Adrianli Hypersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 Why this year NDP, so much emphasis on the women that took part? Woman pilot lah, woman parachute lah, women piper group lah, woman section commander lah, women singers lah and women dancer lah. Every now and then the MC mention woman this and that. President also woman also mention. ↡ Advertisement 1 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 1 hour ago, Windwaver said: My friend send me another meme of this. 1 17 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 35 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said: I was watching the event at MBS bayfront near the Art Science Museum and it was very windy, and saw that those parachuters were descending at a faster than norm rate compared to previous times. The photo below was Jeffrey Heng on the descend towards the stage... As a skydiver myself, i felt the pain watching this landing. let me explained what happened after watching the clip several times. when we pilot the chute for the landing, we have to do a J pattern flight path just like an aeroplane to glide into a “runway” 3WO Heng’s flight path was straight towards the railings in the last 5-10m. He realised it and all he could do was pull a little right to avoid the railings which meant that he had absolutely no chance to flare and will hit the ground hard. It was that or slam straight into the railings which would probably be much worse. A wise choice for the lesser harm. if the railing wasnt there, he would be right on, gliding into the middle of the stage and flaring his chute for a perfect centered landing. Speedy recovery 3WO Heng! 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 The moon and the banana.... ship.😁 4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, Kopites said: VID-20220809-WA0003.mp4 many people dont know that even with a sport parachute fully opened, if you do not flare upon landing to “brake”, the impact is still quite a great one. therefore skydiving is a discipline which requires a lot of skill , more than guts. To pilot a chute safely to the dropzone and not whacking the ground hard in itself requies excellent timing and skill. he would certainly have broken something, i have no doubts. Just hope it isnt too bad. next year, confirm they will be much more on the look out for such immovable impediments. Railing especially white white blend with the ground, how to see from 40-50m in the air when you are piloting the chute and planning the J pattern flight path downwards…….Wah lau. Damn suay lah….. hai…. Edited August 9, 2022 by Throttle2 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 18 minutes ago, Adrianli said: Why this year NDP, so much emphasis on the women that took part? Woman pilot lah, woman parachute lah, women piper group lah, woman section commander lah, women singers lah and women dancer lah. Every now and then the MC mention woman this and that. President also woman also mention. Maybe next PM is going to be woman..... Just preparing us all... *disclaimer: I have no issue with that, as long as the person placed there is not symbolic or token. Edited August 9, 2022 by Vratenza 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 12 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: As a skydiver myself, i felt the pain watching this landing. let me explained what happened after watching the clip several times. when we pilot the chute for the landing, we have to do a J pattern flight path just like an aeroplane to glide into a “runway” 3WO Heng’s flight path was straight towards the railings in the last 5-10m. He realised it and all he could do was pull a little right to avoid the railings which meant that he had absolutely no chance to flare and will hit the ground hard. It was that or slam straight into the railings which would probably be much worse. A wise choice for the lesser harm. if the railing wasnt there, he would be right on, gliding into the middle of the stage and flaring his chute for a perfect centered landing. Speedy recovery 3WO Heng! Is this approach angle during a descend too steep? Because the body seems to lean too steep forward... Edited August 9, 2022 by DOBIEMKZ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 8 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said: Is this approach angle during a descend too steep? From this picture, it looks perfectly fine to me. Its more a question of where he is aiming to land versus the distance to ground. if the target landing spot is near to you, you will have to descent faster to nail it considering the relatively “tight” surroundings, it isnt easy. But for such an experience jumper, it also shouldnt be too hard. my take is that he simply didnt know that the railing was there. And when he realised, it was too late, can only avoid, but cannot land soft. If you watch the video, you can see him trying to avoid the railing with an awkward shift of his body weight and a slight pull of the chute right toggle. Edited August 9, 2022 by Throttle2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 12 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: From this picture, it looks perfectly fine to me. Its more a question of where he is aiming to land versus the distance to ground. if the target landing spot is near to you, you will have to descent faster to nail it considering the relatively “tight” surroundings, it isnt easy. But for such an experience jumper, it also shouldnt be too hard. my take is that he simply didnt know that the railing was there. And when he realised, it was too late, can only avoid, but cannot land soft. If you watch the video, you can see him trying to avoid the railing with an awkward shift of his body weight and a slight pull of the chute right toggle. Yes, i saw the awkward shift of his body and kinda went sideways slightly. With your explanation, it makes sense why he had to then. Thanks 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 46 minutes ago, Vratenza said: Maybe next PM is going to be woman..... Just preparing us all... *disclaimer: I have no issue with that, as long as the person placed there is not symbolic or token. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 (edited) 80-90% end of career jump. From one angle, it looks like he landed on his butt, L shaped. The impact on the spine is not going to be easy. I had a NS mate, didn't brake in time during heli rappelling, sat straight down L shaped onto the grass field at sembawang air base. Very similar to how he contacted the ground, also carried out in stretcher, came back with clutches. The impact to his spine was so bad he was released from NS. Hopefully 3WO manage to land more on his side, reducing the most impact to his spine. Edited August 9, 2022 by Tianmo 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 from what I saw he did L shape landing just in front of the railing. He could have slow down but that will put him further away to the end of the platform like the first guy, I guess the sudden change of wind speed pull him down faster than expected. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 8 hours ago, Throttle2 said: my take is that he simply didnt know that the railing was there. And when he realised, it was too late, can only avoid, but cannot land soft. If you watch the video, you can see him trying to avoid the railing with an awkward shift of his body weight and a slight pull of the chute right toggle. Quite unlikely after the dozens of rehearsals, practises and briefings.... unless he's a last minute covid replacement. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 9, 2022 Share August 9, 2022 9 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said: The moon and the banana.... ship.😁 Macam the first burst of...ehh..."fireworks"😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 10, 2022 Share August 10, 2022 9 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said: Looks better than Top Gun!😄 Top Gun in stimulator This one for real. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 10, 2022 Share August 10, 2022 9 hours ago, Adrianli said: Why this year NDP, so much emphasis on the women that took part? Woman pilot lah, woman parachute lah, women piper group lah, woman section commander lah, women singers lah and women dancer lah. Every now and then the MC mention woman this and that. President also woman also mention. It's time. NS for women ! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 10, 2022 Share August 10, 2022 The helicopters fly-by were flying around the heartlands. Was buying makan when they flew pass. I think they were making a u-turn. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 10, 2022 Share August 10, 2022 9 hours ago, Adrianli said: Why this year NDP, so much emphasis on the women that took part? Woman pilot lah, woman parachute lah, women piper group lah, woman section commander lah, women singers lah and women dancer lah. Every now and then the MC mention woman this and that. President also woman also mention. Ppl, siaolang and mp kept suggesting women do NS mah. So show abit to tell ppl. For those who want to do NS, sign on lo. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...