Count-Bracula Twincharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Seriously - how to have placement without somewhere to burn offerings? Isn't that pretty central to the role and function of a (Buddhist / Taoist) resting place? I guess you would assume that it will be a special "no smoke" furnace of some sort? No lah bro, burning facility as in cremation. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 No stories .. but this is the scenary I see in my childhood. Yap, last time no one want to buy Bishan flats.... What gov did..... Move all the top schools to Bishan and what u know.... Their resale flats price there break record...... And why residents there no kpkb??? All theses people kpkb not because of a temple... They more worried about resale of their flats.... If gov built a hyper mart aka Nex shopping centre plus mrt plus bus interchange plus top schools.... U see they will kpkb or not..... 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Yap, last time no one want to buy Bishan flats.... What gov did..... Move all the top schools to Bishan and what u know.... Their resale flats price there break record...... And why residents there no kpkb??? All theses people kpkb not because of a temple... They more worried about resale of their flats.... If gov built a hyper mart aka Nex shopping centre plus mrt plus bus interchange plus top schools.... U see they will kpkb or not..... Some already mentioned in the report. Resale value is their concern.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 hey, i dunch mind leh.... sell to me cheap cheap. My working place just next door... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 heard one interviewed resident said if the Columbarium is just next to your flat, how convenience can that be to just walk across the road and pay respect everyday. Better than travel so far and do it once or twice a year. MSM news? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 There are many columbariums around housing estate. Some are in churches and temples and no one ever make any noise about them, so why now? I stay in sengkang, St Anne church has one. Grace Lodge there also one, with HDB flats directly across a road. Every year chin min got alot of illegal car parked there, so residents should know of the columbarium, so no issue with them. I have no issue with these, and in fact when I find the ambiance of these places very peaceful. Bt Batok St Mary church also have mah, What's the big deal? In this day and age still this got kind of thinking 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Yap, last time no one want to buy Bishan flats.... What gov did..... Move all the top schools to Bishan and what u know.... Their resale flats price there break record...... And why residents there no kpkb??? All theses people kpkb not because of a temple... They more worried about resale of their flats.... If gov built a hyper mart aka Nex shopping centre plus mrt plus bus interchange plus top schools.... U see they will kpkb or not..... The main concern is the resale value. You have a good idea. If the columbarium cannot be avoided, build a MRT/LRT station, bus interchange or major shopping centre with MRT or some hub or shift a couple of top schools over there, or just open up a branch of RI or ACS over there. What is the MP doing??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 5, 2015 Author Share January 5, 2015 MSM news? it was on TV, honestly if you ask me i would say the same thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 I wouldn't be worried about living next to a columbarium as such ... there are two things that would worry me though a) Smoke from the burning of offerings b) Traffic during Qing Min etc etc - this would be the biggest concern - see what happens to Bishan during this period, it is Chaotic - how is this one going to be different a) if stay beside or nearby a temple, you also get smoke from burning of offerings. So its not only limited to comlubariums... b) But during non Qing Ming season, the place around would probably be very little traffic loh... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 No stories .. but this is the scenary I see in my childhood. Hey, we could be childhood friends. Which part of bi shan teng you were staying? i think if they build a modern type to minimize the burning or creating smoke (which can see in some places), then it will not be a big issue. how heavy is the traffic depends on the number of the 'resident' there Should just do a online columbarium. Click here to burn. Lol...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 If they wanted refund, HDB should have no problem taking it back and resell the flats since the flats are almost ready. But think would open the floodgate for people who lodge complaints to easily change their decision. And those who asked for refund might not stop there, they would ask for more chances at obtaining next flats and so on. Hey, we could be childhood friends. Which part of bi shan teng you were staying? Should just do a online columbarium. Click here to burn. Lol...... Heard Bishan is the 文昌位of Singapore, that why build many good school over there. You all results good? 😀 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kac 4th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Bt Batok St Mary church also have mah, What's the big deal? In this day and age still this got kind of thinking All Saints Memorial Chapel also surrounded by landed houses..I don't hear any complaints neither. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 If they wanted refund, HDB should have no problem taking it back and resell the flats since the flats are almost ready. But think would open the floodgate for people who lodge complaints to easily change their decision. And those who asked for refund might not stop there, they would ask for more chances at obtaining next flats and so on. Heard Bishan is the 文昌位of Singapore, that why build many good school over there. You all results good? 😀 I did poorly in school. Got to redo my O level. ... :-( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 (edited) it was on TV, honestly if you ask me i would say the same thing. Ok, it was MSM.. LOL If it was MSM interviewing me, I will walk away ignoring them totally. I was interviewed by the MSM before and they bloody hell edited my interview leaving away the crux of my message to suit their agenda and making me look like a prick with only half my message aired. Fortunately that interview wasn't heard on major outlets. The recent SOSD member who was interviewed by CNA also complained about the same problem on the rat and dogs issue. Their reputation (MSM) is already ... So why bother? Edited January 5, 2015 by ShellVpower Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 If they wanted refund, HDB should have no problem taking it back and resell the flats since the flats are almost ready. But think would open the floodgate for people who lodge complaints to easily change their decision. And those who asked for refund might not stop there, they would ask for more chances at obtaining next flats and so on. Heard Bishan is the 文昌位of Singapore, that why build many good school over there. You all results good? 😀 No Lah... Complaint would still have to be approved and "validated" as genuine and worthy -- So for exceptional circumstances only. Perhaps approved by MP? So that no "floodgates" opened Ok, it was MSM.. LOL If it was MSM interviewing me, I will walk away ignoring them totally. I was interviewed by the MSM before and they bloody hell edited my interview leaving away the crux of my message to suit their agenda and making me look like a prick with only half my message aired. Fortunately that interview wasn't heard on major outlets. The recent SOSD member who was interviewed by CNA also complained about the same problem on the rat and dogs issue. Their reputation is already ... So why bother? Same here... I was also misquoted on MSM... Was pissed at the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 This hill of graves was just beside the toa payoh flyover from braddell road into toa payoh. Further down towards serangoon road, there were vegatable farms. I could still remember these from my childhood memories. No stories .. but this is the scenary I see in my childhood. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 (edited) commonwealth area, behind the SPC area or the carmart, there is also a small cemetery. Houses over there also very costly. Lorong Ah Soo area also used to be a cemetery and funeral parlour during the 80 Edited January 5, 2015 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 These are opportunists... make noise here and there hope that HDB gives them a big discount to make them stay... The truth is Sengkang, Punggol area resale value is already low so those intend to sell after 5 years would definitely be losing money if there is a columbarium. Bishan got rid of the "problem" easily because of it's location near to city, similar to AMK, Toa Payoh, Bt Timah etc... I seriously doubt it is because of superstitious as owners are really "young" not the pioneer generations... Again it brought back to the issue of HDB core values, providing a house or providing an asset for investment? If it is latter, I guess everyone has the right for refund. But if it is a house for us to live, then just take it why worry about resale values? I used to hear people says they need a flat to stay, now even before having a flat people are talking about resale values?!! Good? I'm not sure but I have one major bad when it comes to flat being used as a kind of investment - Flat becomes a luxury item rather than a necessity. ↡ Advertisement 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...