Watch Part V

Carbon82

4 hours ago, Kopites said:

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/man-challenges-police-take-your-gun-shoot-me-woman-so-hungry-going-faint-swatch-omega-singapore

"Man challenges police to 'take your gun and shoot me', woman complains 'I'm so hungry I'm going to faint': Chaos outside Swatch outlets in Singapore"

Worth it to risk one life or health? Haiz...can never fathom the craze over a watch that merely tell you times. 

I would use the following words to describe them.

1. Gian Png

2. Swa Pah

3. Gong hum (invented by me)

4. Sia sway

please add on as deem fit

😁😬🤪😂🤣

On 3/27/2022 at 10:21 AM, Throttle2 said:

True to the point that they dont know much about watches and history heritage stuff.  And exactly why the current market is fuelled mostly by young entrants excited by starbucks pepsi batman hulk etc. they buy to make a buck and to impress their own kind.   Just like everything else which they buy.

car condo etc.  main motive, ratrace aka to impress peers

Long time back I knew a manager at a dealership and asked  him how it all worked, and he said that when they got allocated a batch of , say PP 5711,  it would literally have to go to the CEO to choose who should get it, and would involve meetings with branch managers. It wasn't just a case of who asked first, more like a strategic business decision on who would be most likely to spend more money with them recurringly, like father to son kind. So I doubt the young entrants would get lucky if its just a one-off to impress. 

For rolex, which i've been eyeing on and off since I started working decades ago, I think they're trying to move the steel sports models closer to the APs of the world. I've always felt Rolex was the aspirational,  common watch for someone who wanted to drop a serious amount of money, but still achievable, as a reward for having done alrite. Now I think they want that guy to buy a Tudor, and for Rolex to move into a higher market segment for a guy willing to drop $20k+. Again, its a hyper-exclusive waiting list and if they think you fit, they'll call you in 6 months. As I don't, I'll keep posting my seikos on here. :D

37 minutes ago, Karoon said:

Long time back I knew a manager at a dealership and asked  him how it all worked, and he said that when they got allocated a batch of , say PP 5711,  it would literally have to go to the CEO to choose who should get it, and would involve meetings with branch managers. It wasn't just a case of who asked first, more like a strategic business decision on who would be most likely to spend more money with them recurringly, like father to son kind. So I doubt the young entrants would get lucky if its just a one-off to impress. 

For rolex, which i've been eyeing on and off since I started working decades ago, I think they're trying to move the steel sports models closer to the APs of the world. I've always felt Rolex was the aspirational,  common watch for someone who wanted to drop a serious amount of money, but still achievable, as a reward for having done alrite. Now I think they want that guy to buy a Tudor, and for Rolex to move into a higher market segment for a guy willing to drop $20k+. Again, its a hyper-exclusive waiting list and if they think you fit, they'll call you in 6 months. As I don't, I'll keep posting my seikos on here. :D

You can bet i already knew all these and more, right?  Perhaps you missed my earlier point.

The young entrants are buying off the Grey as retail pieces got harder and harder to buy in the last 2 years. And they just keep chasing.  So they fuel most of the price rise together with the sly dealers who already have been doing it years ago.  

in fact i just sold one of my modern rolexes, barely hours ago to a 20something girl.   Most young people dont understand or truly appreciate watches, they just want new, no scratches, box and papers, whatever their peers think is cool.  doesnt matter if every other person is wearing it in the office.  In fact all the better becos they need the assurance, the recognition and the security from others to know that they are wearing a watch in the tens of thousands

old seasoned fogeys like me preferred more individualistic stuff, that tells stories.  Its not that we hate everything new.  
we also rather not see another person wear the same watch as us in the workplace, the hotel lounge, the bar, the hawker center, the mall, the country club etc…   Uniqueness and individuality is a must to folks like us.   And it’s not about the money either although that always helps.  Some people in here will surely understand.

Take this for example. Tudor’s first Snowflake Submariner with Date ref 7021 circa 1971. 
Who has seen it on another wrist before ? Who knows its significance?
Who can tell its true value?  😎😙  yeah maybe Google can. 😜 

image.jpg

Edited by Throttle2

6 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

You can bet i already knew all these and more, right?  Perhaps you missed my earlier point.

The young entrants are buying off the Grey as retail pieces got harder and harder to buy in the last 2 years. And they just keep chasing.  So they fuel most of the price rise together with the sly dealers who already have been doing it years ago.  

in fact i just sold one of my modern rolexes, barely hours ago to a 20something girl.   Most young people dont understand or truly appreciate watches, they just want new, no scratches, box and papers, whatever their peers think is cool.  doesnt matter if every other person is wearing it in the office.  In fact all the better becos they need the assurance, the recognition and the security from others to know that they are wearing a watch in the tens of thousands

old seasoned fogeys like me preferred more individualistic stuff, that tells stories.  Its not that we hate everything new.  
we also rather not see another person wear the same watch as us in the workplace, the hotel lounge, the bar, the hawker center, the mall, the country club etc…   Uniqueness and individuality is a must to folks like us.   And it’s not about the money either although that always helps.  Some people in here will surely understand.

Take this for example. Tudor’s first Snowflake Submariner with Date ref 7021 circa 1971. 
Who has seen it on another wrist before ? Who knows its significance?
Who can tell its true value?  😎😙  yeah maybe Google can. 😜 

image.jpg

Lol.... ofcos I know you know... just latching on to a convenient post 

23 hours ago, Wt_know said:

walan ehh ... so lao kui ... so fast colour came off liao ar

cheap is cheap for a reason? no QC ar? 

say made in swiss but i think more like make in china...maybe open up and will be able to see something like "made in china"...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

55 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Time to summon the spoke person from Ministry of MSS to educate the public :D:D

image.png.ba6a631cc2c9c517332d5bc95b8c0ef5.png

Eh!  last time got this keechiu in MCF always searching Radx  😆 forgot his name ...... MIA?? 

56 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Eh!  last time got this keechiu in MCF always searching Radx  😆 forgot his name ...... MIA?? 

Maybe radx ban him.

years ago in a big GLC, saw a younger colleague rushing around to secure a 10k loan for his house renovation.  the kink he ran into was that the house was in his parents name and not his.  when i found out the loan amount was 10k , I looked at the green sub on his wrist and went WTF?  he's probably a graduate of the Hour Glass buy a sub for $400 per mth installment program - just my guess... 

Tudor Black Bay Pro with GMT function (Tudor's version of Rolex Explorer II). [inlove]

Tudor-Black-Bay-Pro-2022-S386144-scaled.

Tudor-Black-Bay-pro-2022-S386327-groupsh

Model: Black Bay Pro

Reference Number:  M79470

Case Diameter: 39mm

Caliber: Manufacture Calibre MT5652 (COSC) 

Power Reserve: 70 hours

50 minutes ago, Lotr said:

What is the waiting time for this? 😂🙏

Screenshot_20220330-144710.jpg

Need to queue overnight or ask policeman to shoot me or not? 😆

1 hour ago, Lotr said:

What is the waiting time for this? 😂🙏

Screenshot_20220330-144710.jpg

For left hander leh... Anyway, will this be called the 'Starbucks', since we already have Pepsi, Coke and Root Beer? 

47 minutes ago, RH1667 said:

Need to queue overnight or ask policeman to shoot me or not? 😆

Buyer must first pass a verification test by writing 'I Love Rolex GMT Master II' using their left hand in front of the boutique staff, to prove that they are left hander and the genuine buyer . :D:D

Else call police to shoot them for... Aiyah whatever reason lah. None of my business since I am not a left hander.