13177 Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 10:03 AM, Ody_2004 said: This is so true.. i change them like underwear.. keep leaking.. my parents Rheem 10 years oso no leak.. Keep leaking you still buy back the same brand? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 10:54 AM, 13177 said: Keep leaking you still buy back the same brand? the piping and the bracket can use back loh.. and conceal in false ceiling.. I don like major job at home.. last tuesday just fixed a leak.. the copper pipe outside my unit at my lift lobby leaked.. quoted 450 + 150 ceiling work.. TL change the whole pipe since oredi 25 years old and 2nd time leak.. total $3400... neighbor one oso leak.. so just change the leak portion.. 450... Seem blue collar work now good to earn.. btw all this need PUB submission which i don understand why! whahahahhahaa.. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 Anyone replaced their ceiling lights (florescent/energy saving) ring bulbs to led panels? Looking to buy magnetic led panels to replace all the lighting at my old folks' place. Are those sold at Mr diy or neighbourhood hardware stores good enough? Or better to get from lighting shops? Easy to self diy or get installer? TIA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 11:45 AM, badlammy said: Anyone replaced their ceiling lights (florescent/energy saving) ring bulbs to led panels? Looking to buy magnetic led panels to replace all the lighting at my old folks' place. Are those sold at Mr diy or neighbourhood hardware stores good enough? Or better to get from lighting shops? Easy to self diy or get installer? TIA. I just changed for son's room. Bought a 24W tri-colour one fr Shopee. Just need to remove ballast, choke and clips, connect the wires, and attach to existing light base 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 10:59 AM, Ody_2004 said: the piping and the bracket can use back loh.. and conceal in false ceiling.. I don like major job at home.. last tuesday just fixed a leak.. the copper pipe outside my unit at my lift lobby leaked.. quoted 450 + 150 ceiling work.. TL change the whole pipe since oredi 25 years old and 2nd time leak.. total $3400... neighbor one oso leak.. so just change the leak portion.. 450... Seem blue collar work now good to earn.. btw all this need PUB submission which i don understand why! whahahahhahaa.. They why never buy bmw, since y out are so tolerant with leaks? 🤣 I would have dumped and set fire to that brand long time ago. 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 (edited) On 6/2/2024 at 11:45 AM, badlammy said: Anyone replaced their ceiling lights (florescent/energy saving) ring bulbs to led panels? Looking to buy magnetic led panels to replace all the lighting at my old folks' place. Are those sold at Mr diy or neighbourhood hardware stores good enough? Or better to get from lighting shops? Easy to self diy or get installer? TIA. Led and driver from China quite shitty. Your fluorescent will last longer. My take is either go with LED tubes from osram. Last quite well. But this is only for those 2ft or 4ft tubes. I would leave it as fluorescent tube unless you are ever ready to fix it again. Consume a bit more power never mind. It is the hassle to rush down to fix when they complain not working. Edited June 2, 2024 by Mkl22 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 (edited) On 6/2/2024 at 11:45 AM, badlammy said: Anyone replaced their ceiling lights (florescent/energy saving) ring bulbs to led panels? Looking to buy magnetic led panels to replace all the lighting at my old folks' place. Are those sold at Mr diy or neighbourhood hardware stores good enough? Or better to get from lighting shops? Easy to self diy or get installer? TIA. What's that? Those circular LED with little magnets to stick to existing metal lighting frame? I always keep a few extra around since cheap and easy to replace. Make sure get enough wattage. And just go for single colour. I have lights I don't even remember/know are tri colour although I replaced them myself. Edited June 2, 2024 by Volvobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 10:59 AM, Ody_2004 said: the piping and the bracket can use back loh.. and conceal in false ceiling.. I don like major job at home.. last tuesday just fixed a leak.. the copper pipe outside my unit at my lift lobby leaked.. quoted 450 + 150 ceiling work.. TL change the whole pipe since oredi 25 years old and 2nd time leak.. total $3400... neighbor one oso leak.. so just change the leak portion.. 450... Seem blue collar work now good to earn.. btw all this need PUB submission which i don understand why! whahahahhahaa.. Outside your house also need to pay to fix? Not hdb resp meh? 🤔 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 12:38 PM, mersaylee said: Outside your house also need to pay to fix? Not hdb resp meh? 🤔 Ya, isn’t it condo management or town council problem to fix? Anyway unless massive leak, I’ll let it slowly drip since outside. Won’t cost my meter to run much more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 11:45 AM, badlammy said: Anyone replaced their ceiling lights (florescent/energy saving) ring bulbs to led panels? Looking to buy magnetic led panels to replace all the lighting at my old folks' place. Are those sold at Mr diy or neighbourhood hardware stores good enough? Or better to get from lighting shops? Easy to self diy or get installer? TIA. Quite easy coming from non diy person. More troublesoom to remove the old lighting stuff. Got mine from hardware stores. Heng suay one, sometimes lasted less than 6 months if suay. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 1:14 PM, TangoCharlie said: Quite easy coming from non diy person. More troublesoom to remove the old lighting stuff. Got mine from hardware stores. Heng suay one, sometimes lasted less than 6 months if suay. For own home ok. Not for parents. Old people typically demand you provide immediate service to fix it. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Author Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 1:32 PM, Mkl22 said: For own home ok. Not for parents. Old people typically demand you provide immediate service to fix it. The guy u recommended at my place now. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Author Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 1:37 PM, Lala81 said: The guy u recommended at my place now. OK problem fixed. Heating element replaced. Cost 180 + 40 for concealed ceiling. Thanks @Mkl22. Ken said that replacing the heater would be 600 dollars cos need to remove the false ceiling and reinstate later. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 (edited) On 6/2/2024 at 12:38 PM, mersaylee said: Outside your house also need to pay to fix? Not hdb resp meh? 🤔 Not HDB.. On 6/2/2024 at 12:56 PM, Mkl22 said: Ya, isn’t it condo management or town council problem to fix? Anyway unless massive leak, I’ll let it slowly drip since outside. Won’t cost my meter to run much more. sadly no.. it's owner problem.. anything after meter is owner problem.. they only come and check.. cut hole to see whose unit leak.. then simi lan sai wash hand.. my lobby last time got 4 near centurions old neighbor.. lost 2 liao so trying to keep the other 2 alive by not slip n fall! 🙄 Edited June 2, 2024 by Ody_2004 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Author Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 2:04 PM, Lala81 said: OK problem fixed. Heating element replaced. Cost 180 + 40 for concealed ceiling. Thanks @Mkl22. Ken said that replacing the heater would be 600 dollars cos need to remove the false ceiling and reinstate later. Check out 'Joven Water Heater Repair Power Trip Element', on #Carousell: https://carousell.app.link/lGYljBtR5Jb 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 2:04 PM, Lala81 said: OK problem fixed. Heating element replaced. Cost 180 + 40 for concealed ceiling. Thanks @Mkl22. Ken said that replacing the heater would be 600 dollars cos need to remove the false ceiling and reinstate later. You have not reached resident undertaker standard..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 2:05 PM, Ody_2004 said: Not HDB.. sadly no.. it's owner problem.. anything after meter is owner problem.. they only come and check.. cut hole to see whose unit leak.. then simi lan sai wash hand.. 3k plus seems very expensive. How much work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged June 2, 2024 Share June 2, 2024 On 6/2/2024 at 2:18 PM, Volvobrick said: 3k plus seems very expensive. How much work? basically near full day as need to cut n mend then check for leaks before sealing up the ceiling n painting the ceiling.. 12m of stainless steel pipe.. i din measure lah as i not home n let him settle all for me what i like abt this contractor is very transparent on his work.. all work documented in PDF siah.. then oso do the PUB submission. 2nd experience with him.. very prompt and fast to work.. txt him within 2 hrs on site survey liao.. just surprise it cost that much.. in the receipt still put "GOODWILL discount $800".. if i got grandson will ask him be a LICENSE PUB plumber.. hope can use skillfuture credit! whahahahhaha... ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...