Blueray Hypersonic December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Yes, Ikea food now tastes blander and portions a bit smaller. Coffee now terrible, like Kopitiam one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 i think i've to stop visiting ikea for a long while.. usually have breakfast cos the lunch menu cmi.. this morning went to tampines ikea - french toast fail; previously dipped into egg yolk solution before pan fry, now seemed like using brush to ensure whole thick bread is colored with egg yolk only, lacking in egg aroma n taste - not much diff fr eating plain pan fried bread siewmai fail; previously 4 for $2, now 2 for $1.6 - meat filling very sticky n not much flavor side note on lunch menu experience - curry chicken tasted like placed in freezer few weeks, not tender, juicy n no chicken meat aroma / sweetness; i think commercial chicken almost all lidat but ikea one takes the cake.. similar experience w chicken cordon bleu - meat was stiff.. pasta sauce diluted but kids enjoyed it; today in tampines asked for cheese serving staff said NO cheese.. other - no more plain water (have to buy bottle water) n butter at 20cts per pack.. i guess now only thing that hasn't changed r those processed stuffs like hotdog n meatballs.. above may imply ikea changed to cheaper supplier due to rising food cost.. The fried chicken wings at IKEA Tampines are not too nice. The ones at Alexandra are better. IKEA's cone ice-cream tastes better than the ones at McDonald's. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Agreed on the drop in food quality ever since the scandal few years back... Fried chicken wings vary in quality from time to time. Sometimes big and meaty, sometimes skinny and charred. Don't buy their cabinets, bookshelves, wardrobes etc. Only go for things your hands can carry. Last times they would send their contractors to check, verify and rectify defects but now they only have lame excuses... I've been a regular since they started at marine parade area...now I only go for free kopi and cheap spring roll and ice cream. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Ikea drop in food quality? But it is still so crowded during all the meal times?! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Ikea drop in food quality? But it is still so crowded during all the meal times?!It's the total outing experience as a draw. Free big parking space, relative wide range of F&B, can pick up some knick knacks while trying to digest...do you see some peeps actually doze off at the sofa section and some mock up living rooms? I wonder how's the book at Ikea Singapore? Equal revenue from retail and F&B? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Usually go IKEA for chicken wings and hotdogs. My kids love those 2 items. Sometimes go there meet clients cuz got free parking and coffee. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Free parking only at tampines but alexandra parking is not free lo. And yet both ikea still super crowded. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 The fried chicken wings at IKEA Tampines are not too nice. The ones at Alexandra are better. IKEA's cone ice-cream tastes better than the ones at McDonald's. my wife comment same - maybe was becos tampines outlet food not nice.. i stopped eating their chick wings - also frozen chicken taste n very dry. my place western food fried wings smells better, juicier n taste much nicer although slight smaller.. agree on the vanilla cones - more fragrant than mac.. one more issue - the nasi lemak now only comes w peanuts n hard boiled egg; even ikan bilis also dont have, how to eat.. must add chix wing then kinda complete, though rice n chili still tasted ok.. looked like ikea havin hard time w balancing costs.. i suspect they tryin to max profits by sourcing cheaper food suppliers n selling food more ex.. Free parking only at tampines but alexandra parking is not free lo. And yet both ikea still super crowded. Lol. free 3hrs only if buy at least $5 stuffs in store (non-food).. else can park behind hdb open / mscp; no free parking on sun / ph for hdb around there.. cos on the whole still considered cheap n w aircon. members enjoy free kopi teh. after dining can shop in store / nearby for both locations.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Ikea at Tampines food quality dropped tremendously over the years. For example : 1. When first opened, the restaurant opened at 0830 for breakfast. Now, they open at 0930. 2. The drinking water was free. Now they sell bottled water. 3. Coffee machine used to provide black or white coffee. Now, it's only black. Add the non-dairy creamer if you want white coffee. 4. Kids' meal used to have at least 3 different varieties. Now, lucky to have 2 varieties. 5. Halal counter used to provide sambal. Now, none. 6. Chicken wings are now very dry and badly cooked. 7. Soft drinks machine dispenses Pepsi, Pepsi Lite, Mountain Dew and 'Nordic Water' only. No ice. Food quality has decreased. I guess the restaurant is still crowded as that is the only place to eat when shopping at Ikea. Plus, they provide free carpark. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 I prefer the old round meatballs and not the odd shaped ones they have now as well Years back, the food tastes much better but after they caught their procurement manager for skimming off millions from food, it went downhill. Bring back that crooked guy leh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic December 30, 2016 Share December 30, 2016 Free parking only at tampines but alexandra parking is not free lo. And yet both ikea still super crowded. Lol. Ya, paid $6 just last week but the food at Alexandra does seemed better than Tampines Ikea at Tampines food quality dropped tremendously over the years. For example : 1. When first opened, the restaurant opened at 0830 for breakfast. Now, they open at 0930. 2. The drinking water was free. Now they sell bottled water. 3. Coffee machine used to provide black or white coffee. Now, it's only black. Add the non-dairy creamer if you want white coffee. 4. Kids' meal used to have at least 3 different varieties. Now, lucky to have 2 varieties. 5. Halal counter used to provide sambal. Now, none. 6. Chicken wings are now very dry and badly cooked. 7. Soft drinks machine dispenses Pepsi, Pepsi Lite, Mountain Dew and 'Nordic Water' only. No ice. Food quality has decreased. I guess the restaurant is still crowded as that is the only place to eat when shopping at Ikea. Plus, they provide free carpark. Wah, u Long timer with them, I only started going recently coz need to buy stuff for my parents house 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 When I go Ikea, I only take the cheap $1.50 package, one hotdog + free flow of soft drinks. I think that disappear as well, the price went up. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 (edited) Ya, paid $6 just last week but the food at Alexandra does seemed better than Tampines Wah, u Long timer with them, I only started going recently coz need to buy stuff for my parents house Get the IKEA membership card lor. Spend 5 bucks or so got free parking already. Even more thick skin then just walk straight to the self check out counters and hello yourself to the free parking tickets. But if you get caught, don't say I teach one hor. Edited December 31, 2016 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 If I am driving, I prefer to go to Tampines. More car park lots and easier to get in and out. Shopping and dining experience there is more pleasant too. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 Ya, paid $6 just last week but the food at Alexandra does seemed better than Tampines Wah, u Long timer with them, I only started going recently coz need to buy stuff for my parents house I stay nearby mah. Convenient and free carpark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 Get the IKEA membership card lor. Spend 5 bucks or so got free parking already. Even more thick skin then just walk straight to the self check out counters and hello yourself to the free parking tickets. But if you get caught, don't say I teach one hor. Spend few hundreds leh but didn't know can get the free ticket Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 i cannot even remember when was the last time I was at Ikea.............. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 Spend few hundreds leh but didn't know can get the free ticket ðSpend hundreds then just ask the counter staff next time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...