Ct3833 Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 8 hours ago, Icedbs said: Well, finally a pro-active step rather than a reactive step of telling people to use mask only when they are sick so as to save mask supplies for other groups. Honestly, is it that hard to setup a mask factory or incentivise some suppliers to modify their factory line to make mask in one corner of their factory? It is not a rocket science product. $30k can buy a mask manufacturing machine liao, of course that is probably not a high end equipment. Taobao have . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 8 hours ago, Enye said: dunno why you all so happy... even if build mask factory, the masks produced will also not be for everyone during crisis times just for the people in the medical industry (and maybe the elite group) to use lah peasants still need to queue up and buy imported masks or please don't wear masks unless you are sick 🤣 It is have vs dont have, and we have to make a first step. Even China has so many mask factory, yet they are facing shortage now, imagine what if they do not have their mask factory? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 Dear all, allow me to share something. Anti bacteria is not as effective as Antiseptic if you are looking to destroy/kill most virus. In short, you must use antiseptic solution first before you use anti bac wipes or cleaners. If you have antibac wipes, pour a small/just the bottle cap/ cup of antiseptic solution into the wipes packet and allow a soak through. In this way it will not be too harsh on your skin and at same time achieve both purposes. Also, you can dilute antiseptic solution with water into a spray bottle to use as daily spray on toilet bowls and wash basin. 10 ml antiseptic to 600ml of water. Need not spend too much on sanitizers, as most of them are for anti bac purpose. If you are in office, bring along a piece of soap( no need for anti bacteria) . It works as well. Lastly, get more sun if possible. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 9 minutes ago, commonjunks said: Are they going to use this picture as stock to teach kids in school on how not to hoard (women kena for no reason, her basket seems got only a few things). its ok lah, her face was covered ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 1 minute ago, Ct3833 said: It is have vs dont have, and we have to make a first step. Even China has so many mask factory, yet they are facing shortage now, imagine what if they do not have their mask factory? Hi, I never use face mask unless I am at work for the few critical hours. The face mask most of you have is useless against this virus unless you use the FFP or surgical N95 complete with shield. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 25 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Smallpox, Measles and Chickenpox used to be very infectious viruses and caused widespread panic as well. As soon as the vaccines are developed and everyone gets a shot of it for each disease, nobody now pays attention to them anymore. Why are ppl still into surgical mask, a thin piece of disposable designed for hygiene application for healthcare workers? It's not even clinically tested against viruses. "Some kinda protection is better than none" mentality is exactly that false sense of security ppl have. Hoarding mask is helping no one. The behaviour of any virus is the same. It invades a healthy cell in our body and multiply and spreads itself. Antiviral vaccine has the potential to slow this behaviour, stifle the virus multiplication such that our body's immune system is able to fight it off. It's more sustainable than any unproven mask out there. You guys can hoard as much mask as you like. I will just give you the look and roll my eyes. Personally I don't see masks as a false sense of security. No one has said categorically that a mask doesn't work. If it reduces possibility of catching virus by even 5% then I'm all for it. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 1 hour ago, Galantspeedz said: What's there to be frustrated about? Is either a Yes or a No.... Cos he say yes, he's gonna be in trouble for lying or in trouble financially unless he is really able to start a mask factory. He say no, the unspoken message is then y say so much when you not gonna do anything. So it's like what the other person say NB YDCB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 (edited) 16 minutes ago, Krieger said: Hi, I never use face mask unless I am at work for the few critical hours. The face mask most of you have is useless against this virus unless you use the FFP or surgical N95 complete with shield. Thanks for sharing. I am sure the ministers would consult experts before deciding what type of mask to produce, if they ever really decide to go ahead to produce masks. I am unable to comment on the effectiveness of a mask, but there must be reasons in cities like wuhan in China is making sure everyone on the street is wearing a mask. Edited February 19, 2020 by Ct3833 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 26 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Smallpox, Measles and Chickenpox used to be very infectious viruses and caused widespread panic as well. As soon as the vaccines are developed and everyone gets a shot of it for each disease, nobody now pays attention to them anymore. Why are ppl still into surgical mask, a thin piece of disposable designed for hygiene application for healthcare workers? It's not even clinically tested against viruses. "Some kinda protection is better than none" mentality is exactly that false sense of security ppl have. Hoarding mask is helping no one. The behaviour of any virus is the same. It invades a healthy cell in our body and multiply and spreads itself. Antiviral vaccine has the potential to slow this behaviour, stifle the virus multiplication such that our body's immune system is able to fight it off. It's more sustainable than any unproven mask out there. You guys can hoard as much mask as you like. I will just give you the look and roll my eyes. You sure know a lot more than those guys in China, the epicenter of the outbreak, and where not wearing masks means not going out. Read the letter from the 4 good doctors, some of them having survived SARS. Masks not being 100% effective preventing infection is not an excuse for not preparing enough stockpile of masks for contingencies like this. Even N95 is not 100% effective, just look at the number of healthcare workers infected in China. It doesn't mean telling HCW no need to wear them. I think there is a difference between prioritising the limited stockpile (due to inadequate planning or whatever reasons) for HCW first, and outright saying wearing masks when healthy is irresponsible, idiotic and ineffective. 17 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 (edited) South Korea has a fairly big jump of 20 confirmed cases over the night, it shows that we have to continue to play our part to help contain the situation locally, we are not out of the woods yet though we are seeing encouraging declining trend over the last 2 days. https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/south-korea-to-announce-about-10-new-cases-of-coronavirus-yonhap Edited February 19, 2020 by Ct3833 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 7 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: You sure know a lot more than those guys in China, the epicenter of the outbreak, and where not wearing masks means not going out. Read the letter from the 4 good doctors, some of them having survived SARS. Masks not being 100% effective preventing infection is not an excuse for not preparing enough stockpile of masks for contingencies like this. Even N95 is not 100% effective, just look at the number of healthcare workers infected in China. It doesn't mean telling HCW no need to wear them. I think there is a difference between prioritising the limited stockpile (due to inadequate planning or whatever reasons) for HCW first, and outright saying wearing masks when healthy is irresponsible, idiotic and ineffective. Could have given you more "likes" if I can. It really shouldn't be taken lightly considering that everyone is still second guessing the nature of this virus. We don't know 100% of this virus yet. If I can spare a mask and I have to be in a situation which calls for more precautions (crowded enclosed / air conditioned areas), I too would want to wear one whenever possible. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 (edited) 3 hours ago, therock said: Haha Dale Fisher, another friend and colleague. The guy in the cartoon can PCC till kingdom cum (no typo) with his hand lotion. 😂 Edited February 19, 2020 by Turboflat4 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 Never wore a mask since this whole storm in a teacup started, just took the usual precautions, and still going around without a sniffle. Seriously if want to put a stop to this panic-buying, govt only need to step back to dorscon yellow, announce this, and it's all back to normal ... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 43 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Smallpox, Measles and Chickenpox used to be very infectious viruses and caused widespread panic as well. As soon as the vaccines are developed and everyone gets a shot of it for each disease, nobody now pays attention to them anymore. Why are ppl still into surgical mask, a thin piece of disposable designed for hygiene application for healthcare workers? It's not even clinically tested against viruses. "Some kinda protection is better than none" mentality is exactly that false sense of security ppl have. Hoarding mask is helping no one. The behaviour of any virus is the same. It invades a healthy cell in our body and multiply and spreads itself. Antiviral vaccine has the potential to slow this behaviour, stifle the virus multiplication such that our body's immune system is able to fight it off. It's more sustainable than any unproven mask out there. You guys can hoard as much mask as you like. I will just give you the look and roll my eyes. If Covid only affects Singapore and supply of masks is aplenty, I am rolling my eyes and wondering if the message will be any different. But I don't blame G for the mask shortage. It is just not realistic to stockpile 1 billion masks - 6 months supply for 5-6 million people. That is $100-200m to burn for a high impact but extremely low probability event. I am not wearing masks now as the risk is still low but will start to do so in crowded places when the number of confirmed cases in SG exceeds the number of beds we have and infected people with mild symptoms are asked to stay home, rest and get well. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 14 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said: Could have given you more "likes" if I can. It really shouldn't be taken lightly considering that everyone is still second guessing the nature of this virus. We don't know 100% of this virus yet. If I can spare a mask and I have to be in a situation which calls for more precautions (crowded enclosed / air conditioned areas), I too would want to wear one whenever possible. doctors wear mask, nurses wear masks but minister said no need to wear mask. The truth was unveiled when his conversation during a close door meeting with SCCI was unfortunately leaked out.Now we know why he said that. Rightly or wrongly, i shall not comment. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 11 minutes ago, Sosaria said: Never wore a mask since this whole storm in a teacup started, just took the usual precautions, and still going around without a sniffle. Seriously if want to put a stop to this panic-buying, govt only need to step back to dorscon yellow, announce this, and it's all back to normal ... dorscon orange is needed because there are measures and procedures tied to each level especially from orange onwards yellow means keep a watch out see see look look and no specific precautionary measures and compliance red means full compliance (non negotiable) and the risks is considered high and most non essential activities and services could shutdown liao hence, an appropriate dorscon level is critical 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 47 minutes ago, Philipkee said: Cos he say yes, he's gonna be in trouble for lying or in trouble financially unless he is really able to start a mask factory. He say no, the unspoken message is then y say so much when you not gonna do anything. So it's like what the other person say NB YDCB Huh? I suddenly confused 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged February 19, 2020 Share February 19, 2020 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: South Korea has a fairly big jump of 20 confirmed cases over the night, it shows that we have to continue to play our part to help contain the situation locally, we are not out of the woods yet though we are seeing encouraging declining trend over the last 2 days. https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/south-korea-to-announce-about-10-new-cases-of-coronavirus-yonhap ... Church claster again.. Why so many church claster? Is it because they sing song and at the same time also hold hand? Sing out load, the vapour droplets come out from mouth and then fly to another person mouth? Hold hand and then virus pass from one hand to another person hand? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...