Mkl22 Supersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 9:02 AM, Ody_2004 said: True.. the new way is to swap parts and pray it works.. but at the expense of paying customer.. what is the real part spoiled may not know as they tim kum tim kum too.. Recently i sent my vintage Audio Amp to repair.. even if technician cannot repair due to his incompetency also got charges! lucky able to repair with a day.. $230.... no parts change..... parts too cheap to bother repair. Also for old amps sometimes no more exact same parts and the sound can change with a newer part. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 9:02 AM, Ody_2004 said: True.. the new way is to swap parts and pray it works.. but at the expense of paying customer.. what is the real part spoiled may not know as they tim kum tim kum too.. Recently i sent my vintage Audio Amp to repair.. even if technician cannot repair due to his incompetency also got charges! lucky able to repair with a day.. $230.... no parts change..... What was initially spoilt then? 🤔 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 (edited) On 6/30/2024 at 9:19 AM, Mkl22 said: parts too cheap to bother repair. Also for old amps sometimes no more exact same parts and the sound can change with a newer part. yeah.. parts replacement is a challenge as most old transistor are obsolete.. need a cross reference bible.. On 6/30/2024 at 9:30 AM, mersaylee said: What was initially spoilt then? 🤔 i am to blame lah.. i itchy hand wanna replace a switch of the speaker selector as the indicator was flickering.. i ordered parts from Mouser, parts arrived open up the amp then see liao my skills and equipment not enuff to do the replacement.. then since open liao saw some dry solder joint (typical of old amp) i touched up abit.. knn when fit back everything.. ON.. boh sound as the Servo control din switch on.. i sure i din short any parts as i measure every point i re-soldered.. sigh the switch was just $2.50 each but shipment $24 from Biden country.. so if hand boh itchy i no need spend the $230.. I did asked him what wrong.. he said no short.. some dry solder which he touch up.. the switch no replace just clean.. ZZZzzz... Edited June 30, 2024 by Ody_2004 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 (edited) On 6/30/2024 at 9:46 AM, Ody_2004 said: yeah.. parts replacement is a challenge as most old transistor are obsolete.. need a cross reference bible.. i am to blame lah.. i itchy hand wanna replace a switch of the speaker selector as the indicator was flickering.. i ordered parts from Mouser, parts arrived open up the amp then see liao my skills and equipment not enuff to do the replacement.. then since open liao saw some dry solder joint (typical of old amp) i touched up abit.. knn when fit back everything.. ON.. boh sound as the Servo control din switch on.. i sure i din short any parts as i measure every point i re-soldered.. sigh the switch was just $2.50 each but shipment $24 from Biden country.. so if hand boh itchy i no need spend the $230.. I did asked him what wrong.. he said no short.. some dry solder which he touch up.. the switch no replace just clean.. ZZZzzz... Note to self...hand itchy go pah game...dint waste time and money try be a repairman...😂 Is that your hobby desk or repairman tan jiak desk? 😁 Edited June 30, 2024 by mersaylee 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 9:51 AM, mersaylee said: Note to self...hand itchy go pah game...dint waste time and money try be a repairman...😂 Is that your hobby desk or repairman tan jiak desk? 😁 If i got such setup i DIY liao.. then not in this Simple DIY thread liao! whahahahahahaha.. he got a workshop in his apartment.. cannot visit de... you send him the amp in his KITCHEN.. really kitchen...it's a 2 storey condo in the east.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 10:01 AM, Ody_2004 said: If i got such setup i DIY liao.. then not in this Simple DIY thread liao! whahahahahahaha.. he got a workshop in his apartment.. cannot visit de... you send him the amp in his KITCHEN.. really kitchen...it's a 2 storey condo in the east.. Pls pm me his contact. I have 2 same sound bar with woofers that need attention. Both bars are working fine...one woofer has power issue...often need at least 20mins if at all to power on...the other has bluetooth pairing signal drop out intermittently...sibeh pehchek...especially when i watch movies like top gun...suddenly the F18 afterburner macam lamborghini bov liddat...piak piak piak...😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 9:46 AM, Ody_2004 said: yeah.. parts replacement is a challenge as most old transistor are obsolete.. need a cross reference bible.. i am to blame lah.. i itchy hand wanna replace a switch of the speaker selector as the indicator was flickering.. i ordered parts from Mouser, parts arrived open up the amp then see liao my skills and equipment not enuff to do the replacement.. then since open liao saw some dry solder joint (typical of old amp) i touched up abit.. knn when fit back everything.. ON.. boh sound as the Servo control din switch on.. i sure i din short any parts as i measure every point i re-soldered.. sigh the switch was just $2.50 each but shipment $24 from Biden country.. so if hand boh itchy i no need spend the $230.. I did asked him what wrong.. he said no short.. some dry solder which he touch up.. the switch no replace just clean.. ZZZzzz... Touch up solder… knn $230? Limpeh do for you for free. 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 10:55 AM, Mkl22 said: Touch up solder… knn $230? Limpeh do for you for free. 🤣 i oso got feeling tio con.. but then skill and experience is what we paying for loh.. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 9:46 AM, Ody_2004 said: yeah.. parts replacement is a challenge as most old transistor are obsolete.. need a cross reference bible.. i am to blame lah.. i itchy hand wanna replace a switch of the speaker selector as the indicator was flickering.. i ordered parts from Mouser, parts arrived open up the amp then see liao my skills and equipment not enuff to do the replacement.. then since open liao saw some dry solder joint (typical of old amp) i touched up abit.. knn when fit back everything.. ON.. boh sound as the Servo control din switch on.. i sure i din short any parts as i measure every point i re-soldered.. sigh the switch was just $2.50 each but shipment $24 from Biden country.. so if hand boh itchy i no need spend the $230.. I did asked him what wrong.. he said no short.. some dry solder which he touch up.. the switch no replace just clean.. ZZZzzz... You replaced parts without testing with a digital multimeter ? MIC DMM quite cheap these days, but decent quality, cheaper than your shipping fee. E.g. this one $16 nia (https://s.lazada.sg/s.YAm58) Also, better to get from components shipped from local, RS-online or element14. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 (edited) On 6/30/2024 at 9:19 AM, Mkl22 said: parts too cheap to bother repair. Also for old amps sometimes no more exact same parts and the sound can change with a newer part. Unlike the new amps all using tiny SMD integrated chips, vintage amps no need exact parts, just matching capacitors and transistors, these ones more often need replacement due to age. If along the circuit sometimes diodes or resistors need replacement, if affected by leaked capacitors or blown transistors. Switches and pots are quite generic. Get good quality audio-grade MIJ components, to maintain the sound. Rubycon or Nichicon capacitors are good. Edited June 30, 2024 by Acieed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 (edited) On 6/30/2024 at 12:33 PM, Acieed said: You replaced parts without testing with a digital multimeter ? MIC DMM quite cheap these days, but decent quality, cheaper than your shipping fee. E.g. this one $16 nia (https://s.lazada.sg/s.YAm58) Also, better to get from components shipped from local, RS-online or element14. Got use multimeter.. i repaired a Sony vintage amp speaker relay, recap all electrolytic cap on a HH Scott amp before, replaced a Harman Karmon CD player lens etc.. but when i on open up this Onkyo Amp wah biang.. need to dismantle alot to access different board... I used to use element14.. $50 above is free shipping if i not wrong.. the switch is not available on element14 so LL need to use Mouser.. RS-Online seem not cheap too.. element14 not all stocks local.. got one time my order split into different batches as some direct from BidenLand too.. Edited June 30, 2024 by Ody_2004 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 9:46 AM, Ody_2004 said: yeah.. parts replacement is a challenge as most old transistor are obsolete.. need a cross reference bible.. i am to blame lah.. i itchy hand wanna replace a switch of the speaker selector as the indicator was flickering.. i ordered parts from Mouser, parts arrived open up the amp then see liao my skills and equipment not enuff to do the replacement.. then since open liao saw some dry solder joint (typical of old amp) i touched up abit.. knn when fit back everything.. ON.. boh sound as the Servo control din switch on.. i sure i din short any parts as i measure every point i re-soldered.. sigh the switch was just $2.50 each but shipment $24 from Biden country.. so if hand boh itchy i no need spend the $230.. I did asked him what wrong.. he said no short.. some dry solder which he touch up.. the switch no replace just clean.. ZZZzzz... IMHO. Maybe can look at DeoxIT for some cleaning. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 12:45 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. Maybe can look at DeoxIT for some cleaning. yeah but hard to reach... need to dismantle those flimsy cables... as with age and hot working environment they trend to be brittle.. so scare to remove.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 12:45 PM, Ody_2004 said: Got use multimeter.. i repaired a Sony vintage amp speaker relay, recap all electrolytic cap on a HH Scott amp before, replaced a Harman Karmon CD player lens etc.. but when i on open up this Onkyo Amp wah biang.. need to dismantle alot to access different board... I used to use element14.. $50 above is free shipping if i not wrong.. the switch is not available on element14 so LL need to use Mouser.. RS-Online seem not cheap too.. element14 not all stocks local.. got one time my order split into different batches as some direct from BidenLand too.. Then you must use multimeter to test the continuation of the circuit after your soldered. The repair shop probably did the same and found an open circuit. But yeah, some amps not so repair-friendly, need to dismantle a lot of things. Yeah, element14 got minimum purchase but it's lower than RS-online. I would try to add a few more commonly used parts into the purchase, keep for future use. Caps and resistors. It used to be much easier to buy on RS-online before COVID, now the shipping can be quite pricey. If die die just want to buy just one component, will head down to SLT. Bring component down if need to be exact, but usually just need to match spec and measurement. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 12:55 PM, Acieed said: Then you must use multimeter to test the continuation of the circuit after your soldered. The repair shop probably did the same and found an open circuit. But yeah, some amps not so repair-friendly, need to dismantle a lot of things. Yeah, element14 got minimum purchase but it's lower than RS-online. I would try to add a few more commonly used parts into the purchase, keep for future use. Caps and resistors. It used to be much easier to buy on RS-online before COVID, now the shipping can be quite pricey. If die die just want to buy just one component, will head down to SLT. Bring component down if need to be exact, but usually just need to match spec and measurement. yeah i still waiting to consolidate parts in my Element14 account where currently just have a 3.3K ohm resistor! whahahahhahaa.. During my school days SLT is a place i go often.. din been there easily 25 years oredi.. last time got a shop think Bell electronics where can easily source for components.. now with SMD or integrated not sure what is easily available.. the 3.3k 0.5W is a 8 weeks wait! crazy.. last time is just over the counter.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 1:01 PM, Ody_2004 said: yeah i still waiting to consolidate parts in my Element14 account where currently just have a 3.3K ohm resistor! whahahahhahaa.. During my school days SLT is a place i go often.. din been there easily 25 years oredi.. last time got a shop think Bell electronics where can easily source for components.. now with SMD or integrated not sure what is easily available.. the 3.3k 0.5W is a 8 weeks wait! crazy.. last time is just over the counter.. SLT getting old but still can get quite a lot of components, but need to walk around and check/ask. Online can search so it's easier to look for rare components, sometimes can also get from eBay (usually from China) but risk getting fake components (yes, even thirty-cent component also can fake). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 (edited) On 6/30/2024 at 12:48 PM, Ody_2004 said: yeah but hard to reach... need to dismantle those flimsy cables... as with age and hot working environment they trend to be brittle.. so scare to remove.. IMHO. Need to be gusty to do that. I recall a long while back, I decided to "operate" on an old computer, took out the motherboard to clean it with a brush - I broke a capacitor. 🤣 P.S. I feel local environmental conditions, not really plus for electronics. Edited June 30, 2024 by Kklee 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 1:35 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. Need to be gusty to do that. I recall a long while back, I decided to "operate" on an old computer, took out the motherboard to clean it with a brush - I broke a capacitor. 🤣 P.S. I feel local environmental conditions, not really plus for electronics. Electrolytic capacitor cheap and easy to replace. They tend to bulge, dry or leak after some years (especially MIC ones don't last long) anyway. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...