Darkblue 1st Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Did my sums, comparison and various methods of multiple calculations, best pick will be Elegance trim. Without COE max price should be $61K (after nego), with COE 27K~30K ish COE should be cap $90K (depreciation around $7.8K). Any more you are paying too much, because VES + lower, the saving should come back to you. IMO, Jap bread and butter car with 10K VES, max you should be paying $8K depreciation/pa. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTO-1 5th Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 (edited) I've always been confused by TEK's strategy for Mazda in SG. I know Mazda wants to go more premium and wants to charge more for its cars. But that also means you need a good car + good customer experience (presales and postsales). The challenge is that TEK is neither here, nor there. Their Mazda3 is underpowered because they want to keep OMV low to cater for the lower end of the market - therefore creating a crappier product. Their after-sales service is among the worst of their Japanese counterparts, creating a bad customer experience. It feels like all they've done is taken the same product, increased the price and said "we are going premium". Edited July 6, 2019 by GTO-1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 (edited) I've always been confused by TEK's strategy for Mazda in SG. I know Mazda wants to go more premium and wants to charge more for its cars. But that also means you need a good car + good customer experience (presales and postsales). The challenge is that TEK is neither here, nor there. Their Mazda3 is underpowered because they want to keep OMV low to cater for the lower end of the market - therefore creating a crappier product. Their after-sales service is among the worst of their Japanese counterparts, creating a bad customer experience. It feels like all they've done is taken the same product, increased the price and said "we are going premium". In short, they want to buy at low from their principle and sell high to consumers . If cannot sell high to consumers, sell cheap and in huge quantities to private hire companies Edited July 6, 2019 by No_worries 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
makeanewcall 3rd Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 In short, they want to buy at low from their principle and sell high to consumers . If cannot sell high to consumers, sell cheap and in huge quantities to private hire companies ð¤£.Unfortunately in sg, for people hunting around this range will not care about specs or features as long as car is chio they will go for it. Same for the old mazda 3, tek charges for everything including upgrade for headunit, etc. People still buy the car, this might be their downfall just like how Borneo killed themselves by pricing a b&b vios at crazy prices. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Unfortunately in sg, for people hunting around this range will not care about specs or features as long as car is chio they will go for it. Same for the old mazda 3, tek charges for everything including upgrade for headunit, etc. People still buy the car, this might be their downfall just like how Borneo killed themselves by pricing a b&b vios at crazy prices. Nvm, TEK still got other brand under its belt. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTO-1 5th Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Nvm, TEK still got other brand under its belt.That's what makes it super perplexing. TEK brands are mostly hyper-premium, like Rolls and Mclaren. So it should be second nature for them to provide a premium experience. But from what I hear and from what I've experienced, the overall buying and after-sales experience is horrible compared to the other Japanese brands in SG. It's almost like they tried hard to create a crappy experience for Mazda. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 i've got a good relationship with some people at my dealership. took my 2015 mz3 for servicing today and he gave me a 2019 mazda 3 to drive as a loan car. finally got to drive it OTOT. for the record, the 2019 mazda 3 is not available as loan vehicles yet. only as a staff vehicle and demo for their staff to familiarise themselves with it.. found an interesting quirk. the windshield washer is on the wiper. only other time i saw this is on the Merc SL class.. really like the finish on the door handle and the bose speaker too You are from down under? Yes the integrated wiper and washer feature is from v premium car such as Merc S Class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTO-1 5th Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 (edited) Delete Edited July 6, 2019 by GTO-1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Wahaha I chuckled at the slyphy. The facelift model is all watered down. Rear tail light became bulb when the pre facelift came with LED. Basic model even come with fabric seat and hubcap. What a joke!Diff trim ma. U get what u paid for Unfortunately in sg, for people hunting around this range will not care about specs or features as long as car is chio they will go for it. Same for the old mazda 3, tek charges for everything including upgrade for headunit, etc. People still buy the car, this might be their downfall just like how Borneo killed themselves by pricing a b&b vios at crazy prices. Tek always priced their car cheaper than Honda n Toyota la. After awhile their price will drop, only those rich ppl will buy now 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 We'll know the sales after 3 weeks... see if Cat A goes up or not. No other new model except for mazda 3? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
louisbosco 3rd Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 You are from down under? Yes the integrated wiper and washer feature is from v premium car such as Merc S Class Yeah. Singaporean currently living down under.. why? You too? Yeah. That’s the only time I saw it. Apparently I search, a lot of old American cars from 70s already have this tech. Quite good I feel, control the spray of the windshield fluids 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Its freaking bad. That's what makes it super perplexing. TEK brands are mostly hyper-premium, like Rolls and Mclaren. So it should be second nature for them to provide a premium experience. But from what I hear and from what I've experienced, the overall buying and after-sales experience is horrible compared to the other Japanese brands in SG.It's almost like they tried hard to create a crappy experience for Mazda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 So today i went down to mazda again. Almost like a weekly affair for a month liao. This time to see the mazda 3 in flesh. Seems like lots of test cars of mazda 3 and also a nice buffet spread. The mazda 3 rear looms very diff frm the old mazda 3. Though front looks like mazda 6. It is the interior that shines. Sit inside, the driver seat. Its comfy. And u feel like u r in a high end conti cabin. Q2 can move aside. A3 also. This is the cabin u really desire. Rear seats honestly crampier than old mazda 3 though. The elegance spec is very high. All the safety features u can find on a mazda 6 is here on mazda 3. The interior puts altis. Avante. Civic. Etc to shame. Honest opinion. Din bother with the pricing as i am here just to kaypoh. I was told though the annual dep is like mazda 6. But apple to apple comparison to altis avantes. Civic. I think this car specs tops. Plus the cabin. Awesome. Attention to details is there. Lots of soft touch materials though hard plastics only on the bottom part of the door and cabin. Avante elite will still command a better price value package vs mazda elegance though. Lets see how mazda price this ride months down the road. There should be buyers now but many might just wan2 pay just a few k more to drive the mazda 6. Mazda 6 std prob now at 99k. Exec 101k to 104k depends on colors. So theres kinda a mazda 6 eating mazda 3 sales i feel 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Ho jiak bo? Ho Jiak i will also go 'test drive'. So today i went down to mazda again. Almost like a weekly affair for a month liao. This time to see the mazda 3 in flesh. Seems like lots of test cars of mazda 3 and also a nice buffet spread.The mazda 3 rear looms very diff frm the old mazda 3. Though front looks like mazda 6.It is the interior that shines. Sit inside, the driver seat. Its comfy. And u feel like u r in a high end conti cabin. Q2 can move aside. A3 also. This is the cabin u really desire.Rear seats honestly crampier than old mazda 3 though.The elegance spec is very high. All the safety features u can find on a mazda 6 is here on mazda 3.The interior puts altis. Avante. Civic. Etc to shame. Honest opinion.Din bother with the pricing as i am here just to kaypoh.I was told though the annual dep is like mazda 6.But apple to apple comparison to altis avantes. Civic. I think this car specs tops. Plus the cabin. Awesome. Attention to details is there.Lots of soft touch materials though hard plastics only on the bottom part of the door and cabin.Avante elite will still command a better price value package vs mazda elegance though.Lets see how mazda price this ride months down the road. There should be buyers now but many might just wan2 pay just a few k more to drive the mazda 6.Mazda 6 std prob now at 99k. Exec 101k to 104k depends on colors.So theres kinda a mazda 6 eating mazda 3 sales i feel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Exactly. Who in their right frame of mind will buy a Mazda 3??? Tomorrow go see civic. My choice without hesitation is Civic! Mz 3 does not look New to me. The hatchback looks clumsy especially the C-pillar. It also restricts driver's rear view and parking at tight spots would be a pain! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SpaceMooMoo 1st Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 Test drove both the Mazda 3 and Civic 1.6 today. Below is my comparison between both the cars. Driver seat Mazda gives a slightly better feel compared to Civic. In terms of width, it feels a little bit tight in the M3 (might be due to the way I sit). One thing that slightly annoyed me on the Civic is the steering wheel blocking part of the dashboard (I like to keep my steering wheel low). Rear seat Civic's wins in terms of space by a very significant amount. In terms of comfort, feedback from missus is that Civic's seat feels better and Mazda's was a bit too hard. Overall interior quality Mazda wins hands down on this. In terms of "plushness", the difference is still significant between the M3 and M6 (thickness of the cushioning is pretty thin on the M3). Civic interior is like your typical B&B car with tons of plastic. Driving and Handling The feel and handling of both car is very different so it's a matter of preference here. Mazda definitely feels much heavier when moving off (a bit like driving my father's old MPV) but it's still pretty much alright in terms of power and for overtaking in Singapore. There's always the option of flooring the accelerator and setting it to sports mode if I wanted to. Brake-wise, you need to be a bit more heavy-footed to make the car come to a stop. Turning-wise, it's pretty interesting as I don't feel the typical body-sway. Because of the design of the car, there are also more blind spots to take note of. Civic is pretty responsive in terms of moving off and the drive-off is quite easy. It's my first time driving a CVT gearbox and I can still somewhat feel the gearshift. Brake-wise, it's a bit more sensitive so there's a tendency to jam-brake (i'm heavy footed when it comes to braking) Pricing Both M3 and Civic (2019 FL) have OMV >20k so max loan of 60% applies to both. Needless to say, Civic is priced slightly more attractively. The only open question is whether the CVT can last till 10 years (if someone has the answer, do let me know) and how much it will cost to fix it after the warranty ends. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
makeanewcall 3rd Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 (edited) Test drove both the Mazda 3 and Civic 1.6 today. Below is my comparison between both the cars. Driver seat Mazda gives a slightly better feel compared to Civic. In terms of width, it feels a little bit tight in the M3 (might be due to the way I sit). One thing that slightly annoyed me on the Civic is the steering wheel blocking part of the dashboard (I like to keep my steering wheel low). Rear seat Civic's wins in terms of space by a very significant amount. In terms of comfort, feedback from missus is that Civic's seat feels better and Mazda's was a bit too hard. Overall interior quality Mazda wins hands down on this. In terms of "plushness", the difference is still significant between the M3 and M6 (thickness of the cushioning is pretty thin on the M3). Civic interior is like your typical B&B car with tons of plastic. Driving and Handling The feel and handling of both car is very different so it's a matter of preference here. Mazda definitely feels much heavier when moving off (a bit like driving my father's old MPV) but it's still pretty much alright in terms of power and for overtaking in Singapore. There's always the option of flooring the accelerator and setting it to sports mode if I wanted to. Brake-wise, you need to be a bit more heavy-footed to make the car come to a stop. Turning-wise, it's pretty interesting as I don't feel the typical body-sway. Because of the design of the car, there are also more blind spots to take note of. Civic is pretty responsive in terms of moving off and the drive-off is quite easy. It's my first time driving a CVT gearbox and I can still somewhat feel the gearshift. Brake-wise, it's a bit more sensitive so there's a tendency to jam-brake (i'm heavy footed when it comes to braking) Pricing Both M3 and Civic (2019 FL) have OMV >20k so max loan of 60% applies to both. Needless to say, Civic is priced slightly more attractively. The only open question is whether the CVT can last till 10 years (if someone has the answer, do let me know) and how much it will cost to fix it after the warranty ends. civic omv is less than 20k and i believe honda cvts are probably one of the most reliable. will still prefer driving a car with traditional at gear box though. Edited July 6, 2019 by makeanewcall 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SpaceMooMoo 1st Gear July 6, 2019 Share July 6, 2019 civic omv is less than 20k and i believe honda cvts are probably one of the most reliable. will still prefer driving a car with traditional at gear box though. This is the omv for pre-FL. June/July is the first batch of FL Civic and the values from LTA is from May. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...