Mkl22 Supersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 (edited) On 6/30/2024 at 12:38 PM, Acieed said: Unlike the new amps all using tiny SMD integrated chips, vintage amps no need exact parts, just matching capacitors and transistors, these ones more often need replacement due to age. If along the circuit sometimes diodes or resistors need replacement, if affected by leaked capacitors or blown transistors. Switches and pots are quite generic. Get good quality audio-grade MIJ components, to maintain the sound. Rubycon or Nichicon capacitors are good. Once you change the brand of transistors and caps you can change the sound. Maybe left and right no longer “balanced”. So need to change both sides. that’s why when I recone speakers need to do all. But then nowadays I cannot be bothered liao. Cheaper to just use headphone and songs in digital format in flash memory. Less shit to break. with CDs vinyls. Transport can break and more stuff to maintain. Too much of a hassle for me. iPhone plus a good pair of headphones ok liao. Then can also turn it up without family members kpkb that i listen too loud. Edited June 30, 2024 by Mkl22 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 1:35 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. Need to be gusty to do that. I recall a long while back, I decided to "operate" on an old computer, took out the motherboard to clean it with a brush - I broke a capacitor. 🤣 P.S. I feel local environmental conditions, not really plus for electronics. Yup. Local humidity and heat. Smlj also break. I think I told this before. My mum sent a similar photo frame to California relatives. When I visited 20plus years later. The photo frame still looked new. Whereas the one at home all discolored and faded. Same with the photo. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/29/2024 at 5:34 PM, Lala81 said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/repair-kopitiam-inspiration-netherlands-fans-kettles-rice-cookers-sustainability-4442766 I joined their FB page. But never go to their activities. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 3:46 PM, Mkl22 said: Yup. Local humidity and heat. Smlj also break. I think I told this before. My mum sent a similar photo frame to California relatives. When I visited 20plus years later. The photo frame still looked new. Whereas the one at home all discolored and faded. Same with the photo. IMHO. Yeah, SG is like that.... hard to keep "memories". I made my bomb shelter into a lower humidity area using a dehumidifier. 🤣 In my experience, electronics usually last longer when they are in use, even in standby mode. I wanted to rent those storage locker - the AC ones are ex and the non-AC, the temp and humidity may be an issue. So now figuring out how to do it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 30, 2024 Author Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 3:46 PM, Mkl22 said: Yup. Local humidity and heat. Smlj also break. I think I told this before. My mum sent a similar photo frame to California relatives. When I visited 20plus years later. The photo frame still looked new. Whereas the one at home all discolored and faded. Same with the photo. when i stayed in my parent's place, any computer parts i buy hard to resell. the backplate of the graphics cards etc will oxidise so badly. Haha no buyer will believe it's just 1.5 years old. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 5:02 PM, Lala81 said: when i stayed in my parent's place, any computer parts i buy hard to resell. the backplate of the graphics cards etc will oxidise so badly. Haha no buyer will believe it's just 1.5 years old. IMHO. Near the coast ? 🤔 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 9:46 AM, Ody_2004 said: yeah.. parts replacement is a challenge as most old transistor are obsolete.. need a cross reference bible.. i am to blame lah.. i itchy hand wanna replace a switch of the speaker selector as the indicator was flickering.. i ordered parts from Mouser, parts arrived open up the amp then see liao my skills and equipment not enuff to do the replacement.. then since open liao saw some dry solder joint (typical of old amp) i touched up abit.. knn when fit back everything.. ON.. boh sound as the Servo control din switch on.. i sure i din short any parts as i measure every point i re-soldered.. sigh the switch was just $2.50 each but shipment $24 from Biden country.. so if hand boh itchy i no need spend the $230.. I did asked him what wrong.. he said no short.. some dry solder which he touch up.. the switch no replace just clean.. ZZZzzz... My dad also got lot of vintage amps. He keep it since brand new. I always tell him throw away as new amps are less complicated and drives speakers better.🤣 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 30, 2024 Author Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 5:12 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. Near the coast ? 🤔 facing the sungei pandan canal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 30, 2024 Share June 30, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 6:02 PM, Lala81 said: facing the sungei pandan canal. IMHO. Can consider as coastal. Got chance to be caused by salt content in sea breeze. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear July 2, 2024 Share July 2, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 3:44 PM, Mkl22 said: Once you change the brand of transistors and caps you can change the sound. Maybe left and right no longer “balanced”. So need to change both sides. that’s why when I recone speakers need to do all. But then nowadays I cannot be bothered liao. Cheaper to just use headphone and songs in digital format in flash memory. Less shit to break. with CDs vinyls. Transport can break and more stuff to maintain. Too much of a hassle for me. iPhone plus a good pair of headphones ok liao. Then can also turn it up without family members kpkb that i listen too loud. Old gear more hassle, yes. Nowadays mostly Class D amp, uses less power consumption, less heat, light, small, etc. More convenient, but sound quality still rather different. CD vs lossless not much different, lossless technically is better, but should still go through a good amp. Having said that, there are some cheap TWS headphones that don't even sync L and R properly (sounds like a reverb effect, so people may just accept it). Older CD players were typically built with better preamps, so some people might say they sounded better. Usually, the laser diode becomes weak over time, the motor lasts very long. Similarly, turntable motors typically last quite well. Other parts, plastic parts, rubber belt, etc. less durable. New headphones/amps/headphone amps, basically use and throw, nothing to repair. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 2, 2024 Share July 2, 2024 On 7/2/2024 at 1:07 PM, Acieed said: Old gear more hassle, yes. Nowadays mostly Class D amp, uses less power consumption, less heat, light, small, etc. More convenient, but sound quality still rather different. CD vs lossless not much different, lossless technically is better, but should still go through a good amp. Having said that, there are some cheap TWS headphones that don't even sync L and R properly (sounds like a reverb effect, so people may just accept it). Older CD players were typically built with better preamps, so some people might say they sounded better. Usually, the laser diode becomes weak over time, the motor lasts very long. Similarly, turntable motors typically last quite well. Other parts, plastic parts, rubber belt, etc. less durable. New headphones/amps/headphone amps, basically use and throw, nothing to repair. Heng my Taobao headphone amp donno how many years, use every weekday, didn’t spoil 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic July 2, 2024 Share July 2, 2024 On 7/2/2024 at 6:03 PM, Mustank said: Heng my Taobao headphone amp donno how many years, use every weekday, didn’t spoil No wonder China manufacturers all going belly up! No repeat business! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear July 2, 2024 Share July 2, 2024 On 7/2/2024 at 6:03 PM, Mustank said: Heng my Taobao headphone amp donno how many years, use every weekday, didn’t spoil Use regularly should last longer. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 2, 2024 Share July 2, 2024 On 7/2/2024 at 6:15 PM, Volvobrick said: No wonder China manufacturers all going belly up! No repeat business! This company one 89✔QSw33Zf1JDf💲 https://m.tb.cn/h.g6uA8GfSihbvdrA MF1643 伟良音响DIY they very long in Taobao liao 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 3, 2024 Share July 3, 2024 On 6/27/2024 at 10:21 PM, Kb27 said: My expandable hose leaked at the connector end. So I thought, I'll have to throw it away. On second thoughts, why not see if it's reparable ? I manage to open up the connector, replaced 3 O-rings, still the leak occurs, by now it's quite a lot. It has caked sand/sediment inside where the O-ring sits, I think it's corroded there, replacing O-ring is useless when it can't sit properly to make water tight seal. Took some pictures, zoom in and found indeed it is corroded. It's pitted at the seal. Thankfully, can find replacement connector at Shopee and aliexpress. They are about $5 each. I'll update when I received and repaired the leak. So if you have this kind of expandable hose, don't throw it away too soon. Try to repair. 😁 I got the replacement connector. First thing I noticed is that there's no o-ring or gasket as I know it. Could it make a watertight seal ? I cut the hose and the inner layer which is a flexible rubber hose, slip deep into the outer hose. I had to cut off the extra outer layer, about 1 ft, to get to the inner hose. The inner hose was a bitch to get onto the connector. It was really tight. I pull the rubber hose all the way in, and struggle with getting the hose to grip and screwed on. There's no instruction. Then I plug it back into the tap and it leaked again at the connector. I gave up, went back to sleep, thinking I'd wasted money on this connector. Later, I got inspiration to try and pull back the inner hose a bit off the connector and again struggle with leaks. Now I found 4 pinholes on the rubber, I must have caused it using a flathead screwdriver. Cut off some, and manage to screw in. Now, there's no leak. Although I still have no confidence, I'd leave the tap valve closed until I need to use. The problem is the inner hose is the expandable part. it balloons up with water, without the connector casing and outer hose holding it down. This hose is like 2-piece compared to a 1-piece regular "hard" hose. Not easy to repair. 😩 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged July 3, 2024 Share July 3, 2024 (edited) On 7/3/2024 at 3:09 PM, Kb27 said: I got the replacement connector. First thing I noticed is that there's no o-ring or gasket as I know it. Could it make a watertight seal ? I cut the hose and the inner layer which is a flexible rubber hose, slip deep into the outer hose. I had to cut off the extra outer layer, about 1 ft, to get to the inner hose. The inner hose was a bitch to get onto the connector. It was really tight. I pull the rubber hose all the way in, and struggle with getting the hose to grip and screwed on. There's no instruction. Then I plug it back into the tap and it leaked again at the connector. I gave up, went back to sleep, thinking I'd wasted money on this connector. Later, I got inspiration to try and pull back the inner hose a bit off the connector and again struggle with leaks. Now I found 4 pinholes on the rubber, I must have caused it using a flathead screwdriver. Cut off some, and manage to screw in. Now, there's no leak. Although I still have no confidence, I'd leave the tap valve closed until I need to use. The problem is the inner hose is the expandable part. it balloons up with water, without the connector casing and outer hose holding it down. This hose is like 2-piece compared to a 1-piece regular "hard" hose. Not easy to repair. 😩 This is same style/theory as a simple garden hose connector - which is usually entire made from plastic. Basically your flexible hose goes thru the small brass pipe (below the black coupler) The black coupler fits on top of the flexible hose, as you screw in the bottom brass coupler, its shape will put pressure of the "fingers" of the black plastic coupler which grip and tighten the flexible hose sides against the brass pipe, forming the water-tight seal between the flexible hose and the brass pipe. I find it very effective in garden hoses and here with the ability to exert higher pressures due to the predominant brass construction, seal should be even better. ONE critical key caveat is that the connector and the hose diameter must be compatible size otherwise will leak due to poor fit. Edited July 3, 2024 by t0y0ta Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged July 3, 2024 Share July 3, 2024 On 6/30/2024 at 8:46 AM, Ody_2004 said: yeah.. parts replacement is a challenge as most old transistor are obsolete.. need a cross reference bible.. i am to blame lah.. i itchy hand wanna replace a switch of the speaker selector as the indicator was flickering.. i ordered parts from Mouser, parts arrived open up the amp then see liao my skills and equipment not enuff to do the replacement.. then since open liao saw some dry solder joint (typical of old amp) i touched up abit.. knn when fit back everything.. ON.. boh sound as the Servo control din switch on.. i sure i din short any parts as i measure every point i re-soldered.. sigh the switch was just $2.50 each but shipment $24 from Biden country.. so if hand boh itchy i no need spend the $230.. I did asked him what wrong.. he said no short.. some dry solder which he touch up.. the switch no replace just clean.. ZZZzzz... Looking at this, we guessed your age lah. My Denon is more modern than this. It never spoils. Over here, I have 2 B&O BEOSOUND LEVEL, I think if full blast, whole estate will know I am having party. And superb, good sound. One can put in a fitting bag, carry out go golfing and all people enjoy the music. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 3, 2024 Share July 3, 2024 @Kb27 throw... hahaha just buy a normal garden hose. i have been using mine bought at local hardware shop for 15years... no leaks... pull and yank also no problem. only issue is that it is heavy when loaded with water. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...