Pasir Ris DBSS kena hooted

Mockngbrd

My old apartment kenna also like that but not so bad , just that after 25-30 years the walls inside started to get mouldy and no matter how many times I painted after about every 6-8 months from inside also could not arrest the issue; I even put silicon on the windows from outside - where the cement meets the aluminium frame- helped a little; On the 35th year kenna en-bloc and I thought I got peace and move in to another apartment and another issue of water seepage from the ceiling. Peoples life is getting longer but buildings are getting really bad nowadays with everything concealed, Water is damn clever one - come in from don't know where and seep out from some place else where there must be some weakness in the concrete

understand got to waterproof from the source / external facade orelse it will just seep into the next weakest point and over time like u mention it will become mouldy

I know and brought it up to the Management but they just foot drag (since its an old condo) and because they were in "enbloc" mood that time having failed twice , so they start foot dragging and I also did not want to bother since the area was about like 1m x 2m - must be joint between floors giving way maybe with some crack in between (just my thinking only) and I had moved out and rented the place to low end tenant whom did not bother - "on as is where is condition" and move out once if en bloc was announced with some 3 months notice - so i also sort of "boh chap"

TOC got some kpkb article about Choa Chu Kang BTOs now, popped up on my FB page this morning.

Got some pictures of skirting used being totally different from samples shown prior to purchase (does HDB really charge $5,900 for wooden skirting?).

Edit: It's TOC so pinch of salt might be required, which is why I'm not linking the article here.

Edited by Myxilplix

China something something... should be the main con.

I waiting to collect keys for Waterway II. Can't wait for the Waterfall feature and indoor swimming pool! :lll._.:

I thought the builder was TIONGseng. [laugh]

TOC got some kpkb article about Choa Chu Kang BTOs now, popped up on my FB page this morning.

Got some pictures of skirting used being totally different from samples shown prior to purchase (does HDB really charge $5,900 for wooden skirting?).

Edit: It's TOC so pinch of salt might be required, which is why I'm not linking the article here.

It's probably floor + skirting + doors.

Floor + doors was about close to 5k for mine.

My skirting is quite ugly also. Painted over it during my renovation.

the skirting leaves a lot of glue behind also on the homogeneous tiles...

Until today (>10 years), those glues are still there. Damn difficult to remove also.

Oh ya... Tiong Seng is the developer... then I dunno why the China something something is below the Tiong Seng.

Maybe sub con loh... [:p]

These MPs really clueless or wayang?

DBSS also unofficially scraped. Still need to call for it to be officially abolished?

Maybe after MBT loses the election, his buddy KBW can come out to admit it was a silly mistake and officially abolish it [laugh]

Jul 23, 2015
Centrale-8-300x209.jpg

Some Members of Parliament (MPs) have renewed calls for the Design, Build and Sell Scheme (DBSS) to be abolished or tweaked due to the blurred lines of accountability as well as low public confidence in project quality, reported Today Online.

Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC MP Hri Kumar Nair said in a Facebook post last week that he hoped the scheme would be permanently shelved. In 2011, the building of new DBSS flats was suspended following public outcry over the high prices at Centrale 8 in Tampines.

While he acknowledged the intent behind the scheme – which is to bridge the gap between public and private housing – Mr Kumar said confusion could have arisen over the obligations of the housing board.

“Because this is public housing, the expectation is that not only will HDB oversee the development, they’re supposed to work with the developer to resolve all defects. And because there is such an expectation, there is also disappointment when that did not happen,” he noted.

His comments come after several MPs aired their concerns in parliament over the role of HDB in resolving disputes relating to defects in DBSS projects. Some even questioned the scheme’s future, prompting Minister of State for National Development, Desmond Lee to state that there is no need to rush into making a decision when market conditions may change.

Holland-Bukit Timah GRC MP Liang Eng Hwa also made the call to scrap the DBSS. He shared that while it was well-intended, problems rose when the final product failed to meet the expectations of residents.

Moreover, the slowdown in the private property market has made such homes within the reach of more Singaporeans.

“With prices coming down, there may not be a need for a separate category (of housing),” said Liang, who also serves as deputy chair of the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for National Development and Environment.

Meanwhile, Mr Gan Thiam Poh (Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC) noted that newer Build-to-Order (BTO) projects are now catching up in terms of quality.

“If you look at today’s public housing projects, the design is already quite impressive. It’s time to streamline,” he revealed in reference to Punggol Northshore, a BTO project that features smart homes.

Image: Artist’s impression of Centrale 8 in Tampines.

Edited by Wyfitms

Formally abolish then can come out with new money-making scheme mah. Now DBSS name in the mud liao, if un-suspended maybe hard to get people flocking in.

New scheme can be called Designer Built To Order (DBTO)

China something something... should be the main con.

I waiting to collect keys for Waterway II. Can't wait for the Waterfall feature and indoor swimming pool! :lll._.:

your condo got escalator or lift made in china wan? If me arr.....i will purchase a ground or 2nd floor unit........eh.....wait.....skali the condo collapse!😨😨😨😨

ok lar.....as long as not Tong Seng 😨😨😨😨 be happy liao!

Formally abolish then can come out with new money-making scheme mah. Now DBSS name in the mud liao, if un-suspended maybe hard to get people flocking in.

New scheme can be called Designer Built To Order (DBTO)

new scheme call OCBCS or UOBS more familiar to Singaporeans

your condo got escalator or lift made in china wan? If me arr.....i will purchase a ground or 2nd floor unit........eh.....wait.....skali the condo collapse!😨😨😨😨

ok lar.....as long as not Tong Seng 😨😨😨😨 be happy liao!

Boss! You see me too up lah! HDB 4 room flat only! No need take lifts cos 4th floor only! hahahaha...

shit... now everyone knows where I live... :lll._.:

Boss! You see me too up lah! HDB 4 room flat only! No need take lifts cos 4th floor only! hahahaha...

LOL! We'll also find you because of two things, a pok-pok suburau and XC90 parked side by side. :ninja:

Waterway 2 mar......better sell your hdb....market going down liao! You never read thoroughly mei....got school staircase collapse.....😭😭😭😭

LOL! We'll also find you because of two things, a pok-pok suburau and XC90 parked side by side. :ninja:

New place I park bicycles nia. :nosepick:

Waterway 2 mar......better sell your hdb....market going down liao! You never read thoroughly mei....got school staircase collapse.....😭😭😭😭

haven't collect keys leh boss... Looks like must send my wife for rappelling course liao... I stay home husband no need leave house one... :secret-laugh:

New place I park bicycles nia. :nosepick:

haven't collect keys leh boss... Looks like must send my wife for rappelling course liao... I stay home husband no need leave house one... :secret-laugh:

sell house need at least 6 month for the sale to go through mar.....hahaha....and remember to ask her for rank,name and ic nummber before she rappels down.....😂😂😂😂😂....