MG 4/S5/S6 EV

steveting99

On 10/27/2025 at 9:07 AM, 13177 said:

Any feedback from your brother on this MGS5?

I always hear people say MG brand is British junk, reliability no good. Even though now china has bought over MG liao.

i think their build quality is not that good for their petrol cars especially the previous generation. Based on UK and Aussie feedback.

But most people like their EVs which has a lot less problems.

I always hear people say MG brand is British junk, reliability no good. Even though now china has bought over MG liao.

That’s MG in the past. As long as manufacturing or engineering not touch by the brits, you are safe. 

the brits are only good a small scale cottage type products where they excel. Like F1, Majority of all the engineering in F1 is based out of the uk. 
when you get them to do real mass production, likely you get flops or unreliable products. As seen in Jaguar, Land Rover and Dyson. 
all expensive and not so reliable. 

On 10/26/2025 at 11:31 AM, 13177 said:

Went to see look this MGS5, surprisingly the handling and drive is the best among the other EVs i test drive. Sealion 7 also RWD, but the handling seems like not as good as this S5.

You see, I told you right? Now you believe.

Its about 500kg lighter than Porkloin 7, and probably got some MG old bird engineer help tune chassis/suspension.

Edited by Ake109

On 10/27/2025 at 9:41 AM, Mkl22 said:

That’s MG in the past. As long as manufacturing or engineering not touch by the brits, you are safe. 

the brits are only good a small scale cottage type products where they excel. Like F1, Majority of all the engineering in F1 is based out of the uk. 
when you get them to do real mass production, likely you get flops or unreliable products. As seen in Jaguar, Land Rover and Dyson. 

So it means now MG is safe since it bought over by China company and the car is made in China liao. If MG now still under UK brand and make by them, then it is junk liao?! 😂

On 10/27/2025 at 9:41 AM, Mkl22 said:

Cough British Leyland cough.

On 10/27/2025 at 11:31 AM, Ake109 said:

You see, I told you right? Now you believe.

Its about 500kg lighter than Porkloin 7, and probably got some MG old bird engineer help tune chassis/suspension.

Ya, the sealion 7 feels heavy for the Cat A version. Not as light weight as compared with others EV model. But overall the drive still not say very bad for sealion 7 la. However, the MGS5 drive is better, although not say the best. It doesn't feel like driving an EV. Wonder what they have done?! Lol.

Good.  

100% made in China,  only the badge is British.

On 10/27/2025 at 12:00 PM, 13177 said:

Ya, the sealion 7 feels heavy for the Cat A version. Not as light weight as compared with others EV model. But overall the drive still not say very bad for sealion 7 la. However, the MGS5 drive is better, although not say the best. It doesn't feel like driving an EV. Wonder what they have done?! Lol.

What’s the best so far for you?

On 10/27/2025 at 2:25 PM, inlinesix said:

Lol I also curious whats best? For me, MGS5 was best even though its Cat A nerfed. Model Y Cat B also pretty good (but I didnt like cabin controls).

Maybe he tried the Cyberster lol.

Edited by Ake109

On 10/27/2025 at 2:25 PM, inlinesix said:

On 10/27/2025 at 3:08 PM, Ake109 said:

Lol I also curious whats best? For me, MGS5 was best even though its Cat A nerfed. Model Y Cat B also pretty good (but I didnt like cabin controls).

Maybe he tried the Cyberster lol.

Don't know what's the best cause no try those Cat B version EVs. Lol. But for Cat A version EVs, i also never try all, so don't know if there are EV better than MGS5. But so far the EVs that i have tried and compared with S5, i find S5 drive best. 

On 10/27/2025 at 3:15 PM, 13177 said:

Don't know what's the best cause no try those Cat B version EVs. Lol. But for Cat A version EVs, i also never try all, so don't know if there are EV better than MGS5. But so far the EVs that i have tried and compared with S5, i find S5 drive best. 

Mai Tu Liao.....

It is a car tuned for the EU market... not just the drive but also those physical aircon and audio buttons.

China version has no physical button, all on the screen. I will also suspect China version suspension will be more soft.

Edited by Tohto

On 10/27/2025 at 3:30 PM, Mkl22 said:

@13177 wait for all the abominations coming out from Jaguar lor. 100% EV...  

I can say it is finally the end of it. 

What you mean ah?

On 10/27/2025 at 3:29 PM, Tohto said:

Mai Tu Liao.....

It is a car tuned for the EU market... not just the drive but also those physical aircon and audio buttons.

China version has no physical button, all on the screen. I will also suspect China version suspension will be more soft.

That's why still thinking, even the spec and drive for this EV seems good. 

On 10/27/2025 at 4:30 PM, 13177 said:

@13177 Wait until details of the MG S6 EV are revealed. The big brother to the MG S5 EV as discussed in this thread. 

Euro NCAP crash test results are already out for the new MG S6 EV as reported here: https://www.drive.com.au/news/2026-mg-s6-electric-suv-crash-tested-before-its-official-reveal/

On 10/27/2025 at 4:45 PM, steveting99 said:

@13177 Wait until details of the MG S6 EV are revealed. The big brother to the MG S5 EV as discussed in this thread. 

Euro NCAP crash test results are already out for the new MG S6 EV as reported here: https://www.drive.com.au/news/2026-mg-s6-electric-suv-crash-tested-before-its-official-reveal/

MGS6 is a bigger version of MGS5? Or replace of MGS5? Maybe this car will be in Cat B when come to SG?!

On 10/27/2025 at 12:00 PM, 13177 said:

Looks like you got smitten by MGS5.😁 I got smitten too when I testdrove MG4 and MGS5. They are built on same platform. MGS5 is like the daddy, MG4 is like the rebelious son. 😆

On 10/27/2025 at 4:30 PM, 13177 said:

It is probably the best cat A SUV at this price bracket. Frankly, SL7 doesn't even come close in terms of drive. Very balanced drive. 😎 

On 10/27/2025 at 8:34 PM, Rskc said:

Looks like you got smitten by MGS5.😁 I got smitten too when I testdrove MG4 and MGS5. They are built on same platform. MGS5 is like the daddy, MG4 is like the rebelious son. 😆

It is probably the best cat A SUV at this price bracket. Frankly, SL7 doesn't even come close in terms of drive. Very balanced drive. 😎 

You got smitten by MGS5? Means you bought one liao? 😁

SL7 also RWD and Multi-Link but doesn't come close in terms of drive. This one i don't understand lo. 

But MGS5 is targeting atto3 category than SL7 in terms of price range. SL7 is much more ex than MGS5 even the Cat A version SL7.