should gov give COE rebate to households with many children?

Wind30

10 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

The number of COEs are limited already, perhaps just spread it out over the year monthly.

Whether there will be more buyers is a question of what price the COE is with a no loan clause. 

on top of that Dealers are not allowed to buy and keep COEs for whatever reason.

only a buyer who is ready to buy, buys.

how many people you know, currently looking to buy a car is willing to / able to fork out pure cash for the COE? 

if there are truly more buyers, then adjust the COE number +-10% to cater.   I think unlikely.  
of course they can do some studies beforehand.  Its not gonna be easy, but nobody said it was.

ok understood. At the end of the day, the allocation is still by pricing except instead of bidding you prefer the gov set the price to control demand. 

Pros you eliminate the wild fluctuations in price as we assume the gov is more measured than bidders.

Cons, you accept increase in short term fluctuations in number of COEs. 

I agree though the COE pricing is a TOUGH job. 

9 hours ago, Wind30 said:

I am wondering, with COE being so high, should gov give COE rebates to households with 3 kids or more?

Cars being a limited resource now, doesn't it make sense for a car to transport 5 people around vs 1 person on the road? If that one person cannot drive, all he adds is 1 person to the public transport load. Plus it helps to encourage kids which I feel is one of the biggest problems we have as a nation.

Example, if the household rebate is 20%, you pay COE of 80% of prevailing price. If you scrape the car early, you will only get 80% COE rebate from remaining COE.

When you sell the car to others, you have to top up the 20% of the remaining COE to prevent the next owner from benefiting from the reduced COE and the car COE gets converted to normal COE. This is to prevent profiteering. 

interesting topic for family with kids. I think the best way is to do it like baby bonus with 1st kid 6%, 2nd kid another 6%, 3rd kid and onwards additional 8% (capped at 20% max). this will be consider grant limiting to purchasing of Cat A car with omv below 20k. Will have to pay back with interests 2.6%pa if you decided to sell off within 10 yrs and no need pay back when you scrap your car when COE ends. COE cannot be renewed after 10 years.

Edited by darviathan

I don't agree with the full cash idea though.

I literally just had 1:1 with my engineer and she was telling me how she bought a car last nov. She had twins almost 2 years old. She said taxis, grab will refuse her rides when she is out with the babies. She had to book a special car which is $80 per ride that will accept her two babies. Not sure if any of this is true or if there is cheaper alternatives. I am just the messenger. don't shoot.

Does she NEED a car??? I don't know, but I know she bought one...

Edited by Wind30

3 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

I literally just had 1:1 with my engineer and she was telling me how she bought a car last nov. She had twins almost 2 years old. She said taxis, grab will refuse her rides when she is out with the babies. She had to book a special car which is $80 per ride that will accept her two babies. 

I dont see why and how she can be rejected leh.

you dont book a cab revealing your family profile or status mah..

probably one off experience for her

note that its full cash on the COE, i didnt say full cash for whole car.

for secondhand cars, they need to full cash the price of the current coe. So for example if coe now is $80k and secondhand is $150k, they must full cash $80k at least.  

another way could be that COEs remain purely a govt instrument. When the car is sold, it is sold without COE, and the COE is returned to govt.   For the corresponding value in terms of years to expiry

Edited by Throttle2

3 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

I dont see why and how she can be rejected leh.

you dont book a cab revealing your family profile or status mah..

probably one off experience for her

I THINK it is the safety and car seat issue.

7 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

I literally just had 1:1 with my engineer and she was telling me how she bought a car last nov. She had twins almost 2 years old. She said taxis, grab will refuse her rides when she is out with the babies. She had to book a special car which is $80 per ride that will accept her two babies. Not sure if any of this is true or if there is cheaper alternatives. I am just the messenger. don't shoot.

Twins the expenses all doubled and no hand-me-downs no sharing.  Add one car expenses... [sweatdrop]

That's why families with young kids 

need a car.

jamesc special this special this weekend

for ladies that just got pregnant.

If I can help in anyway I am always happy to help.

Applies to both used car biz and massage services.

Just now, Jamesc said:

jamesc special this special this weekend

for ladies that just got pregnant.

If I can help in anyway I am always happy to help.

9 hours ago, Wind30 said:

I am wondering, with COE being so high, should gov give COE rebates to households with 3 kids or more?

Cars being a limited resource now, doesn't it make sense for a car to transport 5 people around vs 1 person on the road? If that one person cannot drive, all he adds is 1 person to the public transport load. Plus it helps to encourage kids which I feel is one of the biggest problems we have as a nation.

Example, if the household rebate is 20%, you pay COE of 80% of prevailing price. If you scrape the car early, you will only get 80% COE rebate from remaining COE.

When you sell the car to others, you have to top up the 20% of the remaining COE to prevent the next owner from benefiting from the reduced COE and the car COE gets converted to normal COE. This is to prevent profiteering. 

Buy a used car if can't afford new. 

Anyway, number of kids as a benchmark to give COE rebate is a slippery slope. What's next? Disabled parents, autistic kids etc also qualify?

There are better ways to fix the COE system (discussed before), and shoe-horning COEs to a specific demographic isn't one of it. 

Government also has zero incentive to make cars cheap for all. 

1 hour ago, Wind30 said:

I THINK it is the safety and car seat issue.

Then its a different issue altogttehr.  she has to get the car seat either ways.  

won't happen and never will happen. 

Govt wanna many many many baby. 

but COE is at a limited quantity. 

How to give rebate? :grin:

They give u-save voucher easier. I give household with baby transportation voucher lor. You take grab or CDG free. They help the company flourish, the company pay govt more tax, the economy move faster because the household go out and spend money. triple win. 

If I drive, I will go malaysia and buy milk powder. Who is benefiting? 🙂

Woah. sometimes I really think I should be a politician. Hahahahahahahha. *a pat on my own shoulder. Good job koba. :grin:

46 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said:

I PES C9, I need car also. Pls subsidised me. 

U MR alrd anot? MR not govt taiji alrd. hahaha. 

8 hours ago, Vratenza said:

Let me be the first to say this.. 

Govt should give out condoms to household with too many children....

😛

Ok let the flame begin. 

Flaw. Giving them to household with too many children is already too late. Too many are already there. Don't you think so?🤣 You wish them to repeat the "stop-at-two" policy?

7 hours ago, Mockngbrd said:

Go buy used coe car lor

When COE is hitting the roof, used COEed cars are also expensive.

7 hours ago, serenade said:

Big family made up of many kids and elderly. Cannot afford to own a car? It makes more economic sense for these families to rent a BlueSG car whenever needed. If these big families are already struggling with schooling costs and elderly care expenses, the last thing they need is to add the burden of owning a car that incurs costs even when just parked there.

What they give up is convenience of having  a car of their beck and call. The price for this convenience is hefty. With BlueSG and other car shares, their trips have to be planned and advance. And no last minute then get ready. Have to get the car earlier and give it a good sanitization (do you want to risk the vulnerable in a a dirty car?) before picking up the passengers.    

How to squeeze a big family into a BlueSg? BlueSg is a two-door sport car lah.:yeah-im-not-drunk: