Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

Today had the most horrible experience

Took grab share to sgh.

The driver pick up another rider but when we reached there.

It was a family of 4 india indian.

The driver explain to them that grab share only 2 person but the india indians wont care and kept saying the 2 kids are on complementary as they arrive 10 days ago and whenever they took train or bus is also free.

Nb. Some people just think this is their home town

Many people Full of tricks

Must be careful

The other time me and another guy reach at the ATM queue at the same time

I let him go first

End up he has many transaction to do

Knn

Kena tricked

Yes grab cannot pin location, Uber can.. But as driver side when they receive the call, for don't know what reason, it will just locate to the location in main road with no sense of direction whether is it towards ang Mo kio or towards hougang direction for example. Then when we arrived, realized that passenger is actually is in the opposite side, have to make a u turn.

Actually grab I don't know about the driver app usefulness, I believe it is also the same issue as the Google map itself is just not that detail enough..

So ya, still better to sms us were is the exact location even through you already pin the location. This will definitely help the driver and to reduce the chance of making wrong turn or need to make uncessery u turn which could save driver and passenger time.

Agree. For the Uber driver app it doesn't really tell you which side, just tell you the general location. Sometimes the driver have to guess.

Today I took a Grab, very young driver in a Toyota Wish. He really looked very young (like still studying secondary school lol  [laugh] ) so I thought, 'Aiya another young punk again'.

Turns out he was one of the best drivers I encountered so far. He knew his roads well, his driving was smooth, his car was nice and clean and neat. Very good journey.

In contrast some of the older uncles I've had have been quite terrible.

So don't judge a book by its cover. LOL  [:p]

I do find pinpoint accuracy sometimes work, sometimes doesn't

Last night, a rider address was given as 205 Kallang Bahru.

According to the point, it was directly opposite 217 Kallang Bahru where I stopped and waited.

When I checked the map today, it was about 50m further up front, where I actually picked up the rider.

I still had to call the rider where she was.

Many times, the rider is not punctual, so you are left wondering if you're waiting at a different pickup point or whether the rider is just late.

At some busy places where I can't wait, and there's a queue of vehicles behind, which I'm blocking and the rider is not there; I just cancel on the rider.

Too bad if they get charged cancellation fee, or not, I don't really care.

We always make booking for U/G only when we are at the pickup location. It is not nice to keep driver waiting,  whether it is U/G or anyone else.

The waiting time may be 1 min or 6 mins. The rider should just wait patiently.

Some of Asia's most powerful companies may be teaming up against Uber

Uber's rival in Southeast Asia could be getting a huge influx of money from some powerful investors.

SoftBank is considering investing in Singapore-based ride-hailing company Grab, according to outlets like The Wall Street Journal and Bloomberg. Grab could be raising between $1.5 billion and $2 billion, various reports have estimated.

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/07/14/softbank-to-invest-in-grab-ubers-singapore-rival-reports-say.html

http://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/video-uberpool-passengers-argue-with-driver-after-allegedly-booking-more-than-1#xtor=CS1-10

Although the Uber driver is not wrong, but I feel he should not do until like this. That also show what is his character like.

If I am the Uber driver, I will chin Chai la.. Maybe out of 100, meet 1 of these. So just nvm lor..

I also got drive one for free, due to see her is a student and still young and then she pin wrong drop off location for Uber pool.. End up got another rider come in. So pick up another driver and select drop off for the young girl and then after drop the 2nd rider, go drive to her location for free.

Sometimes just forget it and move on la. What for waste so much energy for all these things that only happen once in a while..

Edited by Yewheng

http://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/video-uberpool-passengers-argue-with-driver-after-allegedly-booking-more-than-1#xtor=CS1-10

Although the Uber driver is not wrong, but I feel he should not do until like this. That also show what is his character like.

If I am the Uber driver, I will chin Chai la.. Maybe out of 100, meet 1 of these. So just nvm lor..

I also got drive one for free, due to see her is a student and still young and then she pin wrong drop off location for Uber pool.. End up got another rider come in. So pick up another driver and select drop off for the young girl and then after drop the 2nd rider, go drive to her location for free.

Sometimes just forget it and move on la. What for waste so much energy for all these things that only happen once in a while..

Sounds like a cheapo passenger who wants a free rude if you ask me.

Push here push there, no intention of laying punches please don't push like guniang.

wear suit but still a bloody cheapskate, pui him to the max ! 

Ya but then, there are just too many things to worry about.. And really not worth the time and energy to go to this extend to video them etc.

Imagine instead of dropping passenger collect the fare and then accept another call, now the driver will waste time argue with pax, maybe worst is it become a fight and end up income opportunities lost.. Not worth it.. Just move on.

The % of these people are very low.. So maybe one in a while tio it but not everytime. So still okay la

You can choose to use either Google Map, Waze or Uber Map (latest).

For the same reason, I dumped Google Map and always use Waze.

Waze, most of the time will direct you even right into a Condo. Sometimes it doesn't. But Google Map has more flaws.

Even until today, I wait at "wrong" location, but it was exactly where the "ball" or target is showing.

The other reason is that riders sometimes cannot pinpoint exactly where they want to wait, due to restriction of the app.

For those who don't make contact with the driver, they can potentially lose out. Example, I waited 5 mins at Blk 19 Jl Tenteram, according to the app. I was about to leave when i decide to go around the road and she waved at me from Blk 16. So I picked her up. I could have cancel her trip and pocket $4 for waiting and she'll be charged cancellation fee, bcuz she didn't make effort to contact me.

There are many pickup places with "errors". Yishun MRT is one of them, as there are 2 sides to pick them up.

Be careful of Cluny Park Rd. Uber somehow likes to have pickups from there, where there are many double zig-zag lines and a hotspot for LTA to book you.

waze is really good!! up for waze!

Past 2 weeks seems like uber has stop their promotion on uberX and uberpool. Dont know if the business will drop a lot or not?!

Rent BMW, use it for UBER

====================================

Debt collectors encounter angry makcik who tried to fight with them when they arrived to collect their rental.

According to the debt collectors, the woman rented a BMW to drive Uber but was stopped from driving and went into debt. The son of the woman in the video, Fariz, said that the debt collectors had shouted at the elderly grandmother in the video first and caused the fight.

Who's right and who's wrong?

https://www.facebook.com/allsgstuff/videos/2482730408534340/

waze is really good!! up for waze!

Yes waze is good but still not 100% accurate.. I learn the hard way on Google map when I just started driving Uber. That time still new, I accepted a call and the pick up location is at one of the condo at Keng Lee road, but the Google map lead me to kampong Java road.

Now use waze a lot better but many times the location still not that accurate and sometimes I have to open streedirctory app to find out where exactly is the building on the pick up location.

Yes waze is good but still not 100% accurate.. I learn the hard way on Google map when I just started driving Uber. That time still new, I accepted a call and the pick up location is at one of the condo at Keng Lee road, but the Google map lead me to kampong Java road.

Now use waze a lot better but many times the location still not that accurate and sometimes I have to open streedirctory app to find out where exactly is the building on the pick up location.

If you look at Waze carefully, some of the buildings have names.

Very useful if you were looking for a Condo with a name.

Today, my problem seemed to be with Uber app itself.

A destination with the name of Upp Bukit Timah Food Centre, but the "target/flag" or "ball" passed to Waze was 100m away.

If I'd followed Waze, I'd missed the Food Centre coming from BKE. Luckily, my rider knows the way and told me to a left turn to Clementi first.

And a few pickups with blk numbers inside the car park, but the target was placed along the main road. I chose to go into the car park instead and got most of them right.

Use SingaporeMaps app to double confirm. It is very detailed.

Which one ? Is it by streetdirectory ? That one lots of ads.

Be careful of cheapo rider.

This morning a lady with 2 kids, asked me to deviate from the route to send her 2 kids to school, and then return to her final destination at MRT.

The trip fare was $10.

Then she promptly complained to Uber and Uber dropped my trip to $7.

Really, dishonest people.

Make use of you, then complain.

I bet she do this every morning to get a cheap ride.

Edited by Kb27