for him. Furniture also free. Cuz got a angmoh kena retrenched sent back to states so he gave us the whole set sofa and teak wood furniture. Only thing we splurge on was the tempur mattress Picture shown nice house renovation, next time (with charges) can I ask you to design my house for me ? How is your junior ? Last time why you still asked lobang from me, you have super good lobangs in JB in the above list. Haha. The ID and wifey designed. I only sign cheque. Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Good deal. But i'm fussy and particular about the things i want. So to each his own. ha. Contractor got kawan kawan good lor. But i've read plenty of horror stories from cmi contractors/ID. So i rather pay more for a known quality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Good deal. But i'm fussy and particular about the things i want. So to each his own. ha. Contractor got kawan kawan good lor. But i've read plenty of horror stories from cmi contractors/ID. So i rather pay more for a known quality. luckily it turned out well. Beggars cant be choosers I guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 luckily it turned out well. Beggars cant be choosers I guess Got contact then at least got some reassurance of doing a decent job. haha want to chop carrot also chop stranger's carrot mah i no contact so LL lor. ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Pm me lei. my bto coming also need to do up also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 $15k for simple works.. Basically, I want to tear down a HDB wall and re-erect a new one at further away. (this, already cost me $1.5k-2k). the re-erect portion can be bricks or just partition.. as we got no plans for it. Then I intend to raise the flooring of kitchen for cabinet, washing machine, 2 x toilets.. Carpentry is really a major cost contributor.. My kitchen is 3.48m long and only have space for floor type.. I didn’t intend to engage any ID, I wish to be my own main con.. I also exploring the possibility of getting carpentry works in Malaysia. Hence is there any tips for me.. As another bro has mentioned, $15K seems reasonable for the extend of work you want (especially the hacking of a wall). As another bro has mentioned, since its you are a virgin (in renovation, not in bed! ), engage a trusty contractor and let him do everything for you, and you just monitor him. Any issue, just go to him! You may want to consider not hacking out the wall (is it really necessary?) You may want to consider not flooring the 2x toilets (is it really necessary?) Kitchen cabinet, room wardrobe and raise floor for washer/kitchen cabinet is unavoidable cost. You may get your own carpenters from Malaysia, but if anything goes "wrong" how? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Even got main con also need to go and check. These fellas can get away with what they will get away with what. By the time all done, too late to change, so really really really really really must go down and check. Leave NOTHING to chance. This is your house, so it is worth the effort. Don't cut corners, the contractors will more than do that for you. IMO.. if you want to be the main con, you must have go down everyday to monitor the progress of your reno. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 29, 2013 Author Share October 29, 2013 bro lala, you really seem very savvy in this.. may i ask, for HDB regulation - wet work portion. what is the defination of wet work? are they referring to the cement work, shower kerbs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Usually if you want to tear down wall, reno fees will be quite expensive, no choice if you want to do this. Reno pricing really depends what you want to do and also how big your flat is la. I know the reno fee for 2 room flat for whole house cost less than 10K. Er, since when is there a rule that if want to tear down wall, reno will be quite ex? IMO, hacking is the most unskilled part of it, it is destruction leh, not construction. You have seen them do it? Just get a sledgehammer + brute force. The guy assigned to do it probably no need as skilled as the ones doing the actual reno. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 You may get your own carpenters from Malaysia, but if anything goes "wrong" how? my ID got his carpenters from bolehland too.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...