Leo72 6th Gear May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 (edited) The only reason U&G is still around is because they are pumping alot of money in to keep biz alive. The only good thing with U&G is they have made taxi companies wake up. However, woukd this be an alternative to taxi or it is a hire purchase scheme for car? they need to do their sum correctly. Big taxi companies are not waking up. Whatever they do, the one to suffer is the taxi drivers unless the taxi companies reduce the rental of taxi, anything they implement, the one paying the price are the taxi drivers. The taxi companies would let hundreds of taxi sitting in their office collecting dust than to reduce the rental so that more uber/grab drivers will consider driving taxi. Edited May 8, 2017 by Leo72 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 they are hoping the D day will come faster for U&G knowing it is not sustainable. dont forget they are in this biz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 Big taxi companies are not waking up. Whatever they do, the one to suffer is the taxi drivers unless the taxi companies reduce the rental of taxi, anything they implement, the one paying the price are the taxi drivers. The taxi companies would let hundreds of taxi sitting in their office collecting dust than to reduce the rental so that more uber/grab drivers will consider driving taxi. demand for taxi definitely affected but now people can flag down a taxi easier compare to 2 years ago, especially for people who dun have smartphone or older folk who duno how to use U/G. Nowadays the queue in high traffic shopping mall is shorter although the fare is rather high compare to U/G. If govt allow Uber/Grab and seem like they are also promoting it, mean taxi company have to make changes to meet the competition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 those rear decal not that visible from far due to their dark tinted film True, cant see the rear decal clearly due to dark tinted film, but is the decal is seal and pasted by the authorities on the windscreen or the driver paste themselves de? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 demand for taxi definitely affected but now people can flag down a taxi easier compare to 2 years ago, especially for people who dun have smartphone or older folk who duno how to use U/G. Nowadays the queue in high traffic shopping mall is shorter although the fare is rather high compare to U/G. If govt allow Uber/Grab and seem like they are also promoting it, mean taxi company have to make changes to meet the competition. I think it's the high surcharge that makes taxis available. I drive Uber and have problem getting into places like Orchard and City where there are so many empty taxis hanging around, so I usually avoid them. I often wonder why they call uber when there are empty taxis waiting around, then I found out about the surcharge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 I think it's the high surcharge that makes taxis available. I drive Uber and have problem getting into places like Orchard and City where there are so many empty taxis hanging around, so I usually avoid them. I often wonder why they call uber when there are empty taxis waiting around, then I found out about the surcharge. The taxi surcharge in CBD even more worse, you can still get a U/G at 30-40% less compare to normal taxi if there is not much crowd, but the taxi surcharge remains. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 bro know your good intention mod also got rules to follow dont feel bad or have ill feelings it happens if any consolation to you, I have already 2 warnings, first one cant remember but 2nd one because one thinks,my post irrelevant to the thread. At least your current post got more substance than mind. Trust me, this ker leng ar mod not as bad as it seems. When you get to know him better you realised he got lots of soft spot. He gets to be like that on and off sometimes , and it means Staff69 needs to bring him out for a KTV session. Have a good day. He got soft spot meh? He looks "hard" to me.. Anyway, I liked his Mona Lisa style.. Ai chio Mai chio demure.. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 (edited) Big taxi companies are not waking up. Whatever they do, the one to suffer is the taxi drivers unless the taxi companies reduce the rental of taxi, anything they implement, the one paying the price are the taxi drivers. The taxi companies would let hundreds of taxi sitting in their office collecting dust than to reduce the rental so that more uber/grab drivers will consider driving taxi. They know uber and grab losing money. They don't change anything for the moment they can still survive. Wait till uber and grab die then their business will be back. Edited May 8, 2017 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 tonight's shin min paper, 58K ph vs 26k taxi on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 tonight's shin min paper, 58K ph vs 26k taxi on the road 1 in 4 car registered now is a PH, which means this people can circumvent the down payment rule also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 1 in 4 car registered now is a PH, which means this people can circumvent the down payment rule alsoIf all uber grabs cars r on the road for 10hours a day hor. Simi less coe hor still useless coz even though lesser car population but the usage is sibei high means more congestion also. Lppl 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 1 in 4 car registered now is a PH, which means this people can circumvent the down payment rule alsoMore like 1 in 8 or 9 la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 Saw a whatapps group about UBER lelong Vezel. 365 cars at Ecotech. Need to clear half by June 2017. Selling S$38500 per car (CAR only. No COE) Lion City Company Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 I think it's the high surcharge that makes taxis available. I drive Uber and have problem getting into places like Orchard and City where there are so many empty taxis hanging around, so I usually avoid them. I often wonder why they call uber when there are empty taxis waiting around, then I found out about the surcharge. You need to pay surcharge of $3 if take taxi at taxi stand in cbd, i would rather take uber lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 I think it's the high surcharge that makes taxis available. I drive Uber and have problem getting into places like Orchard and City where there are so many empty taxis hanging around, so I usually avoid them. I often wonder why they call uber when there are empty taxis waiting around, then I found out about the surcharge. What time is this? I always can't get taxi at 10 plus at mbfc. Book Uber also must pay high surcharge. Sometimes 45 bucks to woodlands so I just wait quietly for the taxi. Difficult to explain to ah gong why I spent 45 dollars when taxi is below 30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 What time is this? I always can't get taxi at 10 plus at mbfc. Book Uber also must pay high surcharge. Sometimes 45 bucks to woodlands so I just wait quietly for the taxi. Difficult to explain to ah gong why I spent 45 dollars when taxi is below 30 take DTL 1 stop to Promenade, book the Uber bef u board the train, then exit at either Millenia exit or Suntec exit. By the time you reach the Uber also there. I took from promenade twice last week, no surcharge, 30% lower than taxi fare. I ever tried once trying to book uber at some industrial area, not only high surcharge also cannot get one, I took a bus to get closer to mrt station about 10min bus ride away, I book an uber while I was on the bus and by the time I reach, uber was there, 50% of what was quoted at the industrial area. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 Saw a whatapps group about UBER lelong Vezel. 365 cars at Ecotech. Need to clear half by June 2017. Selling S$38500 per car (CAR only. No COE) Lion City Company This is the REAL cars@expo. One check on sgcarmart can see so many vezels already. Now another 365 flooding the market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 8, 2017 Share May 8, 2017 take DTL 1 stop to Promenade, book the Uber bef u board the train, then exit at either Millenia exit or Suntec exit. By the time you reach the Uber also there. I took from promenade twice last week, no surcharge, 30% lower than taxi fare. I ever tried once trying to book uber at some industrial area, not only high surcharge also cannot get one, I took a bus to get closer to mrt station about 10min bus ride away, I book an uber while I was on the bus and by the time I reach, uber was there, 50% of what was quoted at the industrial area. Alright. Thanks. Will give it a try next time... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...