Are car batteries really expensive nowadays or did I just get roberted?

Garlic

Car alarm started acting weird and cranking was taking much longer than usual, had the stock 45Ah battery checked this afternoon and was told its dying, attached is the test result.

Decided to purchase a new battery as I did not want to be stranded by a dead battery.

The options given to me were:

1) Bosch Silver 62Ah, made in Germany, 1yr warranty @ $160

2) Amaron GO 60Ah, made in India, 6mths warranty @ $130

Was [:|][:/] at the prices but mech told me prices are increasing due to lead shortage; remembered reading such an article in ST as well.

Lunch break was almost over and I decided on the Bosch, hope it will last at least 2 years.

Stock battery died after 17 mths, last 55Ah MF Panasonic in the previous car only cost $60. [:(]

post-8-1203966467_thumb.jpg

post-8-1203966468_thumb.jpg

Edited by Garlic

wow... datz really expensive.

btw why he offer u 60Ah...

since ur stock only 45Ah.

btw watz ur ride?

[:)]

Edited by Espire

battery price did went up.. even if he chop u.. its maybe $30 more nia.. so price is still $130 for bosch, $100 for amaron if u find other cheaper source.

my friend was quoted $174 for 65Ah amaron at stamford jurong around 3 months ago..

let me save u the trouble lah - no robert cos i juz changed 2 batt recently, both above 160.

1st one was changed at AD, so dunno what brand. for 2nd, was quoted 180 at AD, but buay song, so went out to check prices for 66MH batt :

Stamford Hopecke - 290

Amaron 66 - 160

Varta 72MH - 225

tried to install the amaron one, but height of the batt meant i could not use it, so bo pian had to use the Varta, higher voltage, higher quality, higher price.

fren, dun quote the $60 batt liao ... as they says, last time mata cheng tei kor! [laugh]

ur bosch sounds reasonable to me, esp if warranty is offered.

All this price increase is chop carrot head and uniquely Singapore only, lead shortage and price increase would be significant only if your battery had to use about 1 ton of lead for the plates. You have the Singapore Battery and Tire association to thank for the increases. I was in the States last year and prices of car batteries were stable, another example, Hotwheels die cast cars went up to SGD3.50 per model from SGD2.00 citing lead shortage, in US still only USD0.99 (SGD1.40)........Singapore retailers and suppliers profiteer all the way due to weak consumer association.

In fact the so called lead price increases of last year have fallen.

tChart_cPrice.gif

I feel that wet cell battery is more lasting & more powerful than dry cell batts plus they cost significantly cheaper too. But ppl from batt and tyre shops always recommend those ex ones to make money.

There are maintainence free wet cell batts which u can ask your mech to check every servicing. Maybe u can give it a try to see the difference.

A few months back, I bought my Made In Germany Bosch one for $180 !! I asked around and it seems that prices are around there ..... may I know which shop quoted you $160 ? Next time can go there.

But the good thing for me is -> My car model is printed on the battery, so confirm compatible wink.gif

ps. you driving octy ?

wah look like it really gone up a lot..

i bought a varta 55Ah 2 years back.. it only cost me 75 bucks

and now its like going at above 100 bucks

[sweatdrop]

Edited by Espire

If anybody wants Amaron battery, go to Nam Wah...it is still slightly cheaper. I got a Amaron GO 65AH at $130 (everything in) before CNY. Panasonic 65AH costs $140.

Yes, it's made in india and only 6 mths warranty.

Seems like Amaron only have the black colour GO battery now, no more the green colour one.

Edited by Fcw75

I somehow have to agree with you that wet batteries are generally more lasting than maintenance-free ones. My stock wet battery is still running fine after 2 and a half years while my friend whom changed to a maintenance free one died on him after 12 months. Durability vs Convenience - Your choice. [sly]

Care to share where to find the cheaper source...

Mine amaron starting to feel weak liao [:p]

How old is your Amaron? Mine had this problem of unable to clearly see the "Green" from the battery power indicator some months back. I had an earlier post on it. It is was then about 1.5 years old. I open up the 2 black battery covers and found that the battery water is down quite a bit. Topped up the battery water to the normal level and the "green" light came back after driving around for a few days. Had a check with my mech and he say the battery is still ok. Maybe you can check the battery water first. Used about half the battery water bottle to top up the battery.

Edited by Patcheon