Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 8 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said: Depends on your definition of " spend a fortune " 944 turbo! 🤣 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 3 minutes ago, NeverLucky88 said: Ah okay i see your point. Thanks for sharing your perspective, i think i will be relatively okay with it hahaha. Unless we're talking workshop visits every 2-3 weeks then maybe that's a bigger concern overall... Also depends on if you are anal. Some feel the need to resurrect the car to almost as brand new and keep it that way. Old cars can bleed you if you do that. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 9 hours ago, NeverLucky88 said: Good day everyone, I'm looking to purchase my first car. Have been driving the family car on and off but now i've decided to buy my own. Been driving for around 4 years now. I'm currently looking at the BMW E89 Z4, which has a depre of roughly 11k/yr. I have no plans to have kids anytime in the near future and it's a car that i really like. The only concern i have is the road tax for the 6 cyl 23i. At the 15th yr, it amounts to an astounding 2.7k/yr. With that in mind, does it ever make sense to purchase a 2.5l COE car? Or do i just play w it for a few years then sell? I have also looked at the 2.0l turbo variant (20i), but being a newer model, it costs way more than the 23i (around 14k/yr depre). If it doesn't make sense to purchase a 2.5l COE car, what other options do i have? I have previously also shortlisted the 320i coupe (underpowered and heavy) and e250 coupe (hearsay FC is below average). Budget is around 80-85k. All suggestions all welcome, thanks in advance! If $2.7k road tax is astounding to you, better drop the idea lah. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 (edited) I reckon your family is fairly well to do, no support required from you and in fact you still live with your parents, meals and laundry all covered by home right? so why not just splash your money on a car which cant even fetch your parents anywhere, correct? Shiok life man! i sell you my hard top cabrio ? Condition swee swee one. But road tax big big one. Edited January 24, 2022 by Throttle2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roborovskii 4th Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 1 hour ago, NeverLucky88 said: Hahahaha the dark side of the force is a pathway to many abilities some consider to be unnatural...one of these abilities include making the money in your wallet disappear mysteriously... Money is one concern. For a 2-seater, make sure it's always a 2nd car. If you get an older one, also make sure it has been regularly serviced for the past 2 years, with papers to prove. Else your car will spend more time at the workshop than on the roads (yes sometimes parts have to wait and it can sit for weeks). If such an unfortunate thing happens, you'd prolly get sick of it and start to wonder how much more stuff will keep falling apart. 😑 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 so much negativity in this thread 😅. Quite different from the Brilliant mate on a UK forum. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 Another 2 seater cabriolet for consideration 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 You guys simply worry too much. Surely a young adult could make an informed decision whether its a buy or no buy. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NeverLucky88 Clutched January 24, 2022 Author Share January 24, 2022 3 hours ago, Throttle2 said: I reckon your family is fairly well to do, no support required from you and in fact you still live with your parents, meals and laundry all covered by home right? so why not just splash your money on a car which cant even fetch your parents anywhere, correct? Shiok life man! i sell you my hard top cabrio ? Condition swee swee one. But road tax big big one. Hahahaha just cos i want a sports car doesn't mean i'm born with a silver spoon in my mouth, but i respect your assumptions. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NeverLucky88 Clutched January 24, 2022 Author Share January 24, 2022 3 hours ago, Roborovskii said: Money is one concern. For a 2-seater, make sure it's always a 2nd car. If you get an older one, also make sure it has been regularly serviced for the past 2 years, with papers to prove. Else your car will spend more time at the workshop than on the roads (yes sometimes parts have to wait and it can sit for weeks). If such an unfortunate thing happens, you'd prolly get sick of it and start to wonder how much more stuff will keep falling apart. 😑 Thanks for the advice, will take them into consideration. Have a great week ahead man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NeverLucky88 Clutched January 24, 2022 Author Share January 24, 2022 1 hour ago, yishunite said: U may want to consider smaller engine on 1st car. U said for eg that 320i underpowered and heavy. For Sg roads really? U expect to chiong where? Dont mistake critic reviews in ang moh country where they expect to drive 140 kmh. If you realise some of your concerns are unlikely in Sg it opens u to a lot more choice... not every dream has to be hit by your age... maybe save more and get a true dream further down the road ($90k @5% interest compounded can get u a newish porsche in 20 yrs time with zero other outlay) Thanks for providing another perspective, i'll reconsider my options again since i don't need the car urgently. Cheers man!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 15 hours ago, NeverLucky88 said: Good day everyone, I'm looking to purchase my first car. Have been driving the family car on and off but now i've decided to buy my own. Been driving for around 4 years now. I'm currently looking at the BMW E89 Z4, which has a depre of roughly 11k/yr. I have no plans to have kids anytime in the near future and it's a car that i really like. The only concern i have is the road tax for the 6 cyl 23i. At the 15th yr, it amounts to an astounding 2.7k/yr. With that in mind, does it ever make sense to purchase a 2.5l COE car? Or do i just play w it for a few years then sell? I have also looked at the 2.0l turbo variant (20i), but being a newer model, it costs way more than the 23i (around 14k/yr depre). If it doesn't make sense to purchase a 2.5l COE car, what other options do i have? I have previously also shortlisted the 320i coupe (underpowered and heavy) and e250 coupe (hearsay FC is below average). Budget is around 80-85k. All suggestions all welcome, thanks in advance! There is a 20i at 13k depri at sgcarmart, u can consider that. Lower Road tax (compared with the 2.5) after loading 150%, lower running cost compared with 6cylinders (extra 2 coils, 2 plugs, when full overhaul that's 2 more pistons, piston rings, bearings, conrods etc), and I reckon better fc than the 2.5? All this would make up the difference between 11k depri 2.5 vs 13k depri 2.0 turbo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koster 4th Gear January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 Between BMW and mercs, I'd go for the mercs coupe for reliability. BMW has a better drive though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged January 24, 2022 Share January 24, 2022 8 hours ago, Mockngbrd said: Another 2 seater cabriolet for consideration Buy Van Better,at least behind still can do ''Hanky Panky'' Business... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 25, 2022 Share January 25, 2022 7 hours ago, NeverLucky88 said: Hahahaha just cos i want a sports car doesn't mean i'm born with a silver spoon in my mouth, but i respect your assumptions. Cheers! Nope you got it wrong😄 Read again i never said you were born with a silver spoon. Far from that. If you were born with a silver spoon , a brand new Z4 would be presented to you. 2 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear January 25, 2022 Share January 25, 2022 If you have done your math. Go with your heart. You only live once, better drive a car you love. Old Z4 with hard top, another factor is water seepage because of hardened rubber seals. Road Tax, petrol consumption, wear & tear repairs to old car, etc. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 25, 2022 Share January 25, 2022 (edited) Buy Tesla better move off lumber one. All the sport car tio chiet charge battery in office carpark Spoiler Buy escooter bestest no coe no road no insurance charge battery in office Edited January 25, 2022 by Mustank 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 25, 2022 Share January 25, 2022 Chio Mock for coffee. He will be a good person to talk. He has/had a number of classic BMW. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...