Fcw75 Hypersonic August 16, 2022 Share August 16, 2022 2 minutes ago, mersaylee said: All flowery eyed like me liao how to measure readings corrightly liddat? 😅 Ya lor, so that’s why I warned bancoe first ma. Go there the vision won’t be automatically better one. 🤣 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 From my own experience transition lens doesnt work very well. Like as in under the sun the change in shade is not obvious while wearing it. You only see it when you remove your glasses and look at the front of it. The optometrist was very honest when telling me transition lenses dont work very well in countries near the equator. She said it will work well in countries like the US? When i was in HK the transition lens did turn darker. So i figured it worked better in countries in the upper hemisphere. Then there is the frame you choose. There are gaps in your peripheral and top/bottom vision which light can get thru. Which pretty much make transition less effective. Imo you have to get frames that curve around your face to reduce those gaps. I only use it once. My next eyewear are w/o the transitions. I had the anti glare lens instead or blue light lens. Cheaper. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 24 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Kwong Shin at Bras Basah Complex bro. But all aunties hor except probably the daughter in the article posted by jman888. Haven’t gone to Bras Basah Complex in ages ….oni Preambreee Tree studi 1 lah Ol’ Aunties ok mah …… just like COE cars🤣 …. Tks for sharing your experience/s😎 …. You bought progressive lens from them ?? Cost ?? Frame type …. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 23 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Ya lor, so that’s why I warned bancoe first ma. Go there the vision won’t be automatically better one. 🤣 If he sees chio aunties there means he needs eye doctor more than optician 😁 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 (edited) 15 minutes ago, BanCoe said: Haven’t gone to Bras Basah Complex in ages ….oni Preambreee Tree studi 1 lah Ol’ Aunties ok mah …… just like COE cars🤣 …. Tks for sharing your experience/s😎 …. You bought progressive lens from them ?? Cost ?? Frame type …. Haha, beauty is in the EYES of the beholder indeed. Nope, I only bought transition lens from them. Go and enquire from them bro. Cost varies because mine is 1.74 for the thickness of lens, I like my lens thin. Mine is Essilor, I think about $520. Frame I used my own. Edited August 17, 2022 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 10 hours ago, Lala81 said: Anyone has experience with photochromatic/transition lenses brand wise? Just saw EYE doctor today for my son and soon going to start atropine eyedrops for myopia (after confirmation checks and progress post drops) Don't need them now now cos need time for the above. But according to her, will need bifocal lenses with transitions to reduce outdoor glare (wah piang like Lao lang. But no choice since he's on the eyedrops). They will not be cheap but bo pian. Just wondering got any difference between the various brands. How come need atropine eyedrops for myopia le? And what is bifocal lenses with transitions? 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 2 hours ago, Watwheels said: From my own experience transition lens doesnt work very well. Like as in under the sun the change in shade is not obvious while wearing it. You only see it when you remove your glasses and look at the front of it. The optometrist was very honest when telling me transition lenses dont work very well in countries near the equator. She said it will work well in countries like the US? When i was in HK the transition lens did turn darker. So i figured it worked better in countries in the upper hemisphere. Then there is the frame you choose. There are gaps in your peripheral and top/bottom vision which light can get thru. Which pretty much make transition less effective. Imo you have to get frames that curve around your face to reduce those gaps. I only use it once. My next eyewear are w/o the transitions. I had the anti glare lens instead or blue light lens. Cheaper. Transition lens really dependant on UV ray strength. When I used it in Australia, it was black. After whole day outdoor without sunblock, I had reversed PANDA eye. Area around the eye is white while the rest of the face is tanned. Sports frame usually wrapped around the face but it is not suitable for ppl beyond 40 years old 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 On 4/20/2021 at 11:03 AM, Lala81 said: I prefer titanium frames. This is my best spectacle buy ever. Its about 16 years old. MIJ rayban. I wear it daily at home or exercise since its not fashionable anymore or too small lens compared to more modern frames. When I get home, I shower I change glasses to my home pair so I don't need to wash my newer pair again in mornings. Other than being bit dulled with age. There is no chip, no paint breakage. It's been hit by soccer balls. Went through NS with me again in 2006. Ive changed lenses for it about 3-4 times. The various spectacle shop staff understand why I change lenses for it. So I would recommend MIJ frames haha. Think my current one also MIJ titanium. But nowadays frames are also fashion based, so these metal frames look very plain compared to the other frames. MIJ titanium is sibei expensive. but somehow, the japanese frames from one particular brand fits me really well. In my 2nd frame with them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 13 hours ago, Lala81 said: Anyone has experience with photochromatic/transition lenses brand wise? Just saw EYE doctor today for my son and soon going to start atropine eyedrops for myopia (after confirmation checks and progress post drops) Don't need them now now cos need time for the above. But according to her, will need bifocal lenses with transitions to reduce outdoor glare (wah piang like Lao lang. But no choice since he's on the eyedrops). They will not be cheap but bo pian. Just wondering got any difference between the various brands. For your budgeting. Progressive lenses around $600. Add in transition maybe another $300-400? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 Transitions turns dark very fast, but revert to light very slowly. The problem is when go into buildings from outside, not the other way around. See everything dark due to the double whammy of less light and the darkened lenses. If your son's myopia is not severe, get him a pair of UV protected sunglasses for outdoors. There are designs (warning , very uncle looks, that are designed to be worn over the glasses.) If you want a fastidious optician/optometrist that does a great job to prescribe (even for astigmatism cases) at reasonable price, look for Patrick of Visionexx. He is located just beside Ayer Rajah Food Centre HDB at West Coast. My family has been going to him for decades (my son started wearing glasses in pri school). He does a great job with my progressives to make sure my transition from long-sightedness stage to reading stage does not interfere with me going down steps. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 13 hours ago, Lala81 said: Anyone has experience with photochromatic/transition lenses brand wise? Just saw EYE doctor today for my son and soon going to start atropine eyedrops for myopia (after confirmation checks and progress post drops) Don't need them now now cos need time for the above. But according to her, will need bifocal lenses with transitions to reduce outdoor glare (wah piang like Lao lang. But no choice since he's on the eyedrops). They will not be cheap but bo pian. Just wondering got any difference between the various brands. Another option is polarising lenses. I have flip-up ones that are great for long journeys in daytime as they reduce glare. Can be easily flipped up using just a finger just before entering tunnels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 2 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Haha, beauty is in the EYES of the beholder indeed. Nope, I only bought transition lens from them. Go and enquire from them bro. Cost varies because mine is 1.74 for the thickness of lens, I like my lens thin. Mine is Essilor, I think about $520. Frame I used my own. U pay full cash 1 , friend say 1 🤣🤣 I bought last from Lenskart was something like $598 for 2 pairs ( inclusive of frame + lens+progressive+transitions……. Now they want to charge $100++ more plus another $30/- rejoining fee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 17 minutes ago, BanCoe said: U pay full cash 1 , friend say 1 🤣🤣 I bought last from Lenskart was something like $598 for 2 pairs ( inclusive of frame + lens+progressive+transitions……. Now they want to charge $100++ more plus another $30/- rejoining fee 😁 Always see Lenskart advertised on Facebook but never try. Didn’t know so cheap. 👍🏼 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 1 hour ago, serenade said: Transitions turns dark very fast, but revert to light very slowly. The problem is when go into buildings from outside, not the other way around. See everything dark due to the double whammy of less light and the darkened lenses. If your son's myopia is not severe, get him a pair of UV protected sunglasses for outdoors. There are designs (warning , very uncle looks, that are designed to be worn over the glasses.) If you want a fastidious optician/optometrist that does a great job to prescribe (even for astigmatism cases) at reasonable price, look for Patrick of Visionexx. He is located just beside Ayer Rajah Food Centre HDB at West Coast. My family has been going to him for decades (my son started wearing glasses in pri school). He does a great job with my progressives to make sure my transition from long-sightedness stage to reading stage does not interfere with me going down steps. Thanks. But his myopia jumped 200+ degree in one year. So hence the concern and if he's on atropine drops, his pupils will be dilated all the time. So worried got uv damage to his retina. I would prefer transitions as his school is well lit and our lift lobby is also not dark etc. I do understand the issues with transitions. But our carpark at home and at school has outdoor light. So I think more suitable for him. Thanks for the recommendation. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 28 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: 😁 Always see Lenskart advertised on Facebook but never try. Didn’t know so cheap. 👍🏼 There was some promo I responded to on basis that I have to buy a pair of glasses ( was about 18 months back during the peak of Covid ) as the salesperson keep calling over n over again and gave me a special irresistible offer ….. so I went down with fixed appt timing and location and with some silly code I just want to keep another standby glasses so tot of getting another pair of them ……. My work is quite not so clean ….. table wiper mah 😫 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 Just now, BanCoe said: There was some promo I responded to on basis that I have to buy a pair of glasses ( was about 18 months back during the peak of Covid ) as the salesperson keep calling over n over again and gave me a special irresistible offer ….. so I went down with fixed appt timing and location and with some silly code I just want to keep another standby glasses so tot of getting another pair of them ……. My work is quite not so clean ….. table wiper mah 😫 I have 2 of the same Oakley frame. 🤣 Tabel wiper? SURE bro…🤨 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 4 hours ago, 13177 said: How come need atropine eyedrops for myopia le? And what is bifocal lenses with transitions? 😂 At risk of being high myopia >600 degrees eventually. Increased risk of glaucoma and retinal detachment associated. He's already 375/350 and he's primary one! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic August 17, 2022 Share August 17, 2022 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: At risk of being high myopia >600 degrees eventually. Increased risk of glaucoma and retinal detachment associated. He's already 375/350 and he's primary one! my kid on atropine too, but concurrently using ortho k lenses at night, day time he no need glasses this way. will it slow progression, i seriously dunno. Wifey say use means use lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...