Citroen C4 Picasso

Obscurest

I tested the 7 seater diesel model. Can share with me is there any way to drive it smoother, no jerk in between gear change? The SE says it is the way I get too used to driving a jap car. I still couldn't understand the accelerate, release and accelerate theory. Whenever I accelerate again I can feel the jerk.

You have to learn to sense when the car is swapping gear - feel for a sudden loss of power delivery... release the pedal. When you notice the rev has gone down and engine braking comes in, then continue accelerating.

That's probably the best suggestion I can offer. I haven't tried a EGS/ETG box personally.

I think the car is pretty new, only launched over the last few months to a year? That being said I'm interested too. The word in the industry is Citroen is 1. not reliable 2. parts hard to come by. Its purely hearsay and hopefully the owners can share their experiences.

I think its a brilliant car apart from the gear shifter stalk behind the steering wheel.

Merc does something similar and so far people seem to like it. It does free up a lot of center space.

I tested the 7 seater diesel model. Can share with me is there any way to drive it smoother, no jerk in between gear change? The SE says it is the way I get too used to driving a jap car. I still couldn't understand the accelerate, release and accelerate theory. Whenever I accelerate again I can feel the jerk.

it's the nature of an automated manual gearbox, not due to difference in country of origin..

Sounds like u have Class 3A license? Drive it like a manual, means having to get your foot off the accelerator when the computer changes gear, & step on it when the gear is engaged. Try it in manual mode first, easier.

Having said that, I don't fancy driving an automated manual gearbox in SG's city traffic; let alone have such control on a family oriented MPV

Edited by Notsogoodman

Too much trouble n not worth juz to 'relearn' how to drive a Citroën. Its juz a stoopid, unneccesary design. Got many other mpvs out there that are easier to live wif.

I am driving the pre facelift EGS GP. There is no need to release the gas pedal during gear shift. Just drive like normal, in fact I find that stepping more on the gas immediately after gear change makes the acceleration smoother and faster.

its a never ending handjob, u wont ever get satisfaction and orgasm, unless your 10 yr coe is up

there is NO WAY u can correct a MECHANICAL DESIGN and a SOFTWARE TUNE

its smoothest when engine off and stationary..period

ask around for gearbox overhaul and repair price first, it is close to 20% your coe

find other cars

Edited by Furrynadz

I'm quite surprised at the no. of 5 yr old picassos being advertised on sgcarmart, for a relatively uncommon car. Is this the m.o. for new picasso owners, to let it go as soon as the warranty runs out?

5 yr old most will be the initial batch of 1.6T engines, or rather the initial version of the 1.6T engine before some minor tweaks 3 yrs ago

the first batch of 1.6T came abt 6 yrs ago and most quite problematic, for first 3 yr batch

common failure also a lot : turbo, high pressure fuel pump, low pressure fuel pump, carbon buildup require full overhaul, those with the EGS crap gearbox also double whammy both engine+gbox piang...

just cut loss and let next owner get into trap lor

got some heros out there try to run 30wt oil for 15k on this engine, sure piang one

Edited by Furrynadz

Just bought a 5 seater 1.6 diesel turbo. Loving it. Hitting 1000km, only pump every 2 wks. It has every details well thought of. It sounded like a taxi thou... Lol because of the Diesel engine.

I have 5 years warranty and 5 years servicing, so my worries have be taken care of. Probably I would go back to jap cars :)

My 2 cents

Today passed kje around 630pm towards bke (at police academy)

Anyone saw an auntie at road shoulder with her c4(latest model) broke down?

So fast pai liao? (Or flat tyre I didnt notice 😷)

Edited by Sunny

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=503791&DL=1000

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=507899&DL=2729

brand new 154k? what's the nett price?

2nd hand sell 120ish k only leh.. less than 1year old

Why so fast get rid ah?

Ic.. 154k is for petrol version EAT6.. Intensive is the high end equipped version issit?

Edited by Rayoflight

In 2012 i tested out the DS5 and felt good about it.. launch price was 180k at that time which was super crazy.

Are Citroen cars reliable? hahaha

I know french are sexy but high maintenance.

The new DS5 Diesel interior and exterior looks really good

In 2012 i tested out the DS5 and felt good about it.. launch price was 180k at that time which was super crazy.

Are Citroen cars reliable? hahaha

I know french are sexy but high maintenance.

The new DS5 Diesel interior and exterior looks really good

The Citroen SE I spoke to was willing to include 5 years of warranty & servicing.. but I still dun dare to sign.. [:p]

look at it review against B Class & 2 series,

http://www.caradvice.com.au/343745/bmw-2-series-active-tourer-v-mercedes-benz-b-class-v-citroen-c4-picasso-comparison-review/

Now selling at less than 116k before discount.

Aesthetically, the c4 is better looking than both the b class n the active tourer.

And with a much cheaper price, it is attractive but you wonder why it's not selling as well as it should and with them throwing in 5yr warranty and free servicing as bro tkseah mentioned, what more can you ask for?

Consumers are sticking to the tried and tested brand...

C&C should do more marketing......

Just like Apple and Creative.... The latter is the pioneer and technically better, but the former won the heart of consumer by its marketing and design...

Aesthetically, the c4 is better looking than both the b class n the active tourer.

And with a much cheaper price, it is attractive but you wonder why it's not selling as well as it should and with them throwing in 5yr warranty and free servicing as bro tkseah mentioned, what more can you ask for?

Totally agreed. Moreover, ppls prefer Benz & BMW over here is sgp might be due to their branding instead of those are better reliable car.

When car dealer throw in more stuff ppls becoming doubting on them. If they dont throw in we say they are stingy or overprice. isnt that contradicting? [laugh]

UK has more car than our little Red dot. If they rank Citroen better than the other 2 conti brand in Reliability, it shouldnt be far apart.

http://www.whatcar.com/car-news/honda-named-uks-reliable-used-car-manufacturer-2015/1342848

Maybe Citroen might be bad in the past history like Hyundai, but that doesn't mean they can't be like them to be better now. Pls correct me if I am wrong [:)]

Consumers are sticking to the tried and tested brand...

C&C should do more marketing......

Just like Apple and Creative.... The latter is the pioneer and technically better, but the former won the heart of consumer by its marketing and design...