therock Supersonic March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 can anyone advise the new emission scheme how it impacts to car owners and buyers, looks like most people scare of the new scheme, any impact for COE and car price? what cars got big impact? thanks The final effect will only be known when every local car's emission figures are known. As for the effect on COE, that depends. If prices of cars increase across the board, then we may see COE fall since the net total people are willing to pay will remain quite level. But if there are a few cars with neutral or lower surcharge, buyers may gravitate towards them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 Ivory towers. They always think they so clever. But CEVS only introduced in 2013. Who would renew COE for 5 years old car? Current renewal of COE not due to CEVS, but due to high COE prices for new cars. In time to come. @50k already so many renew. If coe maintains come 2023-2027. Many more renewals will come. Then $$ collected from new cars via arf and custom duties will drop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 (edited) Just few years back LDA encouraged motorists to go for high CEVS rebate vehicles as it is fuel economic such like BMW 2 diesel entitle $10000 rebate ... out of sudden this model once highly recommended by LDA from next year have to pay extra $20000 due to new twisted tax ! This is something like fall from the cliff !! Really can't understand why they can simplify twist the policy like nobody business ! I think we have the most complicated policy for Housing and vehicle in the world . Edited March 12, 2017 by Char 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 first tell you wine is better than beer second tell you wine is alcohol ... slapped you left/right/center ... lol 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 Well that same BMW 216d saved you a pile on fuel costs, and is now worth more since a new one will only arrive in Jan 2018 after the surcharge is in place, so the depreciation of that car of yours is now less.. Think glass half full bro 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 Yup. Yet another cock idea where it lowered the parf so much that it cost nothing to renew coe. The reason why in the past coe renewals were not that common was not only a high coe but also parf was high. Thus it made one think twice if they wanted to renew or not. With many cases of min ARF at 5k for many Recently registered cars, It's a no brainer to just renew coe and deregister anytime with a loss of only 2.5k Once again they realised their folly. Wonder why we pay all these dumbos at LTA for. Always reversing policies and say oops. Prata flipping after prata flipping. Lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 You all missed this part http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=16523 Many 2001 onwards COE car will tio.... no mention of what happens when they fail though. Not like it's something that can even be fixed (even after spending big $$$ too). GG liao for those cars. Anyone knows what this means in practical terms? How can one know if his old car is able to pass inspection once the new rule kicks in? Any figures printed on the current inspection? If cannot pass what does it mean? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 12, 2017 Share March 12, 2017 aiya, every time before you send in your car for inspection, you need to send in to the workshop for fine tuning and maintenance. End of the day, it cost more to maintain that car. I think diesel is going to cost more to maintain since they have more pollutants. To me, it seems that the authorities is saying: Replace you car with better and newer ones. Go on owning them but expect to pay more to drive. Don't complain, we have alternatives if you cannot pay. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 Anyone knows what this means in practical terms? How can one know if his old car is able to pass inspection once the new rule kicks in? Any figures printed on the current inspection? If cannot pass what does it mean? As usual,levy penalty or ask you keep going back to pay for inspection until you cannot tahan you scrap the car. On a flip side, now might be a good time to invest in vicom shares since you know why la. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 aiya, every time before you send in your car for inspection, you need to send in to the workshop for fine tuning and maintenance. End of the day, it cost more to maintain that car. I think diesel is going to cost more to maintain since they have more pollutants. To me, it seems that the authorities is saying: Replace you car with better and newer ones. Go on owning them but expect to pay more to drive. Don't complain, we have alternatives if you cannot pay. Serious question asking for my retired in laws using the car to fetch grand children and for marketing. MIL can't walk far due to arthritis. Trying to determine whether should renew COE for them. Need to have a sense of real world figures. Not sure if existing inspection got publish such figures? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 As usual,levy penalty or ask you keep going back to pay for inspection until you cannot tahan you scrap the car. On a flip side, now might be a good time to invest in vicom shares since you know why la. Ya our government really capable of doing that and getting you down on your knees. Just trying to see how not to get into that situation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 Was thinking, won't it be ironic should the revised VES brings back CNG vehicles? As in what if CNG cars (sorry no figures here to prove it) actually are able to "meet" the new standards? Like no surcharges.....? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 Was thinking, won't it be ironic should the revised VES brings back CNG vehicles? As in what if CNG cars (sorry no figures here to prove it) actually are able to "meet" the new standards? Like no surcharges.....? the CNG pump operators who were burnt the last time they flip prata won't jump in again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 So far, I read only Altis and e200 will remain neutral ie no increase when the scheme changes from CEVS to VES. Have yet to hear a car actually benefiting from this scheme. Anyone knows of any existing car which will have higher rebates or decrease in surcharges? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 What happens when fuel is cheap and you don't have emission standards to fulfil? What do rich Americans buy: (it's not a Merc).. http://www.cnbc.com/2017/03/10/so-what-do-americans-earning-over-200000-like-to-drive.html?__source=Facebook in SG, if not for the speed limit imposed on such vehicle cat, i am sure more of these will be on the road. practical. value for money. it is a logical choice! spacious cab to sit in, super large "boot" to keep stuff. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 To have clean air is just their secondary objective. The entire universe know what their main objectives are.. Even the blinds also can see clearly.... Hit the nail on the head exactly... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 As usual,levy penalty or ask you keep going back to pay for inspection until you cannot tahan you scrap the car. It depends if it is a fail or conditional-pass. Fail => cannot renew road tax => cannot drive on public road. Conditional pass => need to go back and re-test until pass. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 13, 2017 Share March 13, 2017 It depends if it is a fail or conditional-pass. Fail => cannot renew road tax => cannot drive on public road. Conditional pass => need to go back and re-test until pass. Sounds like IPPT and RT.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...