Adrianli Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 So far early morning, I have yet to see any TP around. Maybe they are still on the way to work. Have lah. Starting from this year, TP station at the bus stop in front of St Joseph Primary early in the morning starting from 7am. To catch those cars who turn in from middle lane. These farkers dont want to queue so cut queue. Once they see mata, instead of turning into the school, they drop their kids at the bus stop. I guess lots of ppl complain therefore TP station there every alternate school day. Pass two years, no TP at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 You are correct in some sense. It is not feasible to run into budget deficit, plus increase in government spending will led to they will tax us back in some other ways. Who will like it? No one want to be taxed, plus many people are not earning a lot, the last thing they wish to hear is, government going to increase GST, government going to increase taxes and etc. Wll, than i hope this coming Budget Day, government will announce some budget allocation to look into licensing of cycling, or any form of accountability for people who want to cycle. With more cyclist now on sharing path with people, the safety of our old folks, children should not be compromise just for a small group of user. We have so many scholars, I have faith that it is not a matter of can or cannot, but a matter of want or don't want from our government. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Unfortunately the authorities have made a stand and as a citizen of this country, we need to respect that. Hopefully, no one gets injured by cyclists anymore. Until then... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Zhun bo??? I watched a lot programs from HGTV. Its a reality channel about ppl renovating or buying houses. Most ppl in the US cities when buying house wants at least a garage or even two car garage!!! If its an apartment, they prefer one that come with parking!!! If you watch house hunting international, those expats going to europe(Italy, Spain, Portugal, Netherlands and Turkey) or japan also looking for houses with parking. Everyone who is buying a house is looking for one with parking. They did not say cars are unappealing. Those shows are in areas that have plenty of space etc. And they have an angle to sell. 2 bedroom pokey apartment is harder to sell a show around compared to a half acre, 4 bed+, 3 bath, multi-storey house with space for multiple cars. The latter place makes for more time to make a show around. But rather than me trying to explain, let's quote Jeremy Clarkson: "I suspect even the Danes are baffled about why they keep being picked out as a shining example of humanity at its best,” wrote Clarkson. “Just last week a newspaper in Copenhagen suggested it must be because, while cycling from place to place, visitors enjoy looking at all the pretty Danish girls’ bottoms. "In fact, I’ve decided that the world’s five best cities are, in order: San Francisco, London, Damascus, Rome and Copenhagen. It’s fan-bleeding-tastic. And best of all: there are no bloody cars cluttering the place up. Almost everyone goes almost everywhere on a bicycle. "Now I know that sounds like the ninth circle of hell, but that’s because you live in Britain, where cars and bikes share the road space,” he continues. “This cannot and does not work. It’s like putting a dog and a cat in a cage and expecting them to get along. They won’t, and as a result London is currently hosting an undeclared war. I am constantly irritated by cyclists and I’m sure they’re constantly irritated by me. "City fathers have to choose. Cars or bicycles. And in Copenhagen they’ve gone for the bike. "In Britain cycling is a political statement. You have a camera on your helmet so that motorists who carve you up can be pilloried on YouTube. You have shorts. You have a beard and an attitude. You wear a uniform. Cycling has become the outdoorsy wing of the NUM and CND. "In Copenhagen it’s just a pleasant way of getting about. Nobody wears a helmet. Nobody wears high-visibility clothing. You just wear what you need to be wearing at your destination. For girls that appears to be very short skirts. And nobody rides their bike as if they’re in the Tour de France. This would make them sweaty and unattractive, so they travel just fast enough to maintain their balance. "The upshot is a city that works. It’s pleasing to look at. It’s astonishingly quiet. It’s safe. And no one wastes half their life looking for a parking space. I’d live there in a heartbeat." http://road.cc/content/news/56433-jeremy-clarkson-turns-cycling-advocate-he-praises-copenhagens-approach 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Wll, than i hope this coming Budget Day, government will announce some budget allocation to look into licensing of cycling, or any form of accountability for people who want to cycle. With more cyclist now on sharing path with people, the safety of our old folks, children should not be compromise just for a small group of user. We have so many scholars, I have faith that it is not a matter of can or cannot, but a matter of want or don't want from our government. Cyclist should be on the road (except for certain estate) rather than pavement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Wll, than i hope this coming Budget Day, government will announce some budget allocation to look into licensing of cycling, or any form of accountability for people who want to cycle. With more cyclist now on sharing path with people, the safety of our old folks, children should not be compromise just for a small group of user. We have so many scholars, I have faith that it is not a matter of can or cannot, but a matter of want or don't want from our government. I doubt they will do it. They had already scrap the old system and do away with it simply because there's no simpler way of enforcement. I for sure know that many cyclist won't bother. Might as well make every man, woman and child register coz everyone is a potential cyclist. Keep things simple lah. Every small thing also need some kinda law to govern (sometimes I think S'poreans are brainwashed by our fine city of laws) it becomes a communist society rather dan a democratic one. Accidents cannot be avoided simply because the person riding on the bicycle is a human being. Go buy insurance to cover yourself. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Cyclist should be on the road (except for certain estate) rather than pavement. Yes, key word is " should ", but we all know that is not the case. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 I doubt they will do it. They had already scrap the old system and do away with it simply because there's no simpler way of enforcement. I for sure know that many cyclist won't bother. Might as well make every man, woman and child register coz everyone is a potential cyclist. Keep things simple lah. Every small thing also need some kinda law to govern (sometimes I think S'poreans are brainwashed by our fine city of laws) it becomes a communist society rather dan a democratic one. Accidents cannot be avoided simply because the person riding on the bicycle is a human being. Go buy insurance to cover yourself. Just because old system scrap does not means it cannot be implemented again, with new technology, i am sure can be done. As simple as having a RFID chip or just a bicyle number plate , the cost cannot be more expensive than borrowing books from library. If buying a pre-paid SIM card needs to also register, I don't see why bicycle cannot? Accident cannot be avoided, but it certainly can be reduced. Once a person knows he can be tracked / recognised he/she will be more careful. Yes, i can afford to have have the necessary insurance to cover myself, but that will be only monetary compensation to my love ones if any unfortunate event happen to me; i am sure they would rather have me with them then just to receive the compensation money; and i believe it will be the same for the rest of us here also. 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Don't we already have to carry IC everywhere we go in Singapore? Why can't, when a bicyclist does something "bad" the police demand IC and levy fine against IC? Why do we need licensing to levy fine? I do feel a "licence" to ride a bike on the road would be good - I simply see it as rather unweildy and unneccessarily expensive for the benefits. As to registration of bikes - I think implementation is next to impossible. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Yes, key word is " should ", but we all know that is not the case. Since the law is there, has it ever been implemented? I had been cycling to work for 9 years liao. Once got stopped once in 9 years for cycling on pavement. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Don't we already have to carry IC everywhere we go in Singapore? Why can't, when a bicyclist does something "bad" the police demand IC and levy fine against IC? Why do we need licensing to levy fine? I do feel a "licence" to ride a bike on the road would be good - I simply see it as rather unweildy and unneccessarily expensive for the benefits. As to registration of bikes - I think implementation is next to impossible. Logic seems to escape many people. They seem to get caught up in demanding something the government has said they aren't considering implementing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Just because old system scrap does not means it cannot be implemented again, with new technology, i am sure can be done. As simple as having a RFID chip or just a bicyle number plate , the cost cannot be more expensive than borrowing books from library. If buying a pre-paid SIM card needs to also register, I don't see why bicycle cannot? Accident cannot be avoided, but it certainly can be reduced. Once a person knows he can be tracked / recognised he/she will be more careful. Yes, i can afford to have have the necessary insurance to cover myself, but that will be only monetary compensation to my love ones if any unfortunate event happen to me; i am sure they would rather have me with them then just to receive the compensation money; and i believe it will be the same for the rest of us here also. For number plate, is it from kid's push bike to TdF wannabe machine? If you knock someone down & injured the person, do you have the necessary insurance to cover 3rd party bodily injury? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 For number plate, is it from kid's push bike to TdF wannabe machine? If you knock someone down & injured the person, do you have the necessary insurance to cover 3rd party bodily injury? I keep asking and asking - but from all the adherents to licensing and registration here - no one has been able to answer 1. How much damage is caused to third parties by bicycles on an annual basis - that is the "fault" of the cyclist? 2. How much of this damage would be reduced by a licensing and registration scheme? 3. How much would a licensing and registration scheme cost? (there is NO way it would be entirely self funding - the cost to bicycles to make it totally self funding would be ridiculous) Here's a crazy, off the wall scheme - what if $5 was added to the purchase price of a bicycle to fund a "no fault" insurance scheme for damage caused by errant cyclists? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 I keep asking and asking - but from all the adherents to licensing and registration here - no one has been able to answer 1. How much damage is caused to third parties by bicycles on an annual basis - that is the "fault" of the cyclist? 2. How much of this damage would be reduced by a licensing and registration scheme? 3. How much would a licensing and registration scheme cost? (there is NO way it would be entirely self funding - the cost to bicycles to make it totally self funding would be ridiculous) Here's a crazy, off the wall scheme - what if $5 was added to the purchase price of a bicycle to fund a "no fault" insurance scheme for damage caused by errant cyclists? For your Q1, spirit of law is to cover 3rd party liability on bodily injury. Since bicycle is allowed on road only, what's there to cover 3rd party liability on bodily injury? For licensing & registration to have an effect, enforcement has to be increased. Looking at our road now. Where is the enforcement? Who going to administer this scheme of insurance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 For your Q1, spirit of law is to cover 3rd party liability on bodily injury. Since bicycle is allowed on road only, what's there to cover 3rd party liability on bodily injury? For licensing & registration to have an effect, enforcement has to be increased. Looking at our road now. Where is the enforcement? Who going to administer this scheme of insurance? Spirit of what law? It is not a universal truth that damage must be covered For enforcement - just how much is that enforcement going to cost? And for the cost, would it be more effective to do education or develop distinct and separate cycle lanes? Why pour money into a stick approach when maybe you can pour money into a carrot approach that will deliver better results? For the insurance - the govt - I come from a "no faults" based accident coverage country - all pay into the insurance scheme, all get paid out when have damage. If the govt can manage licensing and registration - isn't it far easier to administer a simple insurance scheme to cover damage by bikes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Spirit of what law? It is not a universal truth that damage must be covered For enforcement - just how much is that enforcement going to cost? And for the cost, would it be more effective to do education or develop distinct and separate cycle lanes? Why pour money into a stick approach when maybe you can pour money into a carrot approach that will deliver better results? For the insurance - the govt - I come from a "no faults" based accident coverage country - all pay into the insurance scheme, all get paid out when have damage. If the govt can manage licensing and registration - isn't it far easier to administer a simple insurance scheme to cover damage by bikes? Motor Vehicles (Third-Party Risks and Compensation) Act. Look at Section 5. Since bicycle is a vehicle just like motor car, any insurance requirement should not deviate from motor car. Govt do not want to manage licensing and registration. Are you sure they want to manage an insurance scheme? In Singapore, stick works most of the time. Unfortunately, there is lack of enforcer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Motor Vehicles (Third-Party Risks and Compensation) Act. Look at Section 5. Since bicycle is a vehicle just like motor car, any insurance requirement should not deviate from motor car. Govt do not want to manage licensing and registration. Are you sure they want to manage an insurance scheme? In Singapore, stick works most of the time. Unfortunately, there is lack of enforcer. The law is written by men you know - it's not handed down from above - I'm not going to argue with you about what the law does and doesn't say - because it can be written any way "we" like Between an insurance scheme to cover against rare accidents and a licensing and registration scheme.. a) which do you think be easier to manage? b) Which do you think will be more costly to manage? c) which will require greater infrastructure? The reason I suggest is that so many say the driving force for registration is to cover against accidents by cyclists - well, wouldn't such a scheme get the same results easier and at less enforcement cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Have lah. Starting from this year, TP station at the bus stop in front of St Joseph Primary early in the morning starting from 7am. To catch those cars who turn in from middle lane. These farkers dont want to queue so cut queue. Once they see mata, instead of turning into the school, they drop their kids at the bus stop. I guess lots of ppl complain therefore TP station there every alternate school day. Pass two years, no TP at all. This is what we should do. If we see any reckless cyclists or drivers, just report. If enough people report, means there is a problem in that area and they'll send someone down to enforce already. Upper thomson road stretch also the same. There is a school there and all 3 bus stops have LTA officers standing there every morning waiting for people who enter the bus-lane illegally cuz too many people complained. Wll, than i hope this coming Budget Day, government will announce some budget allocation to look into licensing of cycling, or any form of accountability for people who want to cycle. With more cyclist now on sharing path with people, the safety of our old folks, children should not be compromise just for a small group of user. We have so many scholars, I have faith that it is not a matter of can or cannot, but a matter of want or don't want from our government. By law, cyclists are not allowed on footpaths. So why do they need licensing so that cyclists will be careful on the footpath? All they need to do is step up enforcement and ensure that everyone cycles on the roads only. This way no one will get injured by cyclists cuz I doubt a reckless cyclist can do much to an occupant in a car. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...