Victor68 Turbocharged May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 I thought Jap b&b cars no need to meet euro 6 requirements? what is the latest? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KiaCeratoHB 2nd Gear May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 so the important question is for those buying B&B cars with port fuel injection, should buy before sept, before Jan or after Jan? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 (edited) It's the dealer who have to worry coz surely with this new rule there will be a period of time whereby they do not have many models to sell or maybe for some smaller dealers non at all. But surely hybrid models will meet the standard. They are already selling at a premium price and not many can afford them. Tough times ahead for dealers. As for COE even if price drop ppl do not have a lot of models to choose from apart from those premium hybrid car models. Plus they can only hold on to the bidded coe for 3months max. I think most can only watch the coe price drop but buy nothing. Wait until there are more approved car models available the coe price will go back up. Tough decisions to make for buyers. Edited May 22, 2017 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 Thot nowadays all new cars come wif direct injection? Still got ppl making ol' skool port injection meh? Next thing is the scholars might say carburetor is bestest.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 (edited) For the Japanese like Toyota they have a combo of indirect fuel injection and direct fuel injection for their newer engines. They too are not a fan of start/stop tech. The indirect fuel injection kicks in only when the engine is idling. So they install an additional fuel injector in the port. For direct fuel injected engines the hard truth is that there are a lot of unburn fuel and polluting gas at idling, that's why the start/stop tech is there but the driving experience isn't smooth. Most ppl think direct fuel injection is new tech. It's not. It's tech that dated way back. With emission standard getting stricter don't be surprised indirect fuel injection engine will make a comeback. Edited May 22, 2017 by Watwheels 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 Still amazed at all these merry go round by LTA. Shld juz deploy their resources at Tuas Checkpoint & Woodlands Causeway to catch a dozen smoky JB cars, lorries, bas kilang & Motosikal per day enuf liao. The pollution saved is more effective than a few thousand SG cars on Euro 6 whether direct, indirect, sideways, upside down fuel injection. Oh I forgot....no revenue from catching MY vehicles. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 Most of the forumer here know I am far from being a businessman, but let me put it In business terms. Catch Sinkies = PROFIT Centre Catch Malaysian = COST Centre Once we start to see the light, we will have less anguish an maybe a step forward towards Singapore motoring nirvana. Still amazed at all these merry go round by LTA.Shld juz deploy their resources at Tuas Checkpoint & Woodlands Causeway to catch a dozen smoky JB cars, lorries, bas kilang & Motosikal per day enuf liao.The pollution saved is more effective than a few thousand SG cars on Euro 6 whether direct, indirect, sideways, upside down fuel injection.Oh I forgot....no revenue from catching MY vehicles. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 Ahemmm......but they say maciam they beri concerned about the environment leh in justifying levying additional vehicle taxes on us. U mean it's not really about the environment??....*shock*horror*gasp* 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 It is still about the environment. THEIR Environment. Government Revenue UP --> Bonus ++ --> upgrade to nicer ENVIRONMENT neighbourhood in D9/10/11 Ahemmm......but they say maciam they beri concerned about the environment leh in justifying levying additional vehicle taxes on us.U mean it's not really about the environment??....*shock*horror*gasp* 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 The fact that the tree hugging Prius is deemed no greener than a Thairolla using old tech under VES is a testimony of what a joke this policy is. Bet even Toyota Japan HQ is shocked that their Thairolla is as green. They must be thinking they hired the wrong top brains from Japan's leading Waseda university n shld hv hired someone from Pattaya U instead. Sawadekrup. LOL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 I suspect all these prata-flipping is to manipulate COE, so to reduce the big harvest and famine "phenomena"... uniquely singapo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 Eh...what's wrong w VW? I love mine ok? City, Vios, Mobilo, etc r cars made for 3rd world ASEAN markets. Simi got Euro standards n all? I like it no wrong le. I encourage ppl to buy but someone stil says it is B&B le. By the way, i sat in Golf R. Sibei powerful le. Somemore no jerk when the car slow down le. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 Still amazed at all these merry go round by LTA. Shld juz deploy their resources at Tuas Checkpoint & Woodlands Causeway to catch a dozen smoky JB cars, lorries, bas kilang & Motosikal per day enuf liao. The pollution saved is more effective than a few thousand SG cars on Euro 6 whether direct, indirect, sideways, upside down fuel injection. Oh I forgot....no revenue from catching MY vehicles. Every morning along AYE, there are at least a few of these jiu hu heavy vehicles fetching goods giving out heavy black smoke from their vertical mounted exhaust pipe. What about those PA buses that use industrial diesel and give out black smoke? I have seen too many of them. Garment not doing anything to catch them but waste so much money catch a small Vios running around. What a joke ! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 I like it no wrong le. I encourage ppl to buy but someone stil says it is B&B le. By the way, i sat in Golf R. Sibei powerful le. Somemore no jerk when the car slow down le. 6-spd wet DSG no jerk one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 I like it no wrong le. I encourage ppl to buy but someone stil says it is B&B le. By the way, i sat in Golf R. Sibei powerful le. Somemore no jerk when the car slow down le. Bro, dun get me wrong.. Many VW models drives great! I've driven my frenz MK6 Golf GTI, Passat CC and manual diesel Golf in Germany. They all drives great and I enjoyed every moment driving those. What i'm saying is VW in Germany, in fact in many EU countries, America etc is just a B&B brand. Just like Toyota, Nissan etc in SG. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 Bro, dun get me wrong.. Many VW models drives great! I've driven my frenz MK6 Golf GTI, Passat CC and manual diesel Golf in Germany. They all drives great and I enjoyed every moment driving those. What i'm saying is VW in Germany, in fact in many EU countries, America etc is just a B&B brand. Just like Toyota, Nissan etc in SG. I know la. In term of perceived value, Ang Moh B&B is better than Jap/Thai/Korean B&B Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aukang 6th Gear May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 I know la. In term of perceived value, Ang Moh B&B is better than Jap/Thai/Korean B&B Kaya and butter toast vs French loaves... Ai jia simi ah? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 22, 2017 Share May 22, 2017 I know la. In term of perceived value, Ang Moh B&B is better than Jap/Thai/Korean B&B Got some diff between angmoh B&B and jap/kimchi B&B lah. I test drove the 1.2L Golf b4 and gotta say I did enjoy it as it's definitely punching above its weight. If fact, I even asked the SE if can take a longer route. But when I test drove the typical B&B jap 1.6, I drive one round Leng Kee (SE dunno what hurry say company only allow 1 quick round), enuf liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...