Your car buying decision process

Tianmo

Mr Blueray, for your edification.

New car has to be able to fit my big feet, so all the R1 with dainty foot pedals are out.

Plus, I might need to cut a hole for my head to stick out of.

Some full size sedans are crampy for me, especially the kimchi Chevys.

Quite disappointed with cannot fit into the Elise.

So, size and fit is important.

That little oomph of pickup when required, speedster not needed.

Can alter into sleeper car.

Must be nondescript, dun get the police to notice. So no bengster Cheebic.

Should fit into the living environment I am living in, can dress down, but a s300 in a HDB car park is a little out for me.

Easy to park, so extended sizes like the super long MPVs not very in my ballpark.

Can carry up to five hundred kilos in the cabin comfortably.

Fuel efficiency, waste not, want not.

Whatever happened to the Azera?

Oh yes, must have good undercarriage, quite important to checkout the plumbing.

the car should be quite common, easy to find maintenance and parts.

Service :

Important aspect if you opt for AD servicing.

Can they handle the load - eg ask the rep how long does it take to get a scheduled servicing?

How many car types do they handle?

Eg Wearnes now handles 6 brands or more, and will their mechanics be able to handle odd and unusual issues?

How long has the car been on the market - any quirks, and are parts easily available. 

On a separate note:

Looking at all these accident videos, IMHO, one consideration for a new car:

Get one where you will live to see your family..

Any accident you can walk away from is a good one. So please pay attention to the safety feature of the car.

Don't let the temptation on saving on airbags and other features get to you, and instead opt for some leather seats instead. 

Each brand has their own dedicated servicing department, even for multi brand dealers. Jaguar got their own, Volvo got their own etc. Seldom share one.

But totally agree on the safety aspect.

I must have missed all the drama. Oh well. Moving on...

Each brand has their own dedicated servicing department, even for multi brand dealers. Jaguar got their own, Volvo got their own etc. Seldom share one.

But totally agree on the safety aspect.

I must have missed all the drama. Oh well. Moving on...

Yes they do, that's the point too.

Say you have Borneo, Kah or Merc. They services thousands of cars, so if you use hospitals as an analogy, if one dr doesn't know, or he is on leave, someone else will be able to fix the problem or know the solution.

If the number of service pros are less, they may not have the know how or the turnover.

See the recent complaints about Mazda service times for example.. so I do ask every sales rep : "How long does it take to get an appointment for service"

I recall years back when I talked to a Seat rep, he said if a part needs replacement, it may take months!

At least the Seat rep was honest.

Most SEs will sure say appointment no problem lah.

But in my personal experience, the best is Volvo. Can just msg the dedicated SA assigned for the car n everything kau tim. Can even tell the SA what u need done n they will order the parts in advance to make sure the job gets done on the day.

But $$$ cost for Volvo more ex than Merc.....haha.

First of all of cos is motivation to buy.

Then, I look at design and performance.

Next price.

Finally, short list and go test drive.

Edited by ntuc2018

Yay or nay?

If u dun mind the dated wowo interior ...

Registered in Dec 2016. So left 8 years 8 months?

Edited by DACH

Car buying decision. My previous car was close to eight years old. Have to buy ASAP to get best value.

I wanted manual. The accent was the last unit left (manual). Test drive model was auto. So I never test drive.

Only other option for manual were sports cars (out of budget and i don't need sports car) and perodua (Malaysian car which Malaysian friends tell me not to get). Nissan Almera just ceased selling the manual model then.

Car buying decision. My previous car was close to eight years old. Have to buy ASAP to get best value.

I wanted manual. The accent was the last unit left (manual). Test drive model was auto. So I never test drive.

Only other option for manual were sports cars (out of budget and i don't need sports car) and perodua (Malaysian car which Malaysian friends tell me not to get). Nissan Almera just ceased selling the manual model then.

Actually what are you afraid of for auto?

If you are unfamiliar you can always get your friends to help you. You may either use their cars to do a practice or rent one and have your friend sit beside you to guide you. I suggest you rent a car. Find a deserted place to practice.

It's very easy to drive an auto. You control most things using the brake pedal. Gear shift step on brake pedal to shift. Once engage in drive it will auto creep forward, it doesn't stall. Creep or crawl controlling the brake pedal when moving out of the parking lot. Same thing for parking, you creep backwards controlling the brake pedal. No need for gas pedal at all.

Even now commercial light vans and light lorries are going auto too. It will soon be a thing of the past.

• Dislike 1

How about Honda Jazz?

Nobody is afraid of driving auto. I am driving auto now but I do regret not getting a manual once in a while.

It is the control that one has over the car when driving manual that makes driving fun.

And please don't talk about manuals being extinct soon. The ADs here are not bringing manuals in that's all.

There are plenty of models in other countries that are available in manual transmission.

If you are unfamiliar you can always get your friends to help you. You may either use their cars to do a practice or rent one and have your friend sit beside you to guide you. I suggest you rent a car. Find a deserted place to practice.

It's very easy to drive an auto. You control most things using the brake pedal. Gear shift step on brake pedal to shift. Once engage in drive it will auto creep forward, it doesn't stall. Creep or crawl controlling the brake pedal when moving out of the parking lot. Same thing for parking, you creep backwards controlling the brake pedal. No need for gas pedal at all.

Even now commercial light vans and light lorries are going auto too. It will soon be a thing of the past.

@Dach @watwheels not afraid of auto but you see, I always wanted to own a manual once in my life. I thought no issue until i suddenly realised that before I know it, manual transmission might actually go extinct in Singapore, so I bought it.

My previous car was an auto (hyundai avante )

Yeah I always buy new as opposed to second hand.

@Dach dunno what you mean by Honda jazz. It's all auto also unless getting from pi.

Edited by Philipkee

in 2008, i was looking for a nice car to upgrade my Altis to...

shortlisted the Subaru Legacy GT Wagon, scrutinised the specs, did research on parts supplies, mod supplies, test drove the sedan version, haggled for a long time with the salesman, almost bought the showroom piece for a slight discount. thought long and hard about whether to get the 2.0 or the newly launched 2.5.... what colour should i get?

Suddenly saw the Civic FD2 Type R, put deposit on the spot. it was more expensive, and only came in manual.

you see, buying a car is an emotional experience for some of us. after selling the civic, i still miss it.

Some people think those who prefer manual means they are afraid of driving auto. What kind of logic is that. They just doesn't know the fun of driving a manual. Or perhaps they just doesn't have the skills to control the clutch and gears

I asked my friends and they told me at least must have a roof on the car.

post-57859-0-14408000-1525510553_thumb.png

Edited by Philipkee