inlinesix Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 23 minutes ago, Kxbc said: are you those where the nurses will ask you "want to stop? So long already still haven't reach MHR!!!!! Still got patient waiting leh!!!!!" 🤣 The nurse asks me whether to continue or not. No much excitement in the EKG. MO has to rush off after my test. As my test continues, she LL has to wait. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 2 minutes ago, Kxbc said: It's not the doctors but the philosophy and policy behind it. I think the patient should have a choice. For animals, it's an injection of sedative first to calm the patient then a lethal dose of anesthesia to forever put a person to sleep. It's through the catheter so there is no more further injection and pain. Maybe it's just me, but I felt immense relief for my pet as I know they no longer have to suffer the pain anymore. Sad will be those still living but having the patient not suffering anymore is more important. I will also choose this if I cannot walk and cannot have quality of life. Better to go peacefully than one of my relative whom is vegetable for 7 years and whole family just go down with it 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 5 hours ago, TangoCharlie said: I wonder what "guarantee" a cardiologist can give....do you have to go for regular "service" for this kind of "warranty"? Personally I don't go for health screening. I just try my best to take care of myself...... I also adopt this now, less screening, less over diagnosis and less over treatment. Why early detection may leads to uneccessary treament. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 2 minutes ago, Ender said: I also adopt this now, less screening, less over diagnosis and less over treatment. Why early detection may leads to uneccessary treament. I don’t believe this as I have a friend who had recovered from cancer due to early detection. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 3 minutes ago, Arogab said: I will also choose this if I cannot walk and cannot have quality of life. Better to go peacefully than one of my relative whom is vegetable for 7 years and whole family just go down with it Sad to see whole family being dragged down unnecessarily. Govt scared of abuse but what is there to be scared if proper procedures are in place eg A) 2 or 3 specialists to confirm really no hope of recovery based on current and maybe even experimental medical knowledge. B) Patient already consented to it pre-illness or pre-condition in sound mind. C) whatever processes deemed necessary. Need to take religion out of the equation. Death cannot be avoided. Let them leave this planet with dignity and with as little pain as possible. Then his/her loved ones can start their lives afresh. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 1 hour ago, Kxbc said: that's why I support euthanasia. Medical science is advanced but not yet so advanced that it can help all patients recover fully with full mobility, without need for external assistance. Currently, it is able to mostly sustain life but the cost (physical, financial, mental) is high. I am waiting for the medical advancement seen in Star Trek but that is unlikely to materialise in my life time. Agreed. Even we are in 2021 liao and medical science seems to be very advanced and yet there are many illness without any cure, so depressing. I also support euthanasia, if i kena major illness that cannot be cure and suffer myself and people around me, i would opt for euthanasia. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: I think at least level 5. Very good then, so your heart should not have much problem or risk is low for cardiac arrest. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 1 hour ago, Kxbc said: are you those where the nurses will ask you "want to stop? So long already still haven't reach MHR!!!!! Still got patient waiting leh!!!!!" 🤣 He wants to run until the final stage lo, since not many people can complete all the 7 stages de. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 On 8/15/2021 at 4:16 PM, Playtime said: Don't like running. Anyone do power walking.... aka... route match last time 🤣 How much burnt if do say 6km march? Same as 2.4km run??... of cos is pt kit la. Climb stairs lor when go home, don’t use lift, climb stairs 10mins of excercise per climb also very taxing for me 😭 but hey! After one year, stamina will improve a lot 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: I don’t believe this as I have a friend who had recovered from cancer due to early detection. No dispute there will be cases of correct early detection leads to better recovery prognosis. Watch the video, for another perspective by this cardiologist especially the 5 years survival rate of cancer, how 'successful' treatment may be a litte bit misleading in saying that screening saves lives. It's lead time bias. It's like why putting stent in a 70% block coronary may be a bad idea if the patient is stable. Now according to him, we don't do that anymore. Btw I do colonoscopy, don't know this is considered screening or investigation. So certain cases I do agree should try to detect early Edited August 17, 2021 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 13 minutes ago, Mustank said: Climb stairs lor when go home, don’t use lift, climb stairs 10mins of excercise per climb also very taxing for me 😭 but hey! After one year, stamina will improve a lot Your wife also concur, right? 😅 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 38 minutes ago, Ender said: Your wife also concur, right? 😅 I just started last week only 🤪 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 44 minutes ago, Ender said: No dispute there will be cases of correct early detection leads to better recovery prognosis. Watch the video, for another perspective by this cardiologist especially the 5 years survival rate of cancer, how 'successful' treatment may be a litte bit misleading in saying that screening saves lives. It's lead time bias. It's like why putting stent in a 70% block coronary may be a bad idea if the patient is stable. Now according to him, we don't do that anymore. Btw I do colonoscopy, don't know this is considered screening or investigation. So certain cases I do agree should try to detect early Colonoscopy must do when you are 50s or some even encouraged to do when they are in their 40s. Colonoscopy cannot play play, cause colon cancer really can be prevented if people go for colonoscopy when they reached certain age group. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 2 hours ago, Fcw75 said: I thought it’s to cure illness like cancer only? Perhaps in the future, the world will be like that. Normal peasants left to rot on earth while the rich live in their own world. 😁 Thought it is already now: Mumbai 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 1 minute ago, Volvobrick said: Thought it is already now: Mumbai Wow…real life elysium. Now those billionaires are already flying to space. Tesla, Amazon, Virgin… 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 2 hours ago, Ender said: I also adopt this now, less screening, less over diagnosis and less over treatment. Why early detection may leads to uneccessary treament. 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: I don’t believe this as I have a friend who had recovered from cancer due to early detection. No right or wrong, depends on your beliefs which are shaped by your own experience. Some years back, my wife went to another gynaecologist (in private practice, used to br sc in kk) for her yearly? screening to save a couple of bucks....and found that one of the cysts has grown much larger. Suspect to be cancerous and ask her to go for biopsy quickly. In worst case may have to remove the womb. So she went back to her regular gynaecologist for a second opinion. Naturally got a earful from the good doc. It turned out to be a functional cyst that had grown due to her hormonal change and confirmed by later ultrasound. Happy ending but Imagine her distress in the days between that two consultations. There were some other experiences I had which had no happy ending. If want to screen, go and find a good one. That's another problem. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 2 hours ago, 13177 said: He wants to run until the final stage lo, since not many people can complete all the 7 stages de. Lol. i didn't know have so many stages. I've heard of people stage 2 already give up because too tedious for them or nurse scared they collapse. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged August 17, 2021 Share August 17, 2021 2 hours ago, Mustank said: Climb stairs lor when go home, don’t use lift, climb stairs 10mins of excercise per climb also very taxing for me 😭 but hey! After one year, stamina will improve a lot I top floor.... 10 minutes is kinda optimistic.. verryyyyy optimistic 🤣... in my teen years maybe. I've had the understated pleasure of having BOTH lifts knocked out ... 2 times already... I'll pass 😬 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...