Another Starhub doozy

Neutrino

All you layman....

I design optic communication ic for a living. Depends on the modulation format used, like pam4 or qam, there are information stored in the amplitude so u cannot saturate the signal.

i follow this topic as i had problem with my broadband - and later fibre - before also.

also heard many many excuses reasons that singtel gave before, so i'm interested to learn more.

and i am non-techie and very layman type.

Can confirm and tell you're really expert leh...

but hor, can pls help to explain your high-level reason in laymen terms to help us understand?

Thank you TS for posting.

My wife didn't believe when I told her the computer crashed because

the signal strength too strong,

Now you posted what an expert SH tech has said

she cannot not believe me any more.

Credibility is the only true currency.

why don't your wife believe you?

lied too often?

Edited by Kopites

All you layman....

I design optic communication ic for a living. Depends on the modulation format used, like pam4 or qam, there are information stored in the amplitude so u cannot saturate the signal.

sounded very professional.

but talk mean no talk...what did you meant? laymen

Yeah, I mean digital home phone.

Whatever the reason for the 'too strong signal' I can't understand why everything has been working fine since December 2018 and suddenly the system crashes.

My sil has not made any changes to electrical equipment in her HDB or around the fiber installation equipment.

Also why has no one else in her HDB block had the same problem.

I guess Starhub has now come up with innovative excuses.

I had the same issue from SH before. But mine was mostly intermittent disconnections.....not fully crashed.

They came and change the fiber modem. After that it was better

But till today, the TV box still randomly hang, so need to sometimes on-off to start again. But happen infrequently, so I just live with it since I don't watch TV too much.

My sil who has had fiber internet and phone for 9 years or so and had fiber TV installed last December had all her fiber connections fail a few days ago.  Nothing, nowt, zilch on TV, internet and phone.

A Starhub technician was at her HDB yesterday and diagnosed that the fiber signal strength was too great and the fiber termination point box could not cope with the high strength of signal and an Open net/Net Link will have to send a technician to sort it out.

Although her system has been working well for four months it seems strange that it failed because the signal was too strong.

That's why TPG is my backup data connection  :grin: , SH's fibre backend a little unstable.

That's why TPG is my backup data connection :grin: , SH's fibre backend a little unstable.

how did you use the tpg as back up? you mean mifi?

All you layman....

Sibei cheeeem....

So is it due to Nick Fury's pager signal or not?

if it is indeed "too strong" like what you say,  then it should be Starhub's issue to provide the right equipments (the right fiber modem, the right wireless router, etc). The signal comes from them.

What has that got to do with Open Net? Open net is just the guy who lay the fiber cables and end at the termination box.

Ok, I'm not too familiar with the fibre part.

But my guess is this,

Previously, on SH cable network, they control all the parts, the coax amplifiers, the fibre distribution, IP routers, switchers, etc.. end-to-end.

Now this open-net thingy, I think SH only controls the network end, the front end which connects to the home subscriber is under the charge of open-net, so that is why they say they need to get open-net involved.

Open-net controls all the fibre ends to the consumer place.

So all the ISP, like Singnet, SH, M1 etc...has to pass through open-net.

ISPs only do the top end routing to the Internet world. They don't control the consumer end fibres which is owned by Open-net.

i follow this topic as i had problem with my broadband - and later fibre - before also.

also heard many many excuses reasons that singtel gave before, so i'm interested to learn more.

and i am non-techie and very layman type.

Can confirm and tell you're really expert leh...

but hor, can pls help to explain your high-level reason in laymen terms to help us understand?

If the signal does not use complex modulation, it is usually called NRZ signal which means there are two states, 1 and -1. In this case, it does not matter if you saturate the signal as a 1000 or 100 or 1 will be detected as 1 and -1000 will be detected as 0. 

In PAM4 modulation, there are actually 4 levels per symbol used to encode 2 bits. So there is a difference between Very high signal and moderate signal. In such a case, you need to maintain linearity else you cannot differentiate between 11 and 10.

Usually fiber optics use complex modulation to increase the transfer rate. 

I got publish papers :) at least my name is inside. Probably more than some NUS lecturers :)

ISSCC, the most prestigious conference in IC design. NUS some years don't even have one paper. 

My wife and I were discussing how my profession is totally useless in everyday life and our kids should be doctor or lawyer, at least can threaten to sue people....

Edited by Wind30

If the signal does not use complex modulation, it is usually called NRZ signal which means there are two states, 1 and -1. In this case, it does not matter if you saturate the signal as a 1000 or 100 or 1 will be detected as 1 and -1000 will be detected as 0.

In PAM4 modulation, there are actually 4 levels per symbol used to encode 2 bits. So there is a difference between Very high signal and moderate signal. In such a case, you need to maintain linearity else you cannot differentiate between 11 and 10.

I got publish papers :) at least my name is inside. Probably more than some NUS lecturers :)

ISSCC, the most prestigious conference in IC design. NUS some years don't even have one paper.

My wife and I were discussing how my profession is totally useless in everyday life and our kids should be doctor or lawyer, at least can threaten to sue people....

you know what!

you can become a politican.

your so call laymen explanation make me even more inferior and certain I am a IT idiot.

you know what!

you can become a politican.

your so call laymen explanation make me even more inferior and certain I am a IT idiot.

maybe draw a simple cartoon diagram to explain easier to understand.

all the signals can be represented as SIN wave ....... if the signal are somehow amplified up , i think it is possible receiver will just get a flat line .... 

the funny thing is only 1 household kana ..... 

All this fibre optics stuff is actually very simple.

Imagine at one end is someone with a flash light.

He sends a signal by switching on and off the light very quickly.

Some one at the other end interprets the signal to decode what the message is.

See pic 1

However if the flash light is too powerful you get blinded by the light and cannot

tell when the light is off or on and cannot interpret the signal. Its just a white out.

See pic 2

Pic 1

man-searching-at-night-with-a-torch-or-f

Pic 2

img0007.png

i was completely right in recognising an expert when i see one.

But me gen was maybe the beginning or front runners of widespread computer usage, and i was the laggard among my peers. Even when i started working, also didn't have a PC for the first couple of years. Only on 3rd yr, then company bought PC for everyone and slowly learn to use mixture of DOS (Wordstar) and Win 3.1...

So hor, your attempt at simplifying the explanation, while commendable, still needs more work leh. Remember, got people - like me - quite clueless when it comes to tech terms...

All you layman....

Eh...

Dunno what you are talking about but I can definitely say you do are wrong.

I only lay women, not man.

My sil who has had fiber internet and phone for 9 years or so and had fiber TV installed last December had all her fiber connections fail a few days ago. Nothing, nowt, zilch on TV, internet and phone.

A Starhub technician was at her HDB yesterday and diagnosed that the fiber signal strength was too great and the fiber termination point box could not cope with the high strength of signal and an Open net/Net Link will have to send a technician to sort it out.

Although her system has been working well for four months it seems strange that it failed because the signal was too strong.

Apparently no one else in her block had developed this fault.

Anyone else here heard of this type of problem and how soon can it be repaired?

PS

My sil is even less of a techie than I am, if you can imagine that ha ha.

Seriously, signal too strong?

I laughing my toes off :D

The Optical network terminal that connects to the NLT fiber will get signal from the splitter that will share with other subscribers as this is Gpon technology. If signal too strong means,

1) other subscribers sharing the same splitter will have the same too strong signal problem

2) the splitter itself actually attenuates the signal from the central office, which complies with the head end eqpt specifications. Again, if non compliances, it will affect alot of subscribers, not only one.

So damn bulls**t :D