Simple home DIY repairs

Lala81

On 4/4/2024 at 3:58 PM, Ct3833 said:

A roller of my folding door  is badly damaged, i could not even lossen the nut because the screw is bent and damaged, i intend to saw it off. Any other better way of removing it ?  

20240404_133857.jpg

20240404_133904.jpg

An oscillating multi-tool with carbide blade ?

On 4/4/2024 at 5:36 PM, Kb27 said:

An oscillating multi-tool with carbide blade ?

too high tech for me, i am a hammer and hand saw guy. Finally took it out. Now have to go buy a compatible one. 

20240404_183743.jpg

20240404_183540.jpg

On 4/4/2024 at 6:43 PM, Ct3833 said:

too high tech for me, i am a hammer and hand saw guy. Finally took it out. Now have to go buy a compatible one. 

20240404_183743.jpg

20240404_183540.jpg

A hack saw! Now that's something I don't have. But I have electric saw.

PS I have a folding door also roller bolt bent but still can slide. Let you finish your job first ie whether you can get the roller back in before I decide to replace or not.... 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 4/4/2024 at 6:45 PM, Volvobrick said:

PS I have a folding door also roller bolt bent but still can slide. Let you finish your job first ie whether you can get the roller back in before I decide to replace or not.... 

After the brute force sawing...😂

why-didnt-you-say-that-in-the-first-place.jpg

You are another high tech lah.

Now i have a problem, i am unable to insert the new wheel into the track unless i dismantle both side of the folding doors  before i could remove the track to insert the wheel, the doors are big and heavy, quite sian. 

20240404_201352.jpg

20240404_203652.jpg

Edited by Ct3833
  • Shocked 2

Bro, i gave up, called in a handyman, he got his worker to help him, i suspect he is moonlighting but that did not bother me. what they did was they used two steel rods to pry open the track , insert the new wheel before clamping back the track to near original shap again.  Damage is $250

20240508_181903.jpg

Edited by Ct3833

On 4/6/2024 at 10:45 AM, Ct3833 said:

You are another high tech lah.

Now i have a problem, i am unable to insert the new wheel into the track unless i dismantle both side of the folding doors  before i could remove the track to insert the wheel, the doors are big and heavy, quite sian. 

20240404_201352.jpg

20240404_203652.jpg

In situation like this, mcf advice is to change house. 🤣
250 is on the high end for me. But at least your problem is solved. 

• Haha! 9

On 5/8/2024 at 6:22 PM, Ct3833 said:

Bro, i gave up, called in a handyman, he got his worker to help him, i suspect he is moonlighting but that did not bother me. what they did was they used two steel rods to pry open the track , insert the new wheel before clamping back the track to near original shap again.  Damage is $250

20240508_181903.jpg

OK I may be able to save 250 now I know how to do it.... 😆

On 5/8/2024 at 4:41 PM, Stratovarius said:

Is it $250 for landed, $200 for condo and $150 for HDB? 🤣

On 5/8/2024 at 7:11 PM, Stratovarius said:

Never say never, who knows after tomorrow i can afford to change house 😁

Edited by Ct3833

On 5/8/2024 at 7:13 PM, Volvobrick said:

OK I may be able to save 250 now I know how to do it.... 😆

Good luck. Let me know you manage to do it, i will 拜你为师

On 5/8/2024 at 7:23 PM, Mkl22 said:

Is it $250 for landed, $200 for condo and $150 for HDB? 🤣

Next time when they ask me for address, i will say i drive COE car😰

On 5/8/2024 at 7:50 PM, Ct3833 said:

Next time when they ask me for address, i will say i drive COE car😰

It doesn’t matter.

Got Land => Rich

On 5/8/2024 at 7:49 PM, Ct3833 said:

Good luck. Let me know you manage to do it, i will 拜你为师

I just cemented back some tiles that popped out. Tomorrow will see if they stick! 

On 5/8/2024 at 8:18 PM, Volvobrick said:

I just cemented back some tiles that popped out. Tomorrow will see if they stick! 

So far how is it ? 😅

On 5/25/2024 at 12:30 PM, Ct3833 said:

So far how is it ? 😅

Well cemented! Put on some plaster to slope the edge and painted over the plaster. A bit ugly but it's at one corner.