Singapore Reckless Drivers Part IX

mersaylee

On 12/9/2020 at 11:53 PM, Jellandross said:

When accident happens its always the idiot behind the wheel lor don't blame simi discretionary right turn lah. This case blame who? Red light not red enough ah?

This one can only blame bus driver, trying very hard to blame LTA on this but can't find a reason.. 😁

20 hours ago, Chongster said:

Actually accidents usually happened not because of one factors, but a confluence of factors.

You are right.....Swiss cheese model ... "Accidents occur when the holes line up in a way that allows the accident trajectory to breach each of the different defences that are in place".

swiss cheese accident.jpg

9 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I is not Xena phobic.

I want to see MORE foreign truck drivers here.

But must be good ones only lah

:grin:

Like this truck driver from Japan.

image.png.4d284264cbad4b37a60b62e31230aa57.png

image.png.5a2a8932207600f03093b0fc90c94476.png

I think this truck got at least 2 airbags.

I think there only one such tuck driver in Japan.... :slow:

If will to come to SG, Japanese men not happy .. :omg:

On 12/10/2020 at 6:58 AM, Ody_2004 said:

Errr.. actually they need not to be the innovative one.. they award the $$ to the right vendor sure do better jobs lah..

don always go for the regular few.. open up to more tech savvy computer who do AI.. sure got solution many many..

and hoh sometimes i feedback then hoh the officer did call n talk n talk n talk till cow come home and insist they are right...

take for example on a 3 lanes road, one lane down for road work.. the current traffic light i doubt they are smart to know one lane is down and increase the Green timing for the 2.. I scare they think "hey.. traffic volume down (number of cars divide by allocated time) this stretch .. let's ON the Green on the other inter-section longer.."

I think it is more like, these people knew the problem, but then they also knew it is very troublesome and headache to keep adjust traffic light timing when there is road works going on. The problem is that in singapore there are many road works and the location keep changing. So who is going to keep track of these road works that keep changing location from time to time and there are so many of them. 

In fact if there is some major events like national day, F1 and etc.. You guys will see the difference in traffic light timing changed accordingly to the reduced lane, divertion of road as compared to many small road works at whole of Singapore. Why? It is because for major events, Huge planning go into it, to even traffic light timing. The thing is this planning to even traffic light timing is not the last minute thing, it is planned way ahead and perhaps there would had already have many emails passing around to ensure that when the traffic light need to update and etc.. 

In theory yes changing of traffic light timing when there is road works can be done, but in practical wise, i think that's where the problem lies when these small road works are quite mobile and they can't afford to waste time like 1 day or more to alias with authorities on that. 

From what I see, to truly want to improve traffic light timing system in a more efficient way is to have smart traffic system where the traffic conditions is mointored real time by AI and then feed to the traffic light timing system and adjust the change accordingly based on the traffic input. 

Edited by Yewheng

12 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

From what I see, to truly want to improve traffic light timing system in a more efficient way is to have smart traffic system where the traffic conditions is mointored real time by AI and then feed to the traffic light timing system and adjust the change accordingly based on the traffic input. 

this is what me and another bro mean..

There's many ways to solve a problem and not necessary ERP.. ERP don really solve issue when you left with no alternative.. those small roads without Toll will be horrible to drive due to the poor synchronization of the lights.. and make worse by those pedestrian crossing light which most time never sync with the main traffic. These lights are added near overhead bridge to facilitate physical challenge user and the old age.. so when they press the button.. the lights never sync with the main traffic.. so very disruptive to drive.. 

Not user fault but design..

If one drive upper serangoon road between Nex to Hougang you know what i meant.. 6km but at least 20 mins drive

Edited by Ody_2004

This is the kind of talent we want to grab lah.

We grab all the good talent leave the lousy ones to our competitors.

1 hour ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

I think there only one such tuck driver in Japan.... :slow:

If will to come to SG, Japanese men not happy .. :omg:

On 12/9/2020 at 1:55 AM, Jellandross said:

Same taxi

Cam car kam lan, no skill to filter lane should keep left before junction. Kena play by taxi still bang people backside 

• Angry 1

2 hours ago, Yewheng said:

I think it is more like, these people knew the problem, but then they also knew it is very troublesome and headache to keep adjust traffic light timing when there is road works going on. The problem is that in singapore there are many road works and the location keep changing. So who is going to keep track of these road works that keep changing location from time to time and there are so many of them. 

In fact if there is some major events like national day, F1 and etc.. You guys will see the difference in traffic light timing changed accordingly to the reduced lane, divertion of road as compared to many small road works at whole of Singapore. Why? It is because for major events, Huge planning go into it, to even traffic light timing. The thing is this planning to even traffic light timing is not the last minute thing, it is planned way ahead and perhaps there would had already have many emails passing around to ensure that when the traffic light need to update and etc.. 

In theory yes changing of traffic light timing when there is road works can be done, but in practical wise, i think that's where the problem lies when these small road works are quite mobile and they can't afford to waste time like 1 day or more to alias with authorities on that. 

Actually we are currently using the GLIDE system.

The Green Link Determining (GLIDE) system controls all traffic signals in Singapore by adjusting the green time as traffic flow changes.

GLIDE also links adjacent traffic signals to allow vehicles to travel from one junction to another with minimal stops. GLIDE uses loop detectors to detect the presence of vehicular and pedestrian traffic and makes traffic signal adjustments to:

• Allocate green time for motorists and pedestrians based on demand
  • Provide "green wave" link between adjacent junctions to minimise the number of stops by vehicles
  • Allow traffic signal faults to be rectified quickly

And currently we are now having trials for new smart traffic light.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/videos/new-smart-traffic-light-control-system-aims-to-improve-traffic-10710958

1 hour ago, Jamesc said:

This is the kind of talent we want to grab lah.

We grab all the good talent leave the lousy ones to our competitors.

I only grab the place I suppose to grab ...... :inlove:

17 minutes ago, Yeshe said:

Cam car kam lan, no skill to filter lane should keep left before junction. Kena play by taxi still bang people backside 

Not all drivers as smart as you .... [sly]

GLIDE?

Then why I kenna RAPED everytime I sending my MIL home?

Red Always Passing Every Direction?

30 minutes ago, Calvin8808 said:

The Green Link Determining (GLIDE) system controls all traffic signals in Singapore by adjusting the green time as traffic flow changes.

GLIDE also links adjacent traffic signals to allow vehicles to travel from one junction to another with minimal stops. GLIDE uses loop detectors to detect the presence of vehicular and pedestrian traffic and makes traffic signal adjustments to:

• Provide "green wave" link between adjacent junctions to minimise the number of stops by vehicles

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/videos/new-smart-traffic-light-control-system-aims-to-improve-traffic-10710958

1 hour ago, Yeshe said:

Same problematic taxi with lunatic drivers company.

Maybe it should close down or become a driver licence revoking trap.

‐-----------------------------------------------

THE FINN bicyclist got big guns.

Hope no relative snaps and eventually other leotards have to pay...in mincemeat.

Its going to happen one day, and the Finn will be safe and happy. Let other poor saps pay for it.

We can only teach our own children, other people child is not for us to teach....corporeally.

13 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I remember that.

They said something like increases the risk of accidents.

:grin:

Countdown timer bad idea. 3 2 1 burnout.

Really 3rd world nfs type idea. Mashing accelerator type.

2 hours ago, Calvin8808 said:

2 yr trial over, so what's the outcome? How long does it take to implement? Removing discretionary lights already take 3yrs +, can't imagine implementing this smart traffic light island wide will take forever... by then new technology emerge, and the one just rolled out become obsolete.. 

3 hours ago, Calvin8808 said:

Glide been around long time BUT using out dated sensor and algorithms..

with the amount of data collected via Google, Waze etc.. we don need sensor anymore.. they need data analytics to do the jobs and control the lights wirelessly..

1 hour ago, Beanoyip said:

2 yr trial over, so what's the outcome? How long does it take to implement? Removing discretionary lights already take 3yrs +, can't imagine implementing this smart traffic light island wide will take forever... by then new technology emerge, and the one just rolled out become obsolete.. 

1 hour ago, Beanoyip said:

by then new technology emerge, and the one just rolled out become obsolete.. 

You mean this next-generation double-side tape technology?

dw-new-erp-200908.jpg

Edited by Jellandross

5 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

Extra big blind spot with the opaque triangular panel on the A-pillar.

That's clear glass.  That section where got blind spot?

It is right next to wing mirror le.