IKEA shopping experience

Archaic

Get the IKEA membership card lor. Spend 5 bucks or so got free parking already.

Even more thick skin then just walk straight to the self check out counters and hello yourself to the free parking tickets. But if you get caught, don't say I teach one hor.

Now they don't put there already. The staff there holding on to it, give you when you show you spend more than $5 or $15. Since got family membership, I usually just buy some small item around $5 like their ziplock bags or plastic containers. Parking usually more than $5.

I didn't know until recently either.  Member, $5.  Non-member, $15. Just ask the staff at the check-out.  The free parking is for first 3 hours, which is usually more than enough. 

I paid before $11 parking at Ikea Alexandra. I didn't know there is free complimentary parking if spend above $xx amount.  Such information should be pasted up bold and big, why need to ask counter staff then only can get?  Isn't that some sort of marginalising or discrimination act?

I paid before $11 parking at Ikea Alexandra. I didn't know there is free complimentary parking if spend above $xx amount. Such information should be pasted up bold and big, why need to ask counter staff then only can get? Isn't that some sort of marginalising or discrimination act?

Probably. If you look hard enough, you will find the sign that informs you of free parking. But you are right that they don't put these signs up prominently. And also the counter check out staff don't proactively give you a parking ticket. You have to ask them. I have observed that the check out counter staff are all carrying a stash of complimentary parking tickets. Remember to remove cashcarf before approaching gantry

I paid before $11 parking at Ikea Alexandra. I didn't know there is free complimentary parking if spend above $xx amount. Such information should be pasted up bold and big, why need to ask counter staff then only can get? Isn't that some sort of marginalising or discrimination act?

Yeah paid $6, usually don't go to Alexandra, it's out of the way and far but that day went to try as the item at Tampines was OOS, will stick to Tampines, much bigger and fuss free parking

I prefer the old round meatballs and not the odd shaped ones they have now as well

Years back, the food tastes much better but after they caught their procurement manager for skimming off millions from food, it went downhill. Bring back that crooked guy leh.

That crooked guy did the same thing in my friend's F&B company, I know him personally  [lipsrsealed]  and let him spent more time to reflex his past glory. Usually it's the giver that should be punished too, it takes two hands to clap. I think he is whipping up a storm in Changi's Otel for his mates  . . .

Usually go IKEA for chicken wings and hotdogs. My kids love those 2 items. Sometimes go there meet clients cuz got free parking and coffee. Lol.

U should not allow your kids to enjoy eating those processed hot dog, given times thy will grow up looking unhealthy plus those fried chicky wings, one look and thy are over fried and greasy, i bet the cooks have not changed the cooking fat since first fry . . . . I know coz Im in F&B biz.

That crooked guy did the same thing in my friend's F&B company, I know him personally [lipsrsealed] and let him spent more time to reflex his past glory. Usually it's the giver that should be punished too, it takes two hands to clap. I think he is whipping up a storm in Changi's Otel for his mates . . .

U should not allow your kids to enjoy eating those processed hot dog, given times thy will grow up looking unhealthy plus those fried chicky wings, one look and thy are over fried and greasy, i bet the cooks have not changed the cooking fat since first fry . . . . I know coz Im in F&B biz.

Your friend hired him after he was released from jail?

I agreed, processed food and fried food should be avoid, they are really unhealthy. No matter if you are kids or adults, shld eat less or avoid eating. Lol.

Personally I feel that it is ok to let them enjoy these kind of food occasionally. Rather than ban it from their diet totally and then let them find out about how good it tastes when they go to school and have their own pocket money to buy own food. Train them from young to eat healthy but also enjoy some unhealthy food they like in moderation.

My parents restricted me from all sorts of fast food and processed food when I was small. So when I grew up and had my own money, end up going out to try all these forbidden food and eating them everyday. End up becoming super fat also anyway. Lol.

Edited by Nzy

Your friend hired him after he was released from jail?

Haha, He was fired before working for IKEA, previous F&B Hotel restaurant, LoL !

U understand  " A leopard cannot change it's SPOT " ?

Yeah paid $6, usually don't go to Alexandra, it's out of the way and far but that day went to try as the item at Tampines was OOS, will stick to Tampines, much bigger and fuss free parking

go ikea got buy dark chocolate ? good stuff   [thumbsup]

For me, it used to be a good window shopping to get fresh idea on design on home cooking pots or curtains and furnitures, most  families go shopping at IKEA for nostalgic reasons, be it makan session of the atlantic prawns ( big head ) cocktails or the Salmon mayonnaise sauce over coffee, free flow ) and their popular meatballs. 

Singaporeans look at IKEA as a new clever furniture mall with a difference -Motto : " You don't have to be Rich to be Clever.", with these kind of attitude, certainly many go there to browse, dine and shop at least buy something to be eligible for the complimentary car park. I mean which mega mall comes out with this idea of shop for fun, no more plastic bag, bring own carrier and pay as you cash-out counter, I agree IKEA management has made changes to technology and fuss free. :D  [:)]

go ikea got buy dark chocolate ? good stuff   [thumbsup]

I bought some a while ago, found it was quite good.

then the next time I went, it was recalled due to improper labelling :( something abt potentially having nuts or something like that

I bought some a while ago, found it was quite good.

then the next time I went, it was recalled due to improper labelling :( something abt potentially having nuts or something like that

Hazelnut one is also nice.

i love to go ikea (Tampines) once in a while...

probably because i like nice home decor/interior design ideas

it's place where i feel relaxed and can enjoy a simple meal or kopi

of cos, the free parking helps too [laugh] ... and can drop by Giant to buy some groceries

Edited by Scion

i love to go ikea (Tampines) once in a while...

probably because i like nice home decor/interior design ideas

it's place where i feel relaxed and can enjoy a simple meal or kopi

of cos, the free parking helps too [laugh] ... and can drop by Giant to buy some groceries

I used to enjoy to go ikea, loves the atmosphere and very relaxing jalan2 there. But i realize everytime i go ikea i buy 不三不四 items, end up store room full of ikea things.

So i feel that temptation very big, so now hardly go there unless i have things to buy on my mind.

The food i think was best at mediocre. But i still enjoy the food. I don't like the salmon, meatball(so so) and cakes(too sweet). But i like their hotdog, curry puff, chicken wing and of cos free flow of drink [lipsrsealed]