Pastor

Hub_n_mona

I think ppl here do not have an objective pov. For me I look at this as a bystander pov. I'm neither in the religion nor been to CHC. Before the probing started nobody said a thing, only now when the church is in the limelight so many ppl have so many opinions.

From my pov, Sun Ho is more of a singer dan a pastor. Since someone mentioned she did not make an impact in the Chinese music scene dan as a singer maybe she would want to try the English music scene. Whether she will make it or not I dun really care it's up to her ability and luck.

But to try to break into the English music scene, the ideal place to stay would be in US of A. Why find such an ex place to stay? US of A to me can be a fxxked up place to stay due to its high crime rate and racial issues. You are an easier target especially if you are any race other dan white. I dun want to sound like a racist but it's a fact. Maybe that's why she choose the place she chose. And she's renting and not buying it cos she's not yet an established singer over there. Not yet make big money but commit to an expensive property is not exactly a wise choice. Paying more for safety and quiet neighbourhood for whole family to stay is IMO a sensible thing to do.

As for the car she drives, well, cars and petrol are cheap over there, plus she can't possibly drive a wreck if she wants ppl to look at her as an established(some what) singer.

Perhaps ppl here think too much or maybe they can't wait to see her fall. Whatever it's some of the comments I read here are laughable. Why can't ppl at least wait for investigations to complete before making any comment?

speaking of cars Ke$ha is more established than her...and she still drives around in a 3 door EK civic [;)]

Ok...for a more reasoned analysis...

What is the NEED for Kong Hee wife to live in $28k per month house and have a CLS?

Couldn't she find an equally suitable house for say....$7 or $8k per month or less? ANd why a CLS? Couldn't she find something half the price that would do the job equally as well?

So she is spending money lavishly and needlessly.

yet at the same time her husband, as minister of church that she is also considered pastor of is extolling the virtues of a family that is giving away their future, downgrading their house to donate to church.

So on the one hand he is holding up this shining example of greatness, of something that he himself is not willing to do or live by.

I am not advocating that they live in poverty, but this is pure profligacy at work It is obscene and uneccessary and raises one heck of a lot of questions in my mind about the moral stature of the whole family, and whether the church funds have been wrongly used to support her and his lifestyle instead of for the betterment of the congregation and the less advantaged (i.e charity)

I still dont see your point. Or at least it is not a very strong point.

Clearly if church funds were misappropriated , then it's a different case.

Whether they tithe as they preach or not may cast a doubt on their integrity if the answer is negative

But if they were simply spending their own money, i think it's not my problem to question them.

If you fly SIA 1st class suites...

i never give until my heart is broken..... so god(no god in particular) never reward me by telling me anything about first class suites...

maybe google is my god.....

Whether they tithe as they preach or not may cast a doubt on their integrity if the answer is negative

But if they were simply spending their own money, i think it's not my problem to question them.

Please look at the post below...

Its not a problem. What they do with their money is their problem.

Until they start advocating "Prosperity gospel" and "downgrade house" and the distance between what they are saying or telling the flock to do, and what they are doing themselves becomes so great.

ITs like there is one set of behaviour for the flock, and another for the Pastor.

But I guess some animals are more equal than others...

And this has been repeated many many times so far, if you still don't get it either you are being intentionally dense or you are stupid.

A dig in the past, similar behavior like ex-NKF chief?

More articles on this topic: City Harvest Church

Businessman withdraws allegations about City Harvest Church and singer Ho Yeow Sun, and church prays to forgive him over the weekend

The Straits Times (Singapore), Jan. 27, 2003

http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/

By Samuel Lee

The man who made allegations about City Harvest Church

Edited by Theone2010

oic, that's how he can afford one CONDO in yr 2000....now how many??

>> ASIAONE / BUSINESS / NEWS / MY MONEY / STORY

Janice Wong

Mon, Apr 09, 2007

AsiaOne

Singer Ho Yeow Sun and pastor husband to reap $2.3m in en bloc sale

Local singer Ho Yeow Sun and her husband, Reverend Kong Hee, will likely receive a $2.32 million bonaza from the proposed en bloc sale of their upmarket condo home in Leonie Hill, which they bought in 2000.

The 210-unit Horizon Towers is applying to be sold to a consortium in the next two weeks.

Given that 83 per cent of the owners, including Ms Sun and Rev Kong, have agreed to the sale, the deal is likely to go through, unless the minority owners of 34 units succeed in blocking it. Those resisting the deal include Far East Land & Housing Development Company which owns six units.

Ads Story Content QA

The law requires consensus from at least 80 per cent of shareowners before a sale can go through.

Horizon Towers, occupying a prime residential site off Orchard Road, will be sold to Hotel Properties and two foreign funds for $500 million. It will be the second largest en bloc transaction in terms of absolute dollar quantum, after Gillman Heights, which is in the suburbs.

The price reflects a unit land price of about $810 to $820 per square foot of potential gross floor area, inclusive of an estimated $45 million to $50 million lease upgrading premium to top up the 204,742 sq ft site's lease to 99 years from a remaining term of about 71 years.

Ms Ho and Rev Kong, who is City Harvest Church founder, have been living there with their 2 1/2-year-old son, Dayan, since 2000. They moved into the 28-year-old condo unit after selling their five-room Tampines HDB flat.

Rev Kong told The New Paper in 2000 that they like the privacy that the personal lift lobby provides, as well as the spacious 2,650 sq ft apartment, which has two living rooms, four bedrooms and a compact kitchen.

He declined to say how much he paid for the apartment, but a similar unit was sold for $1.1 million in 2004, according to URA. Records show that they took a bank loan and dipped into their CPF. Rev Kong said that he made a handsome profit from the sale of their Tampines flat which went into settling the downpayment.

"We bought our flat for $127,000 and sold it at $420,000, so when we moved in to the condo unit, it cost me nothing," he told TNP. Although the exterior of the apartment looks rather aged, being almost 28 years old, the interior of their home was described as being straight out of a glossy magazine, complete with a walk-in wardrobe and designer furniture.

After the en bloc, the site can be redeveloped into a new condo with a plot ratio of 3.2828. This means the site can be redeveloped into a condo with a gross floor area of more than 670,000 sq ft - sufficient for about 375 units averaging 1,800 sq ft. The break-even cost for a new upmarket condo project on the site is estimated to be about $1,350 psf.

Edited by Theone2010

buy germany still makes sense. knn england?! i nvr supported england. they shud change their 3 lions to 3 hello kitty and tell beckham to pose.

OT for this post. A BBC report of England's performance against Algeria.

The fact that a bird flew into the middle of the action and landed on the top of Algeria's net, then perched blissfully undisturbed, was a fitting symbol of England's impotence.

This is 1st class reporting. I like it!

It seems like the bird knows more about football than it seems. It is the safest place on the pitch.

Funds are not misappropriated. The gospel was misappropriated.

im sorry you still dun see it. let me try to explain.

"WAH u live next to brad pitt ah? WAH your car CLK550? Must be you are rich and well known and since you are rich and well known, you must be good at what you do! "Show business you must be showy, even more so than say if you are running your own business. so you must drive a flashy car and live in an upscale neighbourhood in order to be "successful" and garner more contacts/business/fans etc. I hope you understand this. Im not driving at the opposite ends, but if you want to be seen as a top rated successful singer, you wouldn't be caught driving around in a camry or living in an unknown quiet safe neighbourhood.

In America, everyone even mildly successful in show biz there drives a somewhat flashy car and lives in a somewhat famous neighbourhood.

If music really her calling, why can't she strive to be a world renounce Gospel singer. Australia Hillsong, michael w smith just to list a few. [sunny]

I think you actually trying to mean world renowed Gospel singer... Because now really reaching world renounced status already.... [:p]

Please look at the post below...

Its not a problem. What they do with their money is their problem.

Until they start advocating "Prosperity gospel" and "downgrade house" and the distance between what they are saying or telling the flock to do, and what they are doing themselves becomes so great.

ITs like there is one set of behaviour for the flock, and another for the Pastor.

But I guess some animals are more equal than others...

And this has been repeated many many times so far, if you still don't get it either you are being intentionally dense or you are stupid.

Thats also the problem with you, when you cant convince, you insult.

you did this to me the first time you entered this forum, and now you are doing it again.

Maybe i didnt see the right video but i didnt see him asking people to downgrade to donate.

I only saw him, praising the person who was willing to do so and highlighting that fact that there are people devoted enough to do so.

Now there is a difference and if you cant tell that difference, you are being intentionally a brick or a Chao Ang Moh.

Thats also the problem with you, when you cant convince, you insult.

you did this to me the first time you entered this forum, and now you are doing it again.

Maybe i didnt see the right video but i didnt see him asking people to downgrade to donate.

I only saw him, praising the person who was willing to do so and highlighting that fact that there are people devoted enough to do so.

Now there is a difference and if you cant tell that difference, you are being intentionally a brick or a Chao Ang Moh.

My goodness, you never heard of sublety?

Serious question for a moment...

Did you come from a single child family?

You have never encountered the phenomenom (sp?) where a person wants to be more like the one being praised? Why are people being praised if not as an example we should emulate? By holding up the example of the family that downgraded he is telling the rest of the congregation - "see, look, this is what you should aspire to" Are you serioulsy trying to suggest that this wasn't happening?

What, you really think that Kong He needs to go to each individual and say "downgrade so god will love you" to be held culpable?

And when his own family lives in very direct contradiction to the ideals he is espousing it makes him a hypocrite at best, and a cynical, malevolent manipulator at worst. Regardless of whether any laws have been broken, his behaviour is a tarnish on Christianity.

Don't you think that he should live the way that he is asking others to live, that he should follow his own teachings?

If not, why not?

If so, where do you see any evidence that he is doing so.

Further, take a look at the news report quoted above. He says in that report that the congregation has been asked to support Sun's career, but they are not "hard sold". I would think that whether people are hard sold or not, the simple measure of the leader of the church, the most powerful person in the church exhorting people to support his own wife's "secular success" is already inappropriate.

Doesn't the PAP specifically forbid its ministers from accepting discounts? Why do you think they do this? Do you think it could possibly be because, whether they (the minister)asks for it or not, people feel pressure to court goodwill from a minister.

Wouldn't a person of high moral fibre, forethought and care for his congregation adopt for himself similiar standards of behaviour? Its not about what is required of him under law, it is about upholding the tenets of his religion and being true to the messages that he himself is espoousing.

My goodness, you never heard of sublety?

Serious question for a moment...

Did you come from a single child family?

You have never encountered the phenomenom (sp?) where a person wants to be more like the one being praised? Why are people being praised if not as an example we should emulate? By holding up the example of the family that downgraded he is telling the rest of the congregation - "see, look, this is what you should aspire to" Are you serioulsy trying to suggest that this wasn't happening?

What, you really think that Kong He needs to go to each individual and say "downgrade so god will love you" to be held culpable?

And when his own family lives in very direct contradiction to the ideals he is espousing it makes him a hypocrite at best, and a cynical, malevolent manipulator at worst. Regardless of whether any laws have been broken, his behaviour is a tarnish on Christianity.

Don't you think that he should live the way that he is asking others to live, that he should follow his own teachings?

If not, why not?

If so, where do you see any evidence that he is doing so.

Further, take a look at the news report quoted above. He says in that report that the congregation has been asked to support Sun's career, but they are not "hard sold". I would think that whether people are hard sold or not, the simple measure of the leader of the church, the most powerful person in the church exhorting people to support his own wife's "secular success" is already inappropriate.

Doesn't the PAP specifically forbid its ministers from accepting discounts? Why do you think they do this? Do you think it could possibly be because, whether they (the minister)asks for it or not, people feel pressure to court goodwill from a minister.

Wouldn't a person of high moral fibre, forethought and care for his congregation adopt for himself similiar standards of behaviour? Its not about what is required of him under law, it is about upholding the tenets of his religion and being true to the messages that he himself is espoousing.

In this instance, I do not agree that Kong Hee praising the devotion of that person means that he is asking everyone else to do the exact same thing.

To me, he is just citing an extreme example to make a point. We all do that sometimes. and in his case, even better since he has live example.

if you disagree with my above, you can go ahead and call me stupid and I will then call you Chao Ang Moh. Simple.

If you are debating with me over Kong Hee's morals, teachings etc, i think, no need.

I'm Christian and I dont take to his teachings.

If people so choose to believe in his teachings without thinking thru as normal people should, they are free to do so and must accept the consequences

Just like Sunshine Empire.

therefore dont jump to conclusions so easily and then go round spitting and spewing.

Edited by Throttle2

Like the thread title "pastor's wife lives lavishly in L.A." how about putting into another perspective. " a secondary school teacher moonlighting at Tian Ann Meng to earn her first million." Teacher and pastor are there; to guide, teach, lead and to be a role model where others can look upon. So honestly would you still let your kid edcuate by that teacher. To a certain extent I see no different between the so call "hollywood celebrity and those tian ann meng mei mei". Party, alcohol, drugs etc. They are all here to entertain anyway.

I really feel sorry for those CHC members. So the young gen of CHC upon seeing Sunny Ho with the blonde hair should follow suit? During praise and worhship we can see performance of "sexy dance"? Since pastor is doing it should be alright???

Being neighbour with all those hollywood mega star what would you reckon ? One day bratt pit knock on the door.."come sunny let go for a drink." Sunny reply. " sorry, no i am a pastor, i can't let alcohol intoxicate me."

[hur][hur][hur]

Any idea which biblical colleage kong xi or sunny ho attended?

In this instance, I do not agree that Kong Hee praising the devotion of that person means that he is asking everyone else to do the exact same thing.

To me, he is just citing an extreme example to make a point. We all do that sometimes. and in his case, even better since he has live example.

i

And what was the point he was trying to make? That sacrificing to donate to the church was a good thing right?

What sacrifices do you see in the way that his own wife, his chosen life partner is making in her life?

Did he try to discourage people from taking such extreme steps? Or did he try to encourage?